
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

   

FAQs 

The goal of the Technology Access Program (TAP) is to promote adequate and updated 

technology to enhance the child care quality and capacity throughout the state of Nebraska. 

This funding will facilitate the ease of service delivery, encourage higher personal security and 

protection of Nebraska’s children, and further the educational programs of child care providers. 

This program is being administered by the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) 

Office of Economic Assistance (OEA). 

The Technology Access Program is funded by the American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA), which 

the federal government provided to states to invest in child care networks. Over $7 million 

dollars ($7.5M) is available in grant awards for this program.  

Applications will be accepted beginning at 8:00 a.m. CST on Monday December 18, 2023 

through 11:59 p.m. CST February 9, 2024. Awards to qualifying applicants will be granted on 

a rolling basis until all funds are expended. 
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1. Who is eligible to apply for the Technology Access Program Grant 
funds? 

 

This grant opportunity is open to: 

• Any Nebraska licensed or provisionally licensed child care program that is 

currently open and operating and in good standing with the State. Licensed 

child care program types include Family Child Care Home I, Family Child Care 

Home II, Child Care Center, School-Age-Only Center, and Preschools. 

• Licensed child care programs that have received the Business and Child Care 

Partnership grant funding but were not awarded the technology devices offered 

in the Technology Access Program Grant (See Section II Question 1 for a list). 

2. Are tribal child care providers eligible? 

 

Yes. Tribally operated child care programs licensed in Nebraska are eligible even if the 

provider has received funds from their tribal child care lead agency. The grant funds 

must be used to supplement, not supplant, tribal funds used for tribally operated child 

care centers. 

3. Is this grant only for licensed programs? 

 

Yes, this grant is only open to Nebraska licensed child care programs. 

If you are not currently licensed, visit: Child Care Licensing (dhhs.ne.gov). You must 

be licensed on or before December 15, 2023 to be eligible for this grant. 

4. Does my child care program need to be licensed by a certain date? 

 

Yes, child care programs need to be licensed, opened, operating and actively caring for 

children on or before December 15, 2023. 

I. Eligibility Requirements 

https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/pages/child-care-licensing.aspx
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5. I recently opened my child care program.  
Am I eligible for this program? 

 

If your child care program is licensed, opened, operating and actively caring for children 

you are eligible to apply. 

6. I am both the owner of, and an employee of, a child care program.  
Am I eligible to apply? 

 

Yes, if you are both the owner and an employee of a child care program, you are eligible 

to complete an application if your home or facility is licensed by the state of Nebraska. 

7. Am I eligible for program funding if I have received funds from 
another source? 

 

You may be eligible for TAP funding if you have received other grant awards from the 

State of Nebraska; however, providers who received Business and Child Care 

Partnership grant funding that included technology devices being offered in this program 

are not eligible for TAP funding (See Section II Question 1 for a list of devices). 
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1. What items are included in the technology package? 

 

Below is a list of technology devices available as part of the Technology Access 

Program. 

• Desktops with a perpetual software license 

• Monitors 

• Digital keyboards and mouse 

• Laptops with a perpetual software license 

• Tablets 

• Printer/Scanner/Copiers 

• Wireless Modem/Routers 

• Wi-Fi extender/boosters  

2. Can I choose which technology devices I may receive? 

 

The technology package you receive will depend on the capacity of your program. You 

can choose from a list of items you may be eligible to receive. 

Award packages are based on a formula which considers license type and capacity. 

DHHS reserves the right to adjust amounts and packages as needed to expend all 

funds. The below table identifies the items for which your child care program may be 

eligible. 
 

License Category Package 

Family Child Care 

Home I & II 

1 Laptop 

1 Tablet 

1 Printer 

Child Care Center 

2 Computers (1 Desktop AND 1 Laptop) 

1 Printer 

1 Tablet per 10 children 

1 Wi-Fi Modem/Router 

1 Wi-Fi Extender per 100 children 

School-Aged Only 

Center and Preschool 

1 Tablet per 20 children 

1 Printer 

1 Wi-Fi Modem/Router 

1 Wi-Fi Extender per 100 children 

II. General Application Information 
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3. How do I apply for the Technology Access Program? 

 A link to the application is available on the DHHS website: www.dhhs.ne.gov/CCDF. It 

will take you to the application platform on JotForm.com where you can set up a 

JotForm.com account and complete your application.  

4. What documentation / information will I need to provide in my 
application? 

 

Applicant Information 

• Applicants contact information, including name, title, business phone number, 

and business email address. 

• A copy of your valid Nebraska driver’s license or State ID 

Program Information 

• Child Care Program Name 

• Child Care Program Type (Family Child Care Home I, Family Child Care Home 

II, Child Care Center, School-Age-Only Center, Preschool) 

• Child Care Program License Number. You can find this by referencing the DHHS 

Child Care Roster at: 

dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Documents/ChildCareRoster.pdf 

• Child Care Program Federal Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN) or Social 

Security Number (SSN) 

• Child Care Program Address, including county 

5. Do I have to be the owner of the child care program in order to apply? 

 

No. Child care program owners, directors, and assistant directors can apply for this grant 

program. Only one application per program, please. 

6. Can an owner apply for funding for more than one location? 

 

Yes, please complete an application for each program location. The address for the child 

care program must match the license number for each application submitted. 

http://www.dhhs.ne.gov/CCDF
https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Documents/ChildCareRoster.pdf
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7. How will I know my application has been received? 

 Applicants will receive a confirmation email from NEDHHSGrants@pcgus.com when 

their application has been submitted. Be sure to also check your spam folder for emails 

from this address. 

8. Can I start the application and return to it later? 

 No, if you are unable to complete the application all at once, you cannot save your work 

to complete your application at a later time. This application will take approximately 20 

minutes to complete. 

9. Will I be able to make changes to my application after I have 
submitted it? 

 

No, once an application has been submitted, an applicant cannot make any edits. Please 

review the application user guide before you begin your online application to ensure you 

have the required documentation for submission. 

If you have submitted your application and your circumstances change during the 

application period, call the helpline at (877) 402-0292 or send an email to 

NEDHHSGrants@pcgus.com. 

10. Can I fill out the application using my mobile device? 

 Yes, the website is mobile-friendly; however, it may be easier to complete your 

application on a computer. You may submit the application and supporting documents 

electronically using your computer, phone, tablet, or other mobile devices. 

11. What if I fail to apply by the deadline? 

 

Applications must be submitted on or before February 9, 2024 at 11:59 PM CST; 

however, awards will be granted on a first come first served basis and will close when all 

funds are exhausted, which may be prior to the February 9, 2024 deadline. This means 

you need to submit your application early to have more chance of receiving the 

technology package. 

The online application will not be available after 11:59 PM CST on February 9, 2024; 

therefore, you will not be able to log on or complete your previously started application. 

mailto:NEDHHSGrants@pcgus.com
mailto:NEDHHSGrants@pcgus.com
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12. Why do I need to complete an attestation before being notified 
whether my application has been approved? 

 

It is an industry standard that applicants acknowledge they have read, understand, and 

agree to certain requirements and conditions as a step in the approval process. This 

includes but is not limited to: 

• “I understand that technology devices awarded through the Technology Access 
Program of the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services Office of 
Economic Development are intended for the awardee only therefore are non-
transferable, not to be resold or gifted in any manner.” 

 

• “I agree to comply with all applicable federal laws, regulations, executive orders, 
policies, procedures, and directives regarding the award process from application to 
audit and beyond.” 

 

• “I understand that grant recipients are required to remain open and caring for children 
for 12 (twelve) months after their awarded date (date they signed the grant agreement). 
Closing the business before 12 (twelve) months have passed may require the grant 
recipient to return the Technology Package or reimburse DHHS for the total cost of 
their Technology Package. 

 

• “I agree to the public reporting of award information as part of the State of Nebraska’s 
public transparency and accounting.” 

 

• “I confirm this application contains complete and accurate information.” 

• “I understand technology packages will be awarded to eligible applicants on a 

first come first served basis until all funds are expended. And that DHHS 

reserves the right to deny an application at any time the applicant becomes 

ineligible, or fraud is suspected.” 

13. Can I apply for this program and the Restoration and Enhancement 
Program? 

 

Yes, your program can apply for both grant opportunities. 

14. Can I apply for this program more than once? 

 

No, you may not reapply for the program once you have been awarded. 
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1. How do you decide who is awarded? 

 

Technology packages will be awarded to eligible applicants on a first come first served 

basis until all funds are expended. However, DHHS reserves the right to deny an 

application at any time the applicant becomes ineligible, or fraud is suspected. For 

example, you closed your license after applying for the grant but did not inform Child 

Care Grants. 

2. How will I be notified if I am awarded a technology package? 

 

Grant award decisions will be announced via email. Applicants receiving awards will be 

emailed a grant agreement, which must be completed in JotForm within 5 days. Please 

confirm the email address you provide in your application is entered correctly. Also make 

sure your server will accept emails from NEDHHSGrants@pcgus.com. Otherwise, you 

will need to periodically check your spam or junk folders. 

3. To whom will the technology be sent? 

 

The technology package will be delivered to the licensed child care provider at the 

address identified in the application, addressed to the person completing the application. 

4. How will packages be disbursed? 

 

Technology packages will be disbursed on a rolling basis beginning in January 2024 

through March 2024, or until funding runs out, whichever comes first. 

5. If my application is not approved, will I be informed about the reason 
for denial? 

 

Yes, a notification email regarding application decisions may provide the reason(s) your 

application was not approved. 

  

III. Award Disbursements 

mailto:NEDHHSGrants@pcgus.com
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6. Is there an appeals process related to award or eligibility 
determinations? 

 

The application process does not include an appeals process. 

7. What common reasons could result in a denial? 

 

• Provider is not licensed on or before December 15, 2023. 

• Provider is not currently open, fully operating, and actively providing in-person 

child care. 

• Provider recently received a Business and Child Care Grant through the State 

which included the purchase of technology devices offered through the TAP grant 

program. 

8. How long will it take to get my Technology Package? 

 

Technology packages can be expected to arrive 4-6 weeks following the completion of 

the grant agreement. 

9. How long must my program remain open if I receive a grant? 

 

Grant recipients are required to remain open and caring for children for 12 (twelve) 

months after their awarded date (date they signed the grant agreement). Closing the 

business before 12 (twelve) months have passed may require the grant recipient to 

return the Technology Package or reimburse DHHS for the total cost of their Technology 

Package. 

10. Will this grant need to be repaid?  

 

No, this grant does not need to be repaid. However, awardees are required to remain 

open and caring for children for 12 (twelve) months after the award date. Closing the 

business before 12 (twelve) months have passed may require the grant recipient to pay 

back all or a prorated portion of the award.  

Repayment may be required if the applicant provides inaccurate or false information or 

there are other applicable instances of non-compliance. 
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11. Will I have to return the technology items following the grant period? 

 

No, you will not have to return any items. 

12. Can I apply for other grants if I apply for this one? 

 Yes. However, if you have received a Business and Child Care Partnership Grant from 

DHHS that included technology devices offered by TAP, you are not eligible for the 

Technology Access Program grant. 

13. How do I apply if I have multiple sites? 

 

Please complete one application for each program location. 

14. What if I have problems with the devices I receive? 

 

Technology support information will be provided with your grant agreement package.  

15. Will there be any grant monitoring? 

 

No, the technology vendor will confirm delivery of your technology package. However, 

DHHS reserves the right to verify, at any time, that TAP technology devices are being 

used according to grant purposes. This may include but is not limited to monitoring visits 

to the facilities where the items are used. 

16. Will a paper application be available? 

 

It is preferred and strongly recommended that all providers submit an online application. 

For those providers who are unable to complete an online application on their own or 

with the support of the helpline, a PDF version of the application may be sent via USPS 

to you. You must complete the application in ink and return to the following address. The 

paper application must be post marked no later than February 9, 2024. 
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17. What kind of help can I get to complete an application? Helpline, 
email, webinars, recorded webinars posted on CCDF webpage other? 

 

If you need assistance with the application or have questions about the grant 

opportunity, you can call the help line at 1 (877) 402-0292 or send an email to 

NEDHHSGrants@pcgus.com. Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) and recorded 

informational webinars in English and Spanish will be posted on the DHHS website at 

www.dhhs.ne.gov/CCDF.  

You can also register for the live informational webinars at the above webpage. Here is 

the webinar schedule. 

Date 
REP Information 

CST 

TAP Information 

CST 
Language 

12/19/2023 
11:30 am-12:15 

pm 
12:15 pm-1:00 pm English 

12/19/2023 5:30 pm-6:15 pm 6:15 pm-7:00 pm Spanish 

12/21/2023 4:30 pm-5:15 pm 5:15 pm-6:00 pm English 

12/21/2023 6:30 pm-7:15 pm 7:15 pm-8:00 pm Spanish 

12/22/2023 1:30 pm-2:15 pm 2:15 pm-3:00 pm English 

 

18. Will there be any technical support to install and use my new 
technology devices from TAP? 

 

Yes. Technology support information will be provided with your grant agreement 

package.   

  

mailto:NEDHHSGrants@pcgus.com
http://www.dhhs.ne.gov/CCDF
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1. Will my grant award be considered taxable income? 

 

No, items received from this grant may not be considered taxable income. 

 

If you have remaining questions about the Technology Access Program, please contact the 

helpline at (877) 402-0292 or email NEDHHSGrants@pcgus.com. 

IV. Tax Implications of these Awards 

V. Additional Questions 

mailto:NEDHHSGrants@pcgus.com
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