
Cell Phones: 
No use of 
any type of 
interactive 
wireless 
communication 
device while 
operating 
a motor vehicle 
while in motion. 
Violation 
carries a 
$200 fine for 
first offense 
and assessed 
points on 
license.
Second offense 
is $300 fine 
and a third 
offense is $500.

Seat Belts: 
All occupants 
riding with a 
permit holder, 
including the 
driver, must 
wear a seat 
belt. Violation 
carries a $25 
fine. Citation 
issued to GDL 
permit holder.*

Passengers: 
Holder of a 
School Permit 
(SCP) may 
only transport 
family 
members who 
reside with 
them to the 
school 
attended by 
the holder. 

A holder of a 
Provisional 
Operator 
Permit (POP) 
is limited 
to one 
passenger 
younger 
than 19 who 
is not an 
immediate 
family member, 
for the first 
6 months.  
Violation 
carries a one 
point assess- 
ment on 
driving record.*

Nighttime 
Driving: 
Holder of a 
Provisional 
Operator 
Permit (POP) 
shall not 
drive from 
midnight to 
6 AM unless 
to or from 
school 
activities or 
work. Violation 
carries a 
one point 
assessment 
on driving 
record.*

Alcohol:
“Zero tolerance”
(alcohol and 
other drugs) 
laws for drivers 
under the age 
of 21. First 
offense results 
in court 
impounding 
permit or 
license for 
30 days. 
A driver under  
21 is subject 
to the same 
DUI laws as 
a person age 
21 or over 
if the blood 
alcohol content 
is .08 (BAC) 
or greater.*

www.parentsdrivethemessage.ne.gov
www.dmv.nebraska.gov

For more information, contact
402-471-2515

_________________________________________________________________________________

*Disclaimer:_________________________________________________________________________________

The above list of violations is not inclusive 
and there are other Nebraska Law violations 
that can affect driving permits and driving 
privileges upon judgement of or conviction 
for the specific violation.

Violation of ANY driving restrictions can 
result in a suspended or revoked license. 
Individuals under 21 accumulating six or 
more points within one year are required 
to take a driver improvement course within 
three months.

GDL laws are in place 
for your teen’s safety. 

They keep your teen safe 
by keeping them out of situations

(those above) that put them at higher 
risk for a crash.

Nebraska GDL laws cover teens 
ages 14 to 17.  A teen driver 

must hold a POP for one 
year before receiving an 

unrestricted license.

GDL Resources
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NE GDL includes: 
school learners permit, 
school permit, learners 
permit, provisional 
operators permit.


