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NEBRASKA

Good Life. Great Mission.

Reinstatement Information for
Nebraska Dialysis Patient Care Technician

DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

LICENSE FEE WAIVER: Starting January 1, 2020, if you meet the following waiver option, your reinstatement
application license fee is waived, (this does not waive the fee for criminal background checks):

Military Family: You are an active duty service member in the armed services of the United States, a military spouse,
honorably discharged veteran of the armed services of the United States, spouse of such honorably discharged veteran,
and un-remarried surviving spouses of deceased service members of the armed services of the United States. To be
eligible for this waiver, you must submit a copy of your ID card, discharge paperwork, or similar document that shows you
are a military family member as described above.

MILITARY: To view licensing services available to members of the military and their spouses, visit our website at
https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx

| STEP 1: Get copies of the following documents:

Application Section A — Personal Information

1.0 US Citizenship/Lawful Presence
U.S. Citizens, a PHOTOCOPY of one of the following:
______ Birth certificate (Hospital issued keepsake birth certificates cannot be accepted).
U.S. Passport (unexpired or expired).
______ Certificate of Naturalization.
______ Other documents that show U.S. Citizenship.

A Driver’s License is NOT acceptable.

NOT a U.S. Citizen (Current Immigration Status) a PHOTOCOPY of one of the following:
___ Green Card, otherwise known as a Permanent Resident Card (Form 1-551), both front and back of
the card,;
__ Form 1-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) AND an unexpired foreign passport with a valid unexpired
US visa; or
__ Employment Authorization Card AND one of the following
_____An approved deferred action status (DACA);
A pending application for asylum in the United States;
A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the United States; or
A pending application for adjustment of status to that of an alien lawfully admitted for
permanent residence in the United States or conditional permanent resident status in the United
States
_____ Other document that shows current immigration status

**NOTE: Documents (other than those for U.S. Citizenship) are verified by our office through the
Department of Homeland Security. This process may take 4-6 weeks.

2. 0 According to the Uniform Credentialing Act of Nebraska §38-129(1) you must be at least 19 years old.

Application Section B — Conviction and Licensure/Registration/Certification
Information

1. O Conviction Information: If you have EVER had a misdemeanor or felony conviction or pardon or set
aside, you are required to list ALL convictions (regardless of when they occurred) on the application; you are
NOT required to list infractions. Misdemeanor and felony convictions can either be processed through traffic
or criminal court, so when you check with the county court/district court, you should ask for both traffic and
criminal court misdemeanot/felony convictions.
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You must submit:

(&) A copy of the entire/complete court record related to all misdemeanor and felony convictions;

(b)  Your explanation of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary
of actions you have taken to address the behaviors/actions related to the conviction;

(c) If currently on probation, a letter from your probation officer addressing the terms and current
status of your probation.

**NOTE: To aid the registry in evaluation of your drug and/or alcohol conviction(s), please
submit all evaluation/discharge summaries where drug and/or alcohol treatment was
obtained or required. All evaluations/discharge summaries must be submitted by the
provider directly to the registry.

The following provides SOME examples of convictions; this is NOT a complete list:

MIP

DUI / DWI

Controlled Substance

Open Container

e Tobacco Use by Minor

e Shoplifting / Theft / Burglary

¢ Unauthorized use of a Financial Transaction
Disturbing the Peace

Assault

Disorderly Conduct / Disorderly House
Reckless Driving

Driving under Suspension / Revocation
License Vehicle without Liability Insurance
Fail to Appear in Court

False Information or Reporting

Leave the Scene of an Accident
Operator not Carrying License

Unlawful Display of Plates/Renewal tabs
Parks Rule Violation / Curfew Violation
Dog at Large / Fail to Vaccinate Animal
Littering / Fireworks

Bad Check

Not Wearing Seat Belt

NOTE: If you have any criminal charges or license disciplinary actions pending that result in a conviction
or license discipline, you are required to report such action to the Investigative Unit within 30 days of the
conviction or disciplinary action. Reporting forms can be obtained at the following website:
https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Investigations.aspx_or by phone 402-471-0175.

2.000ther State License/Reqistration/Certification Information: If you hold or have held a health related
license/certification/registration (such as nursing, massage therapist, paramedic, nurse aide, cosmetology,
etc.) in any state other than Nebraska, you must contact that state and request a verification of your
license/certification/registration that includes your name, license #, date issued, date expires, and if any
disciplinary action has been taken against your credential.
Do not send a copy of your license/certification/registration.

Application Section C - Education

1.0 Education/Examination:
e Verification of Dialysis Patient Care Technician work setting training.
e  Proof of successful completion of the National Certification examination. (A photocopy of Certificate).

**NOTE: The verification of Dialysis Patient Care Technician work setting training and proof of successful
completion of the National Certification examination are required when completed.

| STEP 2: Application

I You must complete ALL SECTIONS of the application, pages 4-7.
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| STEP 3: Submit your application and fee to the Licensure Unit

You must submit:

1. [0 Completed application

2. [ Copies of all documents requested

3. O Applicant non-refundable fee. In order to prevent a delay in processing, submit an individual
check/money order for each application.

Pay by check/money order — Payable to DHHS Licensure Unit
You must submit the exact amount needed or your application and payment will be returned

(Your cancelled check is your proof of receipt)

Debit or credit cards are not accepted at this time

Application Review: All applications are reviewed in order of date received.

e If your application is missing information your application and fee will be returned to you with a cover
memo identifying what is needed. This will delay your application process and may affect your ability to
practice as a dialysis patient care technician.

Contact Information
Telephone: 402-471-4322
E-Mail: DHHS.Nursingsupport@nebraska.gov

Physical Address:

DHHS, Division of Public Health
Licensure Unit- 1st Floor

301 Centennial Mall South,
Lincoln, Nebraska 68508

Mailing Address:

DHHS, Division of Public Health
Licensure Unit — 15t Floor

P.O. Box 94986

Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986

Page 3 of 8



3/3/2020
2/11/17

NEBRASKA

Good Life. Great Mission.

For Office Use Only

BU # 25550134

DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

Division of Public Health /Licensure Unit Registration

P.O. Box 94986, Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986

NEBRASKA
Dialysis Patient Care Technician Reinstatement Application

| LICENSE FEES: |

A. Fee Waiver:
If you meet the following fee waiver, your reinstatement application license fee is waived. Check the box next

to the waiver:

o Military Family: | am an active duty service member in the armed services of the United States, a military
spouse, honorably discharged veteran of the armed services of the United States, spouse of such honorably
discharged veteran, and un-remarried surviving spouses of deceased service members of the armed
services of the United States.

B. Fee Required if YOU DO NOT gqualify for one of the above fee waivers

YEAR Jan Feb Mar | April May | June | July Aug Sept Oct Nov Dec

Odd Number Year $95 $95 | $95 | $95 $95 | $95 $95 $95 $95 $95 $25 $25

Even Numbered Year | $25 $25 | $25 | $25 $95 | $95 $95 $95 $95 $95 $95 $95

Dialysis Patient Care Technician registration expires 5/31 of even-numbered years. Fee is based on month and year your
license will be issued.

Pay by check or money order to: DHHS Licensure Unit
Your cancelled check is your proof of payment. Payment is processed upon receipt. Debit or credit card is not accepted

You must complete all sections of this application

SECTION A — PERSONAL INFORMATION
1 You must print your Legal Name below
First: Middle: Last Name:

List any other names, including maiden and your last
name on your birth certificate, you are or have been
known as (AKA)

2 Address: Street/PO/Route:
(where we
can send
registry City: State or Country: Zip:
information)
3 Date of Birth (Month/Day/Year): Place of Birth (City/State or COUNTRY):
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4 Phone #:* Additional Phone #:*

E-Mail Address*:

* phone number and e-mail are optional, but providing this information will speed up communication
with you

5 Social Security Number (SSN):

If you have an A# or 1-94# | o Alien Registration Number (A#"):
check the correct box(s) and

provide your number. o |1-94#

Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-123 and §38-130 requires you to provide your social security number to DHHS. Although your
number is not public information, DHHS may share your social security number for child support enforcement or other
administrative purposes and provide it to the Department of Revenue or the Department of Labor.

SECTION B — CONVICTION AND LICENSURE/REGISTRATION/CERTIFICATION INFORMATION:
Failure to list any conviction(s) or disciplinary action(s), since your DPCT registration last became active,
could result in disciplinary action.

CONVICTION INFORMATION: You must list ALL misdemeanor or felony convictions since your DPCT
registration last became active; you are NOT required to list infractions. Misdemeanor and felony
convictions can either be processed through traffic or criminal court, so when you check with the county
court/district court, you should ask for both traffic and criminal court misdemeanor and felony convictions.
You must submit:

(& A copy of the entire/complete court record related to all misdemeanor and felony convictions;

(b)  Your explanation of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary
of actions you have taken to address the behaviors/actions related to the conviction;

(c) If currently on probation, a letter from your probation officer addressing the terms and current
status of your probation.

**NOTE: To aid the registry in evaluation of your drug and/or alcohol conviction(s), please
submit all evaluation/discharge summaries where drug and/or alcohol treatment was
obtained or required. All evaluations/discharge summaries must be submitted by the
provider directly to the registry.

Have you EVER

1 been convicted of a Name of Court /
misdemeanor or Name of Conviction Date of Action Entity Taking
felony? Action

Yeso No o
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The following provides SOME examples of convictions; this is NOT a complete list:

e MIP ¢ Driving under Suspension / Revocation
e DUI/ DWI ¢ License Vehicle without Liability Insurance
e Controlled Substance ¢ Fail to Appear in Court
e Open Container ¢ False Information or Reporting
e Tobacco Use by Minor o Leave the Scene of an Accident
e Shoplifting / Theft / Burglary e Operator not Carrying License
¢ Unauthorized use of a Financial Transaction e Unlawful Display of Plates/Renewal tabs
¢ Disturbing the Peace ¢ Parks Rule Violation / Curfew Violation
o Assault ¢ Dog at Large / Fail to Vaccinate Animal
¢ Disorderly Conduct o Littering
¢ Disorderly House e Bad Check
¢ Reckless Driving o Fireworks

¢ Not Wearing Seatbelt

NOTE:

If you have any criminal charges or license/registration/certification disciplinary actions pending that result in a
conviction or license/registration/certification discipline, you are required to report such action to the Public
Health Investigations Unit within 30 days of the conviction or disciplinary action. Reporting forms can be
obtained at: https://dhhs.ne.gov/pages/Investigations.aspx or by calling 402-471-0175.

LICENSE/REGISTRATION/CERTIFICATION INFORMATION: The following questions relate to a
license/registration/certification that you currently hold or have held to provide health related services (such as
nursing, massage therapist, paramedic, nurse aide, etc.) in a state other than Nebraska.

Have you ever been denied the
right to take a

1 license/registration/certification s, (IS Gy (lon
examination in any State?
Yeso No o
5 Do you hold or have you held a What type of

license/registration/certification
in any other state(s)?

Yeso No o

2
173y, MinEL i) license/registration/certification?

If YES, has your
license/registration/certification
ever been denied, refused
renewal, limited, suspended,
revoked or had other
disciplinary measures taken
against it?

Yeso No o

Date of

Type of Action Action

Name of State Taking Action
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Are you the spouse of an active
duty member of the United Yes o No o
3 | States Armed Forces who has
an active-duty assignment in in | If checked yes and you are applying for a temporary registration you
Nebraska? must include all documentation identified in instructions.

NOTE:

If you have disciplinary charges pending on your license/registration/certification in another state or if your
license/registration/certification has been revoked, suspended, limited, is on probation or disciplined in any way,
please contact the state(s) taking the action and request a copy of the disciplinary action be sent to the
Nebraska Licensure Unit.

SECTION C — EDUCATION
1. Have you completed Dialysis Patient Care

Technician training which follows national Yes o Please include Verification Form with
recommendations and is conducted in the work Application.
setting?

2. Have you successfully passed a National
Certification Examination? Yes o Pleaseinclude a photocopy of your most
recent Exam Completion Certificate with
Application.

SECTION D — PRACTICE PRIOR TO BEING PLACED ON REGISTRY

An individual who practices prior to being issued a registry number is subject to assessment of an
Administrative Penalty of $10 per day up to $1,000, or other action as provided in the statutes and
regulations.

o No. I have not practiced as a Dialysis Patient Care Technician in Nebraska without being active on the
registry.

o Yes. | have practiced as a Dialysis Patient Care Technician in Nebraska WITHOUT being active on the
registry. **This does not apply if you were practicing prior to May 1, 2018.

If yes, what are the actual number of days you Number of days:
practiced in Nebraska without being on the
Nebraska Dialysis Patient Care Technician Name of Business:

Registry and what is the business name, location
and telephone number of where you practiced:

City:

Telephone #:
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SECTION E — ATTESTATION

For the purpose of meeting Neb. Rev. Stat. §4-108 through 84-114 and §38-129
check ONE of the boxes below:

| attest that:
o | am a citizen of the United States.
OR
o | am a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act.
o | am a nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States.
o Check this box if you are NOT a citizen of the United States, a nonimmigrant, nor a qualified alien under
the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act.

Application Attestation and Signature: | further attest that:

1. I have read the application or have had the application read to me; and
2. All statements on this application are true and complete.

Print Name:
Signature: Date:
Contact Information:
Telephone: 402-471-4322
Email: DHHS.nursingsupport@nebraska.gov
Mailing Address: Physical Address:
DHHS, Division of Public Health DHHS, Division of Public Health
Licensure Unit — 15t Floor Licensure Unit- 15t Floor
P.O. Box 94986 301 Centennial Mall South,
Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986 Lincoln, Nebraska 68508
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