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LICENSE FEE:  Use the chart below to determine your applicable licensing fee.  The prorated fee is applicable if the 
Licensure Unit issues your license during those months.  Pay by check/money order (your cancelled check is your 
proof of receipt).   
 

 
YEAR 

 
Jan 

 
Feb 

 
Mar 

 
Apr 

 
May 

 
June 

 
July 

 
Aug 

 
Sep 

 
Oct 

 
Nov 

 
Dec 

 
Even  

 
$165 

 
$165 

 
$165 

 
$165 

 
$165 

 
$165 

 
$165 

 
$165 

 
$41.25 

 
$41.25 

 
$41.25 

 
$41.25 

 
Odd  

 
$41.25 

 
$41.25 

 
$165 

 
$165 

 
$165 

 
$165 

 
$165 

 
$165 

 
$165 

 
$165 

 
$165 

 
$165 

 
LICENSE FEE WAIVER:  Starting January 1, 2020, if you meet one of the following waiver options, your initial license 
and temporary license fee is waived, (this does not waive the fee for criminal background checks): 
   
1.  Young Worker:   You are between the ages of 18 and 25 (under the age of 26).  Please note this waiver is based on 

when the license is issued not when you apply.   
 
2. Low-Income Individual:  You are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program such as the medical 

assistance program established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition 
Assistance Program (SNAP), or the federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program, OR your 
household adjusted gross income is below 130% of the federal income poverty guideline.   

• If you live in Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, no further documentation 
is required to be submitted. 

• If you live in a state other than Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, submit a 
copy of a document showing current enrollment. 

• If your household adjusted gross income is at 130% of the Federal Income Poverty Guideline or below, click this 
link to see the current income guidelines, 
https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/documents/LowIncomeFeeWaiverTable.pdf.  To be eligible for this waiver, you must 
submit a copy of your most recent tax return. 

 
3. Military Family:  You are an active duty service member in the armed services of the United States, a military spouse, 

honorably discharged veteran of the armed services of the United States, spouse of such honorably discharged veteran, 
and un-remarried surviving spouses of deceased service members of the armed services of the United States.  To be 
eligible for this waiver, you must submit a copy of your ID card, discharge paperwork, or similar document that shows 
you are a military family member as described above.   

 
MILITARY:  To view licensing services available to members of the military and their spouses, visit our website at 
https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx  
 

 
1.    US Citizenship/Lawful Presence 

U.S. Citizens, a PHOTOCOPY of one of the following:  
____ Birth certificate (Hospital issued keepsake birth certificates cannot be accepted). 
____ U.S. Passport (unexpired or expired). 
____ Certificate of Naturalization. 
____ Other documents that show U.S. Citizenship. 
 
A Driver’s License is NOT acceptable. 
  

Application Information for Nebraska Dental License 

Application Section A – Personal Information (Provide copies of the following documents) 

https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/documents/LowIncomeFeeWaiverTable.pdf
https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx
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NOT a U.S. Citizen (Current Immigration Status) a PHOTOCOPY of one of the following: 
____ Green Card, otherwise known as a Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551), both front and back of the card;  
____ Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) AND an unexpired foreign passport with a valid unexpired US visa; or 
____ Employment Authorization Card AND one of the following 

____  An approved deferred action status (DACA); 
____  A pending application for asylum in the United States; 
____  A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the United States; or 
____  A pending application for adjustment of status to that of an alien lawfully admitted for permanent 
residence in the United States or conditional permanent resident status in the United States 

 ____ Other document that shows current immigration status 
 

***NOTE:  Documents (other than those for U.S. Citizenship) are verified by our office through the Department of 
Homeland Security. This process may take 4-6 weeks. 

 
2.     According to the Uniform Credentialing Act of Nebraska §38-129(1) you must be at least 19 years old. 

 
1. Conviction Information:  If you have EVER received a ticket from law enforcement or animal control, check the court system 

to see if the ticket is on your record as a misdemeanor or felony conviction.  Speeding tickets are not misdemeanors or felonies.  
You are required to list ALL convictions (regardless of when they occurred) on the application; you are NOT required to list 
infractions, diversions or dismissals.  Misdemeanor and felony convictions can either be processed through traffic or criminal 
court, so when you check with the county court/district court, you should ask for both traffic and criminal court 
misdemeanor/felony convictions.  

  

  If you have convictions, you must submit:  
 (i) A copy of the court record related to all misdemeanor and felony convictions, that includes the statement of charges 
 and final disposition, if the conviction(s) occurred in a state other than Nebraska;  
 (ii) An explanation of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions that the 
 applicant has taken to address the behaviors or actions related to the conviction; and  
 (iii) A letter from the applicant’s probation officer addressing the terms and current status of the probation, if the applicant 
 is currently on probation. 
 
 If you had an alcohol and drug evaluation and/or completed treatment, to assist the Board and Department in review 
 of any drug and/or alcohol conviction(s), we encourage you to request that the treatment provider submit all evaluations 
 and discharge summaries directly to the Department.  
 

The following provides SOME examples of convictions; this is NOT a complete list 
 

 

• MIP/ Tobacco Use by Minor 

• DUI / DWI / Open Container 

• Controlled Substance 

• Shoplifting / Theft / Burglary 

• Unauthorized use of a Financial Transaction 

• Disturbing the Peace  

• Assault / Prostitution 

• Disorderly Conduct / Disorderly House 

• Fail to Appear in Court 

• Driving under Suspension / Revocation  

• License Vehicle without Liability Insurance  

• False Information or Reporting 

• Reckless Driving / Leave the Scene of an Accident 

• Operator not Carrying License 

• Unlawful Display of Plates/Renewal tabs  

• Park Rule Violation / Curfew Violation 

• Dog at Large / Fail to Vaccinate Animal 

• Littering / Fireworks / Bad Check 

 
 

 
NOTE: If you have any criminal charges or license disciplinary actions pending that result in a conviction or  license 
discipline, you are required to report such action to the Investigative Unit within 30 days of the conviction or disciplinary 
action.  Reporting forms can be obtained at the following website:  https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Complaints-and-
Discipline-Index-Page.aspx or by phone 402-471-0175. 

 
2. Other State License Information:  If you hold or have held a health related license in any state (other than Nebraska) our 

office may contact you and request that you contact that state and request a certification/verification of your license (do not 
send a copy of your license).  

 
1.   Fingerprints:  You need to submit 2 full sets of fingerprints. 

 
2.   Fingerprint Fee:  To process your fingerprints, $45.25 must be paid directly to the Nebraska State Patrol; Pay 

on-line at:  www.ne.gov/go/nsp or mail payment to the Nebraska State Patrol (addresses can be found on Page 4).

Application Section B – Conviction and Licensure  Information  (Provide copies of the following documents) 

Application Section C – Fingerprints (Please review the instructions found on page 5 for completing this process.) 

https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Complaints-and-Discipline-Index-Page.aspx
https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Complaints-and-Discipline-Index-Page.aspx
http://www.ne.gov/go/nsp
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1.   Controlled Substances Registration:  If you are going to be prescribing, administering or dispensing controlled 
substances in Nebraska, you are required to submit a copy of your Federal Controlled Substances Registration. 

 
1.   Transcripts:  An Official Transcript which shows your Dental degree and date of graduation (date degree was 

conferred).  The transcripts must be submitted directly from your dental program via email 
(dhhs.medicaloffice@nebraska.gov) or regular mail or submitted with your application in a sealed envelope.   
 

1.   Examination Information:  You are required to submit official score reports for your Joint Commission on 
National Board Dental Examinations and your practical examination. The score reports must be submitted directly 
from the testing agencies giving the examinations.  Please note that if you failed on two occasions you are 
required to complete a remedial course in clinical dentistry approved by the Board before the Department 
will consider the results of the third examination as valid. 

The Nebraska Board of Dentistry has determined that the following examinations will be accepted* for Dental 
license applications completed between November 1, 2022 through October 31, 2023 (A passing score for each 
examination is determined by the respective testing agency) (currently these examinations can be either patient-based or 
manikin):  
 

• 2022-2023 Central Regional Dental Testing Service (CRDTS) Dental Examination  

• 2022-2023 Commission on Dental Competency Assessments (CDCA) Dental Examination with either the CDCA 
Patient based Periodontal Examination or the CRDTS Patient based Periodontal Examination 

• 2022-2023 Council of Interstate Testing Agencies (CITA) Dental Examination 

• 2022-2023 Western Regional Examining Board (WREB) Dental Examination with CRDTS Prosthodontic Manikin or 
patient-based Examination or the WREB Prosthodontic Manikin or patient-based Examination or the CDCA 
Prosthodontic Manikin or patient-based Examination 

• 2022-2023 Southern Regional Testing Agency (SRTA) Dental Examination with CRDTS Periodontal Examination 

• 2022-2023 American Dental Examination (ADEX) with a manikin or patient-based periodontal examination (Passing 
Score is 75) 

N
Note:  The Department will retain a list of acceptable licensing examinations for 5 years as an administrative reference for 
applicants who do not apply for licensure during the same year the examination is completed.  *Acceptable examinations will 
be updated by November 1st of each calendar year. 

If you took the CDCA exam you will need to contact them and request that your scores be sent directly to this office.  If you 
took a state exam, request that include in their certification of your license the requirements that you had to meet in order to 
receive a license in that state. You need to request that the scores for CRDTS be placed on the MASTER SCORE Sheet that is 
sent to our Department. Scores from the regional exams will be accepted for a period of five years from the date the exam was 
passed. 

 
2.   Jurisprudence Examination Information:  Each Applicant is required to take the State jurisprudence 

examination at https://www.proprofs.com/quiz-school/preview.php?title=nebraska-dentaldental-hygiene-jurisprudence-
exam  

 
1.   Practice Requirement for Reciprocity Applicants:  If you are applying for a dental license by reciprocity, you 

are required to provide proof that you have been actively engaged in the practice of dentistry for at least three (3) 
years with one (1) of those years being within the past three (3) years.  Acceptable proof of active practice can 
include: 
a) A copy of your W-2’s; 
b) A letter from your employer/practice partner on their letterhead stating the beginning and ending  

dates of employment and approximate number of hours worked per week. 
 

Application Section D – Controlled Substances Registration 

Application Section E - Education 

Application Section F – Examination Information 

Application Section G – Practice Information (This section only needs to be completed by applicants that are applying 

by reciprocity) 

mailto:dhhs.medicaloffice@nebraska.gov
https://www.proprofs.com/quiz-school/preview.php?title=nebraska-dentaldental-hygiene-jurisprudence-exam
https://www.proprofs.com/quiz-school/preview.php?title=nebraska-dentaldental-hygiene-jurisprudence-exam
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All applicants must complete this section.  An individual who practices prior to the issuance of a credential is subject to an 
assessment of an Administrative Penalty of $10 per day up to $1,000, or such other action as provided in the statutes and 
regulations governing such credential. 

 
All applicants are required to complete this section. 
 
OTHER INFORMATION: 
 
Any documents written in a language other than English must be accompanied by a complete translation into the English 
language.  The translation must be an original document and contain the notarized signature of the translator.  An 
individual may not translate his/her own documents. 

 
TIME FRAME FOR PROCESSING: 
 
Fingerprints:   approximately 6-8 weeks 
License Decision:  8-10 weeks from receipt of a completed application 
 
Contact Information:  Licensure Unit, 301 Centennial Mall South, PO Box 94986, Lincoln NE 68509-4986 
Telephone: 402-471-2118 / FAX: 402-742-8355 / E-Mail: dhhs.medicaloffice@nebraska.gov  

 
PLEASE NOTE:   
 

• You are able to administer inhalation analgesia without an additional permit; 

• If you will be administering minimal, moderate or general anesthesia/deep sedation, you are required to 
submit a separate application;  

• If you will be administering minimal sedation at more than one location, then you will need to list all 
locations on one application and answer the questions regarding the facility for each location; and 

• If you will be administering moderate or general anesthesia/deep sedation at more than one location, then 
you will need to submit an application and the required fee for each location.  Each location will need to 
be inspected prior to being issued the permit. 

Application Section H – PRACTICE PRIOR TO CREDENTIAL  

Application Section I – Attestation  

Application Review:  All applications are reviewed in date order received.   If a preliminary review shows that you are 

missing information, you will be contacted by e-mail within approximately 15 days.   
 

• If your application is missing information, you will be contacted by e-mail within approximately 10 days; the e-mail will list 
the information that is required to compete your application.   You have 90 days to complete your application; if not 
completed within this 90 days, your application will be closed and all documents destroyed.  A new application will then be 
required. 

• If your application is complete, you will receive by e-mail that your license has been issued. 
 

Records Retention Schedule:  When your license is issued, your application and documents will be kept by the Department for 5 
years; then all documents will be destroyed.  We encourage you to keep a copy of your application for your records. 
 

mailto:dhhs.medicaloffice@nebraska.gov
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECKS 
 

 

Criminal background checks are NOT expedited for any reason. 
 

Fingerprints are required to be eligible for a license in Nebraska.  The Nebraska State Patrol will not process 
your request for a criminal background check until you have paid the required fee to the State Patrol and the 

Licensure Unit has received your application. 
 

 
Please read and follow these instructions carefully to avoid delays in processing.  
 
Even if you have recently obtained a criminal background check for another state or another license, you MUST obtain a new criminal 
background check for each license you are currently applying for in Nebraska. 
 

Completing the Fingerprint Card: 
 
1. Fingerprint Cards:  Fingerprint cards are available at any State Patrol office or law enforcement agency in NEBRASKA.  If you 

live in another state, contact your local law enforcement agency.  You may also contact the Licensure Unit at 402/471-2118 and 
cards can be mailed to you. 

 
2. DO NOT FOLD THE FINGERPRINT CARDS. DO NOT SEND in photo copies. You MUST send in the original fingerprint 

cards. 
 
3. Information to be completed on the Fingerprint Card: 

 

a. Print your full name, address with zip code, *Social Security Number, date and place of birth, and other information as 
requested. DO NOT sign the fingerprint cards until the law enforcement officer has verified your signature with the form of 
identification that you provided. DO NOT write in the field labeled ORI.  

 
*Social Security Number: If you do not have a United States Social Security Number, you must provide in the “Miscellaneous 
No: MNU” section a Government issued identification number, a “consulate” number or a Passport Number. Please indicate 
the type of number provided.  

 
b. In the box labeled “Reason Fingerprinted” PRINT ‘Controlled Substance’.   
 

Photo ID:   
 
Take one form of photo ID with you when getting your fingerprints. Acceptable forms of ID include a driver’s license, visa, passport or 
other document showing that you are legal in the U.S. 
 

FEE:  $45.25 
 
There are 2 ways to pay for fingerprint processing: 
 
1. Credit Card/E-Check:  Pay $45.25 by credit card at www.ne.gov/go/nsp. This is an internet pay site through PayPort. You can 

pay by echeck (additional fee of $1.75) or credit card (additional fee of $ .90).  
 
The website will ask you to select the type of payment you are making. Under ‘transaction type’ you need to choose “Controlled 
Substance”. You will then need to enter the applicant’s name, date of birth and the last 4 digits of social security number. If a 
company is paying for an applicant; the applicant’s information needs to be entered on this page. The second page of the website 
will ask for information about the payer, which may or may not be the applicant.  
 

2. Check or Money Order:  Payment of $45.25 must be mailed directly to: Nebraska State Patrol, ATTN: CID, 4600 Innovation 
Drive, Lincoln NE 68521.  

 
The Nebraska State Patrol does not charge an additional fee for the service of taking your fingerprints. However, other law enforcement 
agencies in Nebraska or in other states may charge a fee.  
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Fingerprinting Process:   
 
There are 2 ways to capture your fingerprints: 
 

• Live Scan:  Live Scan is available at all Nebraska State Patrol locations listed below and the fingerprints are captured 
electronically.  The Nebraska State Patrol does not accept Live Scan prints from other states at this time.  If you are out of 
state and have Live Scan prints, you will need to request that your fingerprints be printed out onto cards. 
 

• Ink and Paper Finger Prints:  Applicants outside of Nebraska or at an office other than the below listed State Patrol offices 
have traditional ink and paper fingerprinting. 

 

Offices of the Nebraska State Patrol  
and the Days/Hours that Fingerprinting is Conducted 

Troop A 
4411 S 108th ST  
Omaha NE 68137  
Phone: 402-331-3333  

Monday- Friday 8:00a – 4:00p  
To schedule an appointment: 
https://www.nebraska.gov/apps-nsp-appointment-
calendar/schedule/index 

Troop B 
1401 Eisenhower AVE  
Norfolk NE 68701  
Phone: 402-370-3456  

Monday – Thursday 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.  
(appointment required) 

Troop C  
3431 Old Potash Highway 
Grand Island NE 68801  
Phone: 308-385-6000  

Mondays and Fridays 8:30a – 12:30p and 2:00p – 4:30p 
Tuesdays 9:00a – 4p 
Wednesdays 8:30a – 4p 
Thursdays 8:30a – 4:30p 
Call to schedule an appointment. 

Troop D   
300 West South River Rd  
North Platte NE 69103  
Phone: 308-535-6604 

Monday - Thursday 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.  
(appointment required) 

Troop E 
4500 Avenue I  
Scottsbluff NE 69361  
Phone: 308-632-1211  

Monday – Thursday 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. 
(appointment required) 

Troop H 
Criminal Identification Division (CID) 
4600 Innovation Drive 
Lincoln NE 68521  
Phone: 402-479-4971 

Monday - Friday 8:00a – 4p 
To schedule an appointment:  
https://www.nebraska.gov/apps-nsp-appointment-
calendar/schedule/index 

 

 

Where do you send the fingerprint cards?   
 
You must send all fingerprint cards to the following address:  Criminal Identification Division (CID) 

4600 Innovation Drive   
         Lincoln NE 68521 
 
Criminal Background Check Notification: Pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-131 (provided below), an applicant for an initial license to practice as a registered nurse or a 
licensed practical nurse or to practice a profession which is authorized to prescribe controlled substances shall be subject to a criminal background check. Applicants are able 
to receive any national criminal history record that may pertain to them directly from the FBI, pursuant to 28 CFR Sections 16.30-16.34, and may then freely disclose any such 
information to whomever they choose. Applicants must authorize the dissemination of any national criminal history record that may pertain to them to the Department of 
Health and Human Services (DHHS) when applying for licensure. Applicants are entitled to challenge the accuracy and completeness of any information contained in any 
such report and will be provided a copy of the criminal history background report, if any, received if they appear at the DHHS in person and present proper identification. 
Information on how to challenge an applicant’s federal report can be found at FBI.gov. To challenge an applicant’s Nebraska state record, contact the Nebraska State Patrol-
Criminal Identification Division. Applicants may obtain a prompt determination as to the validity of their challenge before the DHHS makes a final decision about their 
application for licensure.  
 
Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-131 - Criminal background check; when required. (1) An applicant for an initial license to practice as a registered nurse or a licensed practice nurse or 
to practice a profession which is authorized to prescribe controlled substances shall be subject to a criminal background check. Except as provided in subsection (3) of this 
section, the applicant shall submit with the application a full set of fingerprints which shall be forwarded to the Nebraska State Patrol to be submitted to the Federal Bureau of 
Investigation for a national criminal history record information check. The applicant shall authorize release of the results of the national criminal history record information 
check to the department. The applicant shall pay the actual cost of the fingerprinting and criminal background check. (2) This section shall not apply to a dentist who is an 
applicant for a dental locum tenens under section 38-1122, to a physician or osteopathic physician who is an applicant for a physician locum tenens under section 38-2036, or 
to a veterinarian who is an applicant for a veterinarian locum tenens under section 38-3335. (3) An applicant for a temporary educational permit as defined in section 38-2019 
shall have ninety days from the issuance of the permit to comply with subsection (1) of this section and shall have his or her permit suspended after such ninety-day period if 
the criminal background check is not complete or revoked if the criminal background check reveals that the applicant was not qualified for the permit. Source: Laws 2005, LB 
306, § 2; Laws 2005, LB 382, § 15; Laws 2006, LB 833, § 1; R.S.Supp 2006, § 71-104.01; Laws 2007, LB247, § 60; Laws 2007, LB463, § 31; Laws 2007, LB481, § 2; Laws 
2011, LB687, § 1; Laws 2015, LB129. Effective Date: August 30, 2015  

 
 

https://www.nebraska.gov/apps-nsp-appointment-calendar/schedule/index
https://www.nebraska.gov/apps-nsp-appointment-calendar/schedule/index
https://www.nebraska.gov/apps-nsp-appointment-calendar/schedule/index
https://www.nebraska.gov/apps-nsp-appointment-calendar/schedule/index
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PRIVACY ACT STATEMENT 
 

Authority: The FBI’s acquisition, preservation, and exchange of fingerprints and associated information is 
generally authorized under 28 U.S.C. 534. Depending on the nature of your application, supplemental 
authorities include Federal statutes, State statutes pursuant to Pub. L. 92-544, Presidential Executive Orders, 
and federal regulations. Providing your fingerprints and associated information is voluntary; however, failure to 
do so may affect completion or approval of your application.  
 
Principal Purpose: Certain determinations, such as employment, licensing, and security clearances, may be 
predicated on fingerprint-based background checks. Your fingerprints and associated information/biometrics 
may be provided to the employing, investigating, or otherwise responsible agency, and/or the FBI for the 
purpose of comparing your fingerprints to other fingerprints in the FBI’s Next Generation Identification (NGI) 
system or its successor systems (including civil, criminal, and latent fingerprint repositories) or other available 
records of the employing, investigating, or otherwise responsible agency. The FBI may retain your fingerprints 
and associated information/biometrics in NGI after the completion of this application and, while retained, your 
fingerprints may continue to be compared against other fingerprints submitted to or retained by NGI.  
 
Routine Uses: During the processing of this application and for as long thereafter as your fingerprints and 
associated information/biometrics are retained in NGI, your information may be disclosed pursuant to your 
consent, and may be disclosed without your consent as permitted by the Privacy Act of 1974 and all applicable 
Routine Uses as may be published at any time in the Federal Register, including the Routine Uses for the NGI 
system and the FBI’s Blanket Routine Uses. Routine uses include, but are not limited to, disclosures to: 
employing, governmental or authorized non-governmental agencies responsible for employment, contracting, 
licensing, security clearances, and other suitability determinations; local, state, tribal, or federal law 
enforcement agencies; criminal justice agencies; and agencies responsible for national security or public 
safety.  
 

Applicant Notification and Record Challenge 
 

Your fingerprints will be used to check the criminal history records of the FBI. You have the opportunity to 
complete or challenge the accuracy of the information contained in the FBI identification record. The procedure 
for obtaining a change, correction, or updating an FBI identification record are set forth in Title 28, CFR, 16.34. 
You can find additional information on the FBI website at https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-
summary-checks 
 

https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks
https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks
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Division of Public Health /Licensure Unit 
P.O. Box 94986, Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986 
      

Check below how you will be applying for the license: 
 
 EXAMINATION (taken a practical examination within the last 5 years)     
 RECIPROCITY (proof of practicing for 3 yrs and 1 yr must be within the last 3 yrs)          RECIPROCITY (NRS 38-129) 
 
Fee Waiver:   
If you meet one of the following fee waivers, your initial license and temporary license fee is waived.  Check only ONE waiver: 
□  Young Worker:   I am under 26 years old.  Please note this waiver is based on when the license is issued not when you apply.   

□  Low-income Individual:   
□  I am enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, including, but not limited to, the medical assistance program 

established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, or the federal 
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families program; OR 

□  My household adjusted gross income is below 130% of the federal income poverty guideline.   
□  Military Family:  I am an active duty service member in the armed services of the United States, a military spouse, honorably 

discharged veteran of the armed services of the United States, spouse of such honorably discharged veteran, and un-remarried 
surviving spouses of deceased service members of the armed services of the United States.  

You must complete all sections of this application that apply to you. 
 

SECTION A – PERSONAL INFORMATION 
1 You must provide your Legal Name below 

First: 
 
 

Middle: Maiden Name: Last Name: 

List any other names you are or have been 
Known As (AKA) 

 
 

2 Mailing  
Address: 

Street/PO/Route: 
 
 

City: 
 
 

State or Country: Zip: 

3 Date of Birth (mm/dd/yy): Place of Birth (City/State or Foreign COUNTRY): 
 
 

4 Phone #: (optional)* Additional Phone #: (optional)* 
 
 

5 E-Mail Address: (optional)* 
 

*phone number and e-mail are optional, but providing this information will speed up communication w/ you 

6 Check the appropriate box(es) 
and give the number requested. 
 
If you have both a SSN and an 
A# or I-94 number, you must 
report both. 

 Social Security Number (SSN):  

 Alien Registration Number (“A#”): 
 

 

 Form I-94 Number: 
 

 

Nebraska Revised Statute 38-123 mandates disclosure of your social security number to DHHS.  Although your number is 
not public information, DHHS may disclose it for child support enforcement purposes and to the Nebraska Department of 
Revenue. 

OFFICE USE ONLY 

NDEN Yes__ No___   NSP CBC Yes__ No___   NPDB Yes__ No___ 

AADE Yes__ No___   FBI REC Yes__ No___ 
 

BOARD Yes__ No___ 

NEBRASKA 
Application for a Dental License 

For Office Use Only 
 

BU # 25550143 
License #                  Issue Date: 
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SECTION B – CONVICTION AND LICENSURE INFORMATION  (All applicants must complete this section)   
Failure to list any conviction(s) or disciplinary action(s), regardless of when the action occurred, could result in 
disciplinary action. Answer the following questions either yes or no by placing a (✓) in the appropriate box.  All ‘yes’ 
responses MUST be explained in detail.  Additional documentation may be requested by the Board/Department after 
submission of initial information. 

CONVICTION INFORMATION:  You must list ALL misdemeanor or felony convictions (regardless of when they occurred). 

 

1 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Have you EVER been 
convicted of a 
misdemeanor or felony? 
 

Name of Conviction   
 
 

Date of Action 
 
 

Name of Court Taking 
Action 
 

Yes □     No  □ 
 
 

  

 
 

  

 
 

  

 
 

  

 
 

  

   

The following provides SOME examples of convictions; this is NOT a complete list 
 

 

• MIP/ Tobacco Use by Minor 

• DUI / DWI 

• Controlled Substance 

• Open Container 

• Shoplifting / Theft / Burglary 

• Unauthorized use of a Financial Transaction 

• Disturbing the Peace  

• Assault / Prostitution 

• Disorderly Conduct / Disorderly House 

• Reckless Driving 

• Driving under Suspension / Revocation  

• License Vehicle without Liability Insurance  

• Fail to Appear in Court 

• False Information or Reporting 

• Leave the Scene of an Accident 

• Operator not Carrying License 

• Unlawful Display of Plates/Renewal tabs  

• Park Rule Violation / Curfew Violation 

• Dog at Large / Fail to Vaccinate Animal 

• Littering / Fireworks / Bad Check 

 

 
LICENSE INFORMATION:  The following questions relate to a license that you currently hold or have held in a state other than 
Nebraska.  
 

1 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 
 
 

 
 
 

Do you hold or have you held a license in 
any other state(s)? 

If yes, what state(s)? 
What type of license? License Number 

Yes □     No  □ 
 
 

  

 
 

  

   

If YES, has your license ever been denied, 
refused renewal, limited, suspended, 
revoked or had other disciplinary measures 
taken against it? 

Type of Action 
 
 

Date of Action 
 
 

Name of State Taking Action 
 
 

Yes  □   No   □ 
 
 

  
 

 

SECTION C – FINGERPRINTS (All applicants must complete this section)   
1 I have had my fingerprints taken. YES NO 

2 I have paid for my fingerprint processing. YES NO 
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SECTION D – CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES REGISTRATION  (Check on of the following) 

I have enclosed a photocopy of my Federal Controlled Substances 
Registration (DEA Registration). 

YES NO 

I am currently applying for a Federal Controlled Substances 
Registration (DEA Registration). 

YES NO 

I do not have nor am I applying for a Federal Controlled Substances 
Registration (DEA Registration) and I will not be prescribing, 
administering or dispensing controlled substances in Nebraska.   
PLEASE NOTE:  I understand that at such time that I do intend to 
prescribe, administer or dispense controlled substances in 
Nebraska, I will first need to have a Federal Controlled 
Substances Registration issued to me.  At that time, I am to 
supply a photocopy of the registration to the State of Nebraska. 

YES NO 

 

SECTION E – EDUCATION 
Accredited College/School of 
Dentistry Attended: 

Name: 
 

School Address: City: 
 

State: 

Date of Graduation: 
 

Degree Received: 

 

SECTION F – EXAMINATION INFORMATION (All applicants must complete this section) Scores from the 

practical examinations will be accepted for a period of five years from the date the examination was passed. 
1 I have taken the National Board examination and have 

requested my scores be sent directly to the Department. 
YES NO 

2 I have taken one of the following 
practical examinations: 

  CRDTS  
 
(Licensure Unit can retrieve 
scores from testing agency 
website) 

  CDCA   
 
(Licensure Unit can retrieve scores 
from testing agency website) 

  CITA   
 
(Licensure Unit can retrieve 
scores from testing agency 
website) 

  WREB  
 
(applicant must request 
individual score report be sent 
directly to the Licensure Unit 
from the testing agency) 

  SRTA   
 
(applicant must request score 
report be sent directly to the 
Licensure Unit from the 
testing agency) 

  ADEX   
  
(Licensure Unit can retrieve scores 
from testing agency website) 

3 I have failed a practical examination on two occasions. YES NO 

List what practical examinations, locations and dates that you failed on more than two occasions:  Please 
note that if you failed on two occasions, you are required to complete a remedial course in clinical dentistry 
approved by the Board before the Licensure Unit will accept the results of the third examination. 

Examination Location Dates 
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Mailing Address: 
DHHS, Division of Public Health  
Licensure Unit – 1st Floor 
P.O. Box 94986 
Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986  

 

Physical Address: 
DHHS, Division of Public Health 
Licensure Unit- 1st Floor 
301 Centennial Mall South, 
Lincoln, Nebraska  68508 

SECTION G – PRACTICE INFORMATION (This section only needs to be completed by applicants that are applying 

by reciprocity).  You must provide proof of practicing by submitting a copy of your W-2’s or a letter from your employer or practice 
partner on their letterhead, stating the beginning and ending dates of employment and the approximate number of hours worked per 
week. 
1 Have you submitted proof that you have been actively engaged in 

the practice of dentistry for at least three (3) years?                                      
YES NO 

2 Have you submitted proof that one (1) of the years has been 
within the three (3) years immediately preceding the date of this 
application? 

YES NO 

 

SECTION H – PRACTICE PRIOR TO CREDENTIAL (All applicants must complete this section)  An individual who 

practices prior to the issuance of a credential is subject to an assessment of an Administrative Penalty of $10 per day up to $1,000, 
or such other action as provided in the statutes and regulations governing such credential. 
1   NO.  I have not practiced dentistry in Nebraska without a license. 

 
  YES. I have practiced dentistry in Nebraska without a license. 

2 If yes, what are the actual number of days you practiced 
in Nebraska without a license and what is the business 
name, location and telephone number of the practice:   

Number of days: 
 

Name of Business: 
 

City: 
 

Telephone #: 
 

 

SECTION I - ATTESTATION 
 
For the purpose of complying with Neb. Rev. Stat. §§4-108 through 4-114 and 38-129 (check ONE of the boxes below):  
 
I attest that:  
      I am a citizen of the United States.  
OR  
      I am a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act.  
 
      I am a nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States.  
 
     Check this box if you are NOT a citizen of the United States, a nonimmigrant, nor a qualified alien under the 

Federal Immigration and Nationality Act.  

 
Application Attestation and Signature: I attest that:  
 
1. I have read the application or have had the application read to me; and  
2. All statements on this application are true and complete.  
 
Print Name: _____________________________________________________  
 

Signature: _______________________________________________________           Date: ____________________________ 

 

 

Contact Information: 
Telephone: 402-471-2118 

Email:  DHHS.medicaloffice@nebraska.gov 
 

 
 


	First: 
	Middle: 
	Maiden Name: 
	Last Name: 
	Textfield-11: 
	StreetPORoute: 
	City: 
	State or Country: 
	Zip: 
	Social Security Number SSN-0: 
	Alien Registration Number A-0: 
	Form 194 Number-0: 
	Date of Birth mmddyy: 
	Place of Birth CityState or Foreign COUNTRY: 
	Phone  optional: 
	Additional Phone  optional: 
	EMail Address optional: 
	Textfield-12: 
	Textfield-13: 
	Textfield-14: 
	Textfield-15: 
	Textfield-16: 
	Textfield-17: 
	Textfield-18: 
	Textfield-19: 
	Textfield-20: 
	Textfield-21: 
	Textfield-22: 
	Textfield-23: 
	Textfield-24: 
	Textfield-25: 
	Textfield-26: 
	Textfield-27: 
	Textfield-28: 
	Textfield-29: 
	Textfield-30: 
	Textfield-31: 
	Textfield-32: 
	Textfield-33: 
	Textfield-34: 
	Textfield-35: 
	Textfield-36: 
	Textfield-37: 
	Textfield-38: 
	Type of Action: 
	Date of Action-0: 
	Name of State Taking Action: 
	Name: 
	School Address: 
	City-0: 
	State: 
	Date of Graduation: 
	Degree Received: 
	Examination: 
	Location: 
	Dates: 
	Examination-0: 
	Location-0: 
	Dates-0: 
	Examination-1: 
	Location-1: 
	Dates-1: 
	Examination-2: 
	Location-2: 
	Dates-2: 
	Print Name: 
	Date: 
	Number of days: 
	Name of Business: 
	City-1: 
	Telephone: 
	CheckBox1: Off
	CheckBox2: Off
	CheckBox3: Off
	CheckBox4: Off
	CheckBox5: Off
	CheckBox6: Off
	CheckBox7: Off
	CheckBox8: Off
	CheckBox9: Off
	CheckBox10: Off
	CheckBox11: Off
	CheckBox12: Off
	CheckBox13: Off
	CheckBox14: Off
	CheckBox15: Off
	CheckBox16: Off
	CheckBox17: Off
	CheckBox18: Off
	CheckBox19: Off
	CheckBox20: Off
	CheckBox21: Off
	CheckBox22: Off
	CheckBox23: Off
	CheckBox24: Off
	CheckBox25: Off
	CheckBox26: Off
	CheckBox27: Off
	CheckBox28: Off
	CheckBox29: Off
	CheckBox30: Off
	CheckBox31: Off
	CheckBox32: Off
	CheckBox33: Off
	CheckBox34: Off
	CheckBox35: Off
	SECTION I  ATTESTATION: 
	CheckBox46: Off
	CheckBox47: Off
	CheckBox48: Off
	CheckBox49: Off
	CheckBox50: Off
	CheckBox51: Off
	CheckBox52: Off
	CheckBox53: Off
	CheckBox54: Off
	CheckBox55: Off
	Check Box1: 
	0: Off
	1: Off



