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Asked Questions (FAQ) 

 

 

 
 

 

 

Background  
The Child Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) Act of 2014 reauthorized the law governing the Child 
Care and Development Fund (CCDF) Program. Changes made with this reauthorization focused on 
strengthening child care to better support the success of both parents and children and emphasizing the 
importance of high-quality child care. With the reauthorization of the Block Grant in 2014, state Child Care 
Lead Agencies were required to adopt payment practices that reflect generally accepted payment practices of 
child care providers serving children who do not receive CCDF subsidies. To meet compliance, the 
Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), the Lead Agency for Nebraska, restructured payments to 
reflect part-time or full-time basis rather than paying for hours of service or smaller increments of time. This 
helps to ensure equal access to high-quality child care programs for subsidy-eligible children by making 
subsidy practices comparable to child care services for children who are not eligible under CCDF.  

Purpose 
Beginning July 1, 2023, child care providers participating in the DHHS Child Care Subsidy Program will no 
longer bill Hour and Day units.  

• Hour Units will be replaced with Partial Day Units, and Day Units will be replaced with Full Day Units. 
• Any time a child attends up to 4 hours and 59 minutes, providers will now bill 1 Partial Day Unit.  
• Any time a child attends between 5 hours to 9 hours and 59 minutes, providers will now bill 1 Full 

Day Unit. 
• Any time a child attends between 10 hours up to the maximum of 18 hours in one day, providers will 

now bill 1 Full Day Unit AND 1 Partial Day Unit. 

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) 
1. Q: Will these changes affect the absent-day policies?  

A: No, providers may still bill up to 5 absent days per month when a child would normally be in attendance. 
These absent days will be billed as 1 full day unit regardless of the number of hours the child would have 
attended. 

2. Q: Will providers be receiving a letter outlining these changes?  
A: All providers will receive a Rate Amendment Letter with these rate changes to inform them of the new 
rates for Partial Days and Full Days.  

3. Q: What if my rates are less than the Child Care Subsidy rates? Will I still have to bill what my 
private pay rates are?  
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A: Yes, Nebraska State Statute requires that providers’ Child Care Subsidy rates not exceed their private 
pay rates.  
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

4. Q: What if my private pay rates are higher than the Child Care Subsidy 2023 rates?  
A: Child Care Subsidy rates are currently set at the 75th percentile of the Market Rate Survey per Nebraska 
Revised State Statue 43-536. The Legislature intends to continue to pay child care providers at the 
seventy-fifth percentile in FY 2023-24 and FY 2024-25. Child Care Subsidy rates are the maximum rates 
for Child Care providers billing through the Child Care Subsidy Program.  

5. Q: My program does not charge partial day private pay rates; how will I know what my private pay 
partial day rates are?  
A: Your Resource Developer will calculate your partial day private pay rates based on your most recent 
daily and hourly private pay rates. 

6. Q: With this change, will there be new attendance calendars?  
A: Yes, new attendance calendars will be available before July 1 in electronic and paper versions. 
Attendance calendars will be separated from in-home care vs. all other facility types, including the new 
partial and full-day time frames. 

7. Q: When will updated attendance calendars with built-in calculations be available for the new partial 
day/full day rates? 
A: The Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) is currently working on updates to these 
calendars. Once finalized, these will be sent out via e-mail and available on the public website at 
https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Child-Care-Providers.aspx. Calendars will be updated and sent out before July 
1, 2023.   

8. Q: Is there a minimum amount of time per day to bill for a partial day? For example, 30 minutes?  
A: No, there is no minimum amount of time to bill for a partial day. If the child attends at all in a day up to 4 
hours and 59 minutes, this would be billed as 1 partial day unit. 

9. Q: Will the Community Learning Centers (CLC) see a change in rates with these changes?  
A: Community Learning Centers will follow the same Child Care Subsidy rates located on the 2023 Rate 
Chart that can be found at https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Child-Care-Providers.aspx. Rates differ by facility 
type, age category, urban vs. rural, Step Up to Quality rating, and accreditation.  

10. Q: I received a new authorization with new rates that do not look correct; what should I do to 
correct this?  
A: If you receive rates or an authorization that does not look correct, please contact your assigned 
Resource Developer. If you need your Resource Developer’s contact information, please e-mail 
DHHS.CCSubsidy@nebraska.gov or call the Child Care Subsidy Line at (402) 471-9152.  

11. Q: Why are these changes occurring? 
A: With the reauthorization of the Block Grant in 2014, state Child Care Lead Agencies were required to 
adopt payment practices that reflect generally accepted payment practices of child care providers serving 
children who do not receive CCDF subsidies. To meet compliance, DHHS (the Lead Agency for Nebraska) 
restructured payments to reflect part-time or full-time basis rather than paying for hours of service or 
smaller increments of time. 

https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Child-Care-Providers.aspx
https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Child-Care-Providers.aspx
mailto:DHHS.CCSubsidy@nebraska.gov
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12. Q: Are families still authorized for a specific number of hours?  
A: Yes, families will still be authorized up to a maximum number of hours based on their need for service. 
Attendance calendars should reflect the actual times the child is attending, not to exceed the maximum 
number of hours authorized per week. 
 

 

 

 

 

 

13. Q: Is this change permanent or temporary?  
A: This change is permanent for DHHS to meet federal compliance with the Child Care and Development 
Block Grant administered by the Office of Child Care (OCC).  

14. Q: Will current authorizations in the Child Care Subsidy billing portal be changed from hours to 
partial days? 
A: Yes, every active authorization as of July 1, 2023, will be updated to reflect these changes by July 1. If 
an active authorization is not showing partial days after July 1, 2023, please contact your Resource 
Developer to let them know.  

15. Q: How do we determine that we are not overbilling with these new changes? 
A: Attendance calendars should reflect the actual times the child is attending, not to exceed the maximum 
number of hours authorized per week. If the child attends up to 4 hours and 59 minutes in one day, that will 
be billed as 1 partial day unit. If the child attends between 5 hours and 9 hours and 59 minutes in one day, 
that will be billed as 1 full-day unit, and if the child attends between 10 hours and 18 hours in one day, that 
will be billed as 1 full-day and 1 partial-day unit. Although billing is for full and partial days, the children are 
still only attending the authorized amount of time. If attendance is tracked accurately, there should be no 
risk of overbilling. 

16. Q: Can I still charge private pay parents by the hour?  
A: Yes, you can charge private pay by the units chosen for your business.  

17. Q: If a child attends 2 hours in a day, would that be a partial day? 
A: Yes, up to 4 hours and 59 minutes in a day would be billed as 1 partial day unit. 

18. Q: If a family is only approved for 20 hours per week, would the children be able to attend every day 
without exceeding the 20 hours per week? 
A: Yes, if the children do not exceed the maximum authorized hours of 20 hours per week, they can attend 
the Child Care facility daily.  
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