NEBRASKA

Good Life. Great Mission.

DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

Application Information for
Nebraska Dental Assistant License

License Fee: Use the chart below to determine your applicable licensing fee. The prorated fee is applicable if the
Licensure Unit issues your license during those months. Pay by check/money order (vour cancelled check is your
proof of receipt).

YEAR | Jan Feb Mar Apr May June July Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Odd $25.00 | $25.00 [ $95.00 | $95.00 $95.00 [ $95.00 | $95.00 $95.00 | $95.00 | $95.00 | $95.00 $95.00
Even $95.00 | $95.00 [ $95.00 | $95.00 $95.00 [ $95.00 | $95.00 $95.00 | $25.00 | $25.00 | $25.00 $25.00

LICENSE FEE WAIVER: Starting January 1, 2020, if you meet one of the following waiver options, your initial license

and temporary license fee is waived, (this does not waive the fee for criminal background checks):

1. Young Worker: You are between the ages of 18 and 25 (under the age of 26).

2. Low-Income Individual: You are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program such as the medical

assistance program established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance
Program (SNAP), or the federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program, OR your household
adjusted gross income is below 130% of the federal income poverty guideline.

If you live in Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, no further documentation
is required to be submitted.

If you live in a state other than Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, submit a
copy of a document showing current enroliment.

If your household adjusted gross income is at 130% of the Federal Income Poverty Guideline or below, click this
link to see the current income guidelines,
https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/documents/LowlincomeFeeWaiverTable.pdf. To be eligible for this waiver, you must
submit a copy of your most recent tax return.

3. Military Family: You are an active duty service member in the armed services of the United States, a military spouse,

honorably discharged veteran of the armed services of the United States, spouse of such honorably discharged veteran,
and un-remarried surviving spouses of deceased service members of the armed services of the United States. To be
eligible for this waiver, you must submit a copy of your ID card, discharge paperwork, or similar document that shows
you are a military family member as described above.

MILITARY: To view licensing services available to members of the military and their spouses, visit our website at
https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx

\ Application Section A — Personal Information (Provide copies of the following documents)

1.0

US Citizenship/Lawful Presence

U.S. Citizens, a PHOTOCOPY of one of the following:

____ Birth certificate (Hospital issued keepsake birth certificates cannot be accepted).
U.S. Passport (unexpired or expired).

______ Certificate of Naturalization.

____ Other documents that show U.S. Citizenship.

A Driver’s License is NOT acceptable.
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2.0

NOT a U.S. Citizen (Current Immigration Status) a PHOTOCOPY of one of the following:
_____ Green Card, otherwise known as a Permanent Resident Card (Form [-551), both front and back of the card;
Form 1-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) AND an unexpired foreign passport with a valid unexpired US visa; or

____ Employment Authorization Card AND one of the following
_____An approved deferred action status (DACA);

A pending application for asylum in the United States;

A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the United States; or

A pending application for adjustment of status to that of an alien lawfully admitted for permanent
residence in the United States or conditional permanent resident status in the United States

_____ Other document that shows current immigration status

**NOTE: Documents (other than those for U.S. Citizenship) are verified by our office through the Department of
Homeland Security.

According to the Uniform Credentialing Act of Nebraska §38-129(1) you must be at least 19 years old.

Application Section B — Conviction and Licensure Information (Provide copies of the following
documents)

1.

O_Conviction Information: If you have EVER received a ticket from law enforcement or animal control, check the court
system to see if the ticket is on your record as a misdemeanor or felony conviction. Speeding tickets are not misdemeanors or
felonies. You are required to list ALL convictions (regardless of when they occurred) on the application; you are NOT required
to list infractions, diversions or dismissals. Misdemeanor and felony convictions can either be processed through traffic or
criminal court, so when you check with the county court/district court, you should ask for both traffic and criminal court
misdemeanor/felony convictions.

If you have convictions, you must submit:

(i) A copy of the court record related to all misdemeanor and felony convictions, that includes the statement of charges
and final disposition, if the conviction(s) occurred in a state other than Nebraska;

(ii) An explanation of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions that the
applicant has taken to address the behaviors or actions related to the conviction; and

(iii) A letter from the applicant’s probation officer addressing the terms and current status of the probation, if the applicant
is currently on probation.

If you had an alcohol and drug evaluation and/or completed treatment, to assist the Board and Department in review
of any drug and/or alcohol conviction(s), we encourage you to request that the treatment provider submit all evaluations
and discharge summaries directly to the Department.

The following provides SOME examples of convictions; this is NOT a complete list

MIP/ Tobacco Use by Minor ¢ Driving under Suspension / Revocation

DUI / DWI / Open Container License Vehicle without Liability Insurance
Controlled Substance False Information or Reporting

Shoplifting / Theft / Burglary Reckless Driving / Leave the Scene of an Accident
Unauthorized use of a Financial Transaction Operator not Carrying License

Disturbing the Peace Unlawful Display of Plates/Renewal tabs

Assault / Prostitution Park Rule Violation / Curfew Violation

Disorderly Conduct / Disorderly House Dog at Large / Fail to Vaccinate Animal

Fail to Appear in Court Littering / Fireworks / Bad Check

NOTE: If you have any criminal charges or license disciplinary actions pending that result in a conviction or license
discipline, you are required to report such action to the Investigative Unit within 30 days of the conviction or  disciplinary
action. Reporting forms can be obtained at the following website: https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Investigations.aspx or by

phone 402-471-0175.

2.

Other State License Information: If you hold or have held a health related license in any state (other than Nebraska) our
office may contact you and request that you contact that state and request a certification/verification of your license (do not
send a copy of your license).
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| Application Section C — Education/Experience

1.

2.

O Diploma: Proof of graduation from high school or its equivalent; and

O _Education/Experience: Official transcript showing your graduation date sent directly to our office from a dental
assisting program accredited by the American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation OR proof of
substantially similar education, training, or service completed while a member of the armed forces of the United
States OR employment or staffing records, or other reports from an employer, demonstrating a minimum of one
thousand five hundred (1,500) hours of experience as a dental assistant during the five-year period prior to the
date of this application.

| Application Section D — Examination Information

1.

Verification of your successful completion of the Certification Exam for Dental Assistants (CDA) will be confirmed by
our office with the Dental Assisting National Board (DANB). If we are unable to verify that you have passed the CDA
examination, you will be required to contact DANB and have verification of your examination sent directly to our office
from DANB.

AND

Jurisprudence Examination Information: Each Applicant is required to take the State jurisprudence examination at
https://www.proprofs.com/quiz-school/story.php?title=nebraska-dental-assistant-jurisprudence-examination

Application Section E — Practice Information (This section only needs to be completed by applicants that are
applying by reciprocity)

1.

O_Practice Requirement for Reciprocity Applicants: If you are applying for a dental license by reciprocity, you
are required to provide proof that you have been actively engaged in the practice of dentistry for at least three (3)
years with one (1) of those years being within the past three (3) years. Acceptable proof of active practice can
include:
a) A copy of your W-2’s;
b) A letter from your employer/practice partner on their letterhead stating the beginning and ending

dates of employment and approximate number of hours worked per week.

‘ Application Section F — PRACTICE PRIOR TO CREDENTIAL

All applicants must complete this section. An individual who practices prior to the issuance of a credential is subject to an
assessment of an Administrative Penalty of $10 per day up to $1,000, or such other action as provided in the statutes and
regulations governing such credential.
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| Application Section G — Attestation

All applicants are required to complete this section.

OTHER INFORMATION:

Any documents written in a language other than English must be accompanied by a complete translation into the English

language. The translation must be an original document and contain the notarized signature of the translator. An
individual may not translate his/her own documents.

Application Review: All applications are reviewed in date order received.

If your application is missing information, you will be contacted by e-mail within approximately 10 days; the e-mail will list
the information that is required to compete your application. You have 90 days to complete your application; if not
completed within this 90 days, your application will be closed and all documents destroyed. A new application will then be
required.

If your application is complete, you will receive by e-mail that your license has been issued.

Records Retention Schedule: When your license is issued, your application and documents will be kept by the Department for 5
years; then all documents will be destroyed. We encourage you to keep a copy of your application for your records.

Contact Information: Licensure Unit, 301 Centennial Mall South, PO Box 94986, Lincoln NE 68509-4986
Telephone: 402-471-2118 /| FAX: 402-742-8355 / E-Mail: dhhs.medicaloffice@nebraska.gov

Pages 3 of 8


mailto:dhhs.medicaloffice@nebraska.gov

~N
N E B P\IA\S KIA\ For Office Use Only
Good Life. Great Mission. License #

Issue Date
DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES )
DHHS - Licensure Unit
P.O. Box 94986 F i
L N e a8509.4986 NEBRASKA Appllcat_lon for a
402-471-2118 Dental Assistant License

LICENSE APPLICATION CATEGORY and FEES (All applicants must complete this section)
Check the category that applies.

Licensure by Examination |:| Licensure by Reciprocity - Another
$95.00 see fee chart Jurisdiction (State)
Applicants who qualify by education or experience and $95.00 see fee chart

have passed a certifying examination. Applicants who are certified in another state, have practiced
dental assisting for three years, and one of those years of
practice was within the three years immediately

preceding the date of this application.

Fee Waiver:
If you meet one of the following fee waivers, your initial license and temporary license fee js waived. Check only ONE waiver:
O Young Worker: | am under 26 years old.
O Low-income Individual:
3 | am enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, including, but not limited to, the medical assistance program established
pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, or the federal Temporary Assistance for
Needy Families program; OR
3 My household adjusted gross income is below 130% of the federal income poverty guideline.
O Military Family: | am an active duty service member in the armed services of the United States, a military spouse, honorably discharged veteran
of the armed services of the United States, spouse of such honorably discharged veteran, and un-remarried surviving spouses of deceased
service members of the armed services of the United States.

SECTION A — PERSONAL INFORMATION (All applicants must complete this section)
Items 1-2 are displayed on the internet. https://www.nebraska.gov/LISSearch/search.cqi

NOTE: To expedite communication, any notifications will be sent to the e-mail address you provide. If no e-mail address is provided,
notification will be sent to the mailing address you provide. If you change either your e-mail or mailing address, you must advise this
office.

1 Legal First: Middle/MI: Last:
Name

Maiden: Other Names you are or have been known as (AKA):

2 Mailing Street/PO/Route:

Address
City: State or Country: Zip:
3 Date of Month/Day/Year: Place of Birth (City/State or Country):
Birth

4 Check the appropriate box(es) [0 Social Security Number:
and give the number
requested. [0 Alien Registration Number (“A#"):
If you have both a SSN and an

A# or 1-94 number, you must
report both. O Form I-94 Number:

Nebraska Revised Statute 38-123 mandates disclosure of your social security number to DHHS. Although your number is not
public information, DHHS may disclose it for child support enforcement purposes and to the Nebraska Department of Revenue.

5 E-Mail address: Phone number:
(optional) (optional)
OFFICE USE ONLY
Verified
CDA by Date NDEN Checked by Date BOARD Yes No
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SECTION B — CONVICTION AND LICENSURE INFORMATION (All applicants must complete this section)

submission of initial information

Failure to list any conviction(s) or disciplinary action(s), regardless of when the action occurred, could result in
disciplinary action. Answer the following questions either yes or no by placing a (v') in the appropriate box. All ‘yes’
responses MUST be explained in detail. Additional documentation may be requested by the Board/Department after

CONVICTION INFORMATION: You must list ALL misdemeanor or felony convictions (regardless of when they occurred).

Have you EVER been
convicted of a
misdemeanor or felony?

1 Name of Conviction

Date of Action

Name of Court Taking
Action

Yes[] No [

The following provides SOME examples of convictions; this is NOT a complete list

MIP/ Tobacco Use by Minor

DUI / DWI

Controlled Substance

Open Container

Shoplifting / Theft / Burglary

Unauthorized use of a Financial Transaction
Disturbing the Peace

Assault / Prostitution

Disorderly Conduct / Disorderly House
Reckless Driving

Driving under Suspension / Revocation
License Vehicle without Liability Insurance
Fail to Appear in Court

False Information or Reporting

Leave the Scene of an Accident

Operator not Carrying License

Unlawful Display of Plates/Renewal tabs
Park Rule Violation / Curfew Violation

Dog at Large / Fail to Vaccinate Animal
Littering / Fireworks / Bad Check

LICENSE INFORMATION: The following questions relate to a license that you currently hold or have held in a state other than

Nebraska.

1 | Do you hold or have you held a license in

any other state(s)?

=
If yes, what state(s)? What type of license?

License Number

Yes[] No []

If YES, has your license ever been denied,
refused renewal, limited, suspended,
revoked or had other disciplinary measures
taken against it?

Type of Action Date of Action

Name of State Taking Action

Yes [] No []
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SECTION C - Education/Experience

DIPLOMA (All applicants must complete this section)
Proof showing graduation/completion of high school (or its equivalent) must be provided to our office.

Name of School:
Accredited High
School (or Equivalent
Agency) Attended

Date of Graduation: City: State:

EDUCATION APPLICANTS ONLY: An individual applying for licensure by education must have a certified transcript showing
graduation date sent directly from the accredited dental assistant program/college/school to our office.

Name:
Accredited Dental Assistant
Program/College/School
Attended

Date of Graduation: City: State:

EXPERIENCE APPLICANTS ONLY: An individual applying for licensure by experience must answer the following questions and
submit the required documentation. You may submit proof of employment on an employment verification form (see page 9) or a
letter from your employer on their letterhead stating the beginning and ending dates of employment, approximate number of hours
worked per week, and duties performed.

YES NO

Have you been actively engaged as a dental assistant for at least one thousand five hundred (1,500) hours
within the five (5) years immediately preceding the date of this application?

SECTION D — EXAMINATION (All applicants must complete this section)

| have taken the Certification Exam for Dental YES NO Date CDA exam was taken (Month/Year):
1 Assistants (CDA) offered by the Dental Assisting
National Board (DANB).

YES NO

2 I have taken the Nebraska jurisprudence exam and passed it with a score of 75% or greater.

If no, List what practical examinations, locations and dates that you have failed on two occasions:
Please note that if you failed on two occasions you are required to complete a remedial course in dental assisting approved by the
Board before the Department will consider the results of the third examination as valid.

Examination Location Date
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SECTION E — RECIPROCITY APPLICANTS ONLY: An individual applying for licensure by reciprocity must answer the
following questions and submit the required documentation. You may submit proof of employment on an employment verification
form or a letter from your employer on their letterhead stating the beginning and ending dates of employment, approximate number
of hours worked per week, and duties performed.

1 | Have you been actively engaged as a dental assistant for at least three (3) years? YIE:|S %
, | Was at least one (1) of the years within the three (3) years immediately preceding the date of this YES NO
application? ] —d

SECTION F — PRACTICE PRIOR TO CREDENTIAL (All applicants must complete this section)
An individual who practices prior to issuance of a credential is subject to assessment of an Administrative Penalty of $10 per day up
to $1,000 or such other action as provided in the statutes and regulations governing the credential.

1 Have you performed functions as a licensed dental assistant dental assistant in Nebraska after January 1, YES NO
2018, and before submitting this application? ] |:|
Name of Business:
If yes, what are the actual number of days you practiced in
2 | Nebraska and what is the business name, location, and City:
telephone number of the practice?
Telephone Number: Number of Days:

SECTION G - ATTESTATION

For the purpose of complying with Neb. Rev. Stat. §884-108 through 4-114 and 38-129 (check ONE of the boxes below):

| attest that:

D I am a citizen of the United States.
OR

[l r1ama qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act.

D I am a nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States.

[ check this box if you are NOT a citizen of the United States, a nonimmigrant, nor a qualified alien under the
Federal Immigration and Nationality Act.

Application Attestation and Signature: | attest that:

1. | have read the application or have had the application read to me; and
2. All statements on this application are true and complete.

Print Name:
Signature: Date:
Contact Information:
Telephone: 402-471-2118
Email: DHHS.medicaloffice@nebraska.gov
Mailing Address: Physical Address:
DHHS, Division of Public Health DHHS, Division of Public Health
Licensure Unit — 15t Floor Licensure Unit- 15t Floor
P.O. Box 94986 301 Centennial Mall South,
Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986 Lincoln, Nebraska 68508
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State of Nebraska, Department of Health and Human Services
Division of Public Health, Licensure Unit
301 Centennial Mall South, PO Box 94986
Lincoln NE 68509-4986 (402) 471-2118

Dental Assistant Experience Verification

To qualify by work experience for a dental assistant license, the applicant must have completed at least 1,500
hours of experience as a chairside dental assistant within the five years prior to the date on the application for
licensure. You may submit multiple experience verification forms or letters from more than one dentist.
Verification forms or letters verifying experience must be signed by the supervising licensed dentist where
clinical experience as a dental assistant occurred. Letters must be on dental office letterhead and include the
dentist’'s name, the month, day, and year the assistant began and ended employment, the number of hours
worked, and that the assistant worked as a chairside dental assistant.

Name of Applicant:

Name of Dental Office:

Street Address of Dental Office:

Month/Day/Year Month/Day/Year
Dates of employment: From to

Total Hours worked during the above timeframe providing chairside dental assistance to licensed dentist:

Total hours

Print Name of Supervising Licensed Dentist

Bottom half to be completed by supervising licensed dentist

| verify that, to the best of my knowledge, this applicant’s information regarding work experience (and is demonstrated by
office employment, scheduling, and/or treatment records) while under my supervision and that the duties performed while
employed were comprised of those specified for a dental auxiliary in regulations 172 Chapter 53 which were effective as
of March 4, 1998 (https://www.sos.ne.gov/rules-and-regs/regsearch/Rules/Health_and Human_Services System/
Title-172/Chapter-053.pdf):

Signature: Date:
Supervising Licensed Dentist

Print Name: Dental License Number:

Phone Number: Alternate Phone Number (optional):

Name of Alternate Office Contact Name (optional):

Pages 8 of 8


https://www.sos.ne.gov/rules-and-regs/regsearch/Rules/Health_and_Human_Services_System/Title-172/Chapter-053.pdf
https://www.sos.ne.gov/rules-and-regs/regsearch/Rules/Health_and_Human_Services_System/Title-172/Chapter-053.pdf

	First: 
	MiddleMI: 
	Last: 
	Maiden: 
	Other Names you are or have been known as AKA: 
	StreetPORoute: 
	City: 
	State or Country: 
	Zip: 
	MonthDayYear: 
	Place of Birth CityState or Country: 
	Form 194 Number: 
	optional EMail address: 
	optional Phone number: 
	Social Security Number: 
	Alien Registration Number A: 
	Textfield-13: 
	Textfield-14: 
	Textfield-15: 
	Textfield-16: 
	Textfield-17: 
	Textfield-18: 
	Textfield-19: 
	Textfield-20: 
	Textfield-21: 
	Textfield-22: 
	Textfield-23: 
	Textfield-24: 
	Textfield-25: 
	Textfield-26: 
	Textfield-27: 
	Textfield-28: 
	Textfield-29: 
	Textfield-30: 
	Textfield-31: 
	Textfield-32: 
	Textfield-33: 
	Textfield-34: 
	Textfield-35: 
	Textfield-36: 
	Textfield-37: 
	Textfield-38: 
	Textfield-39: 
	Type of Action: 
	Date of Action-0: 
	Name of State Taking Action: 
	Name of School: 
	Date of Graduation: 
	City-0: 
	State: 
	Name: 
	Date of Graduation-0: 
	City-1: 
	State-0: 
	Date CDA exam was taken MonthYear: 
	Examination: 
	Location: 
	Date: 
	Examination-0: 
	Location-0: 
	Date-0: 
	Examination-1: 
	Location-1: 
	Date-1: 
	Examination-2: 
	Location-2: 
	Date-2: 
	City-2: 
	Telephone Number: 
	Number of Days: 
	Print Name: 
	Date-3: 
	Name of Business: 
	Textfield-44: 
	Textfield-45: 
	Street Address of Dental Office: 
	MonthDayYear-0: 
	MonthDayYear-1: 
	Print Name of Supervising Licensed Dentist: 
	Textfield-46: 
	Date-4: 
	Print Name-0: 
	Dental License Number: 
	Phone Number: 
	Alternate Phone Number optional: 
	Name of Alternate Office Contact Name optional: 
	CheckBox1: Off
	CheckBox2: Off
	CheckBox3: Off
	CheckBox4: Off
	CheckBox5: Off
	CheckBox6: Off
	CheckBox7: Off
	CheckBox8: Off
	CheckBox9: Off
	CheckBox10: Off
	CheckBox11: Off
	CheckBox12: Off
	CheckBox13: Off
	CheckBox14: Off
	CheckBox15: Off
	CheckBox16: Off
	CheckBox21: Off
	CheckBox22: Off
	CheckBox23: Off
	CheckBox24: Off
	CheckBox25: Off
	CheckBox26: Off
	CheckBox27: Off
	CheckBox28: Off
	CheckBox29: Off
	CheckBox30: Off
	Check Box1: 
	0: 
	0: Off
	1: Off

	1: 
	0: Off
	1: Off


	Check Box2: 
	0: Off
	1: Off



