
NOTE:  In order for your application to be considered complete, all applicants MUST also submit a copy 
of the following documents:   
 
1.    Age:  Evidence of at least 19 years of age (i.e.:  driver’s license, birth certificate, marriage license, school 

transcript, US State ID card, Military ID, or similar documentation); 
2.    Citizenship, lawful permanent residence, and/or immigration status Information:  You must submit a copy 

of at least one of the following documents: 
(1) A U.S. Passport (unexpired or expired); 
(2) A birth certificate issued by a state, county, municipal authority or outlying possession of the United 

States bearing an official seal; 
(3) An American Indian Card (I-872); 
(4) A Certificate of Naturalization (N-550 or N-570); 
(5) A Certificate of Citizenship (N-560 or N-561); 
(6) Certification of Report of Birth (DS-1350); 
(7) A Consular Report of Birth Abroad of a Citizen of the United States of America (FS-240); 
(8) Certification of Birth Abroad (FS-545 or DS-1350); 
(9) A United States Citizen Identification Card (I-197 or I-179); 
(10) A Northern Mariana Card (I-873); 
(11) An Alien Registration Receipt Card (Form I-551, otherwise known as a “Green Card”); 
(12) An unexpired foreign passport with an unexpired Temporary I-551 stamp bearing the same name as the 

passport; 
(13) A document showing an Alien Registration Number (“A#”) with Visa Status; or 
(14) A Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) with Visa Status; 

3.    Education:  If you are a graduate from an accredited school/college/university must have submitted an 
official transcript or if you graduated from a non-accredited dental school/college/university the transcript must 
be translated (if applicable) and provide proof of at least 2 years of postgraduate education from an 
accredited dental education institution;  

4.    Examination:  Graduates of accredited dental programs must submit a completed Nebraska jurisprudence 
examination.  Graduates of non-accredited dental programs must have an official score report sent directly to 
our office from Joint Commission on National Board Dental Examination (JCNBDE) and complete the 
Nebraska jurisprudence examination.  

5.    Contract:  You must request a certification of employment as a full-time faculty member be submitted; 
6.    Conviction Information:  If you have been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor, you must submit:  

(1) A copy of the court record, which includes charges and disposition; 
(2) Explanation from the applicant of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a 

summary of actions you have taken to address the behaviors/actions related to the convictions; 
(3) All addiction/mental health evaluations and proof of treatment, if the conviction involved a drug and/or 

alcohol related offense and if treatment was obtained and/or required; and 
(4) A letter from the probation officer addressing probationary conditions and current status, if you are 

currently on probation;  
7.   Other Credentialing Info:  If you hold or have held a credential to provide health services, health-related 

services, or environmental services in another state or jurisdiction, you must have the licensing agency 
submit to the Department a certification of your credential; 

8.   Disciplinary Action:  If you have had any disciplinary actions taken against your credential, you must 
submit a copy of the disciplinary action(s), including charges and disposition; and 

9.    Fee:  The required fee. Please see fee chart below. 
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10.    Criminal Background Check:  Applicants must submit fingerprints to the Nebraska State Patrol.  The State 

Patrol will forward the results of the background check to our office.  Please read the following instructions 
carefully for this procedure. 

 
Any documents written in a language other than English must be accompanied by a complete translation into the English language.  The translation must be 
an original document and contain the notarized signature of the translator.  An individual may not translate his/her own documents. 



This form may be completed online and mailed to the address listed below.                                                                                                                              

  
 

DHHS - Licensure Unit 
P.O. Box 94986 
Lincoln NE  68509-4986 
Telephone #:  402-471-2118 
 

SECTION A - LICENSE APPLICATION CATEGORY and FEE (All applicants must complete this section) Check the category that apply. 
 

 Dental Faculty Licensure – Graduated from an Accredited Dental Program   
 Dental Faculty Licensure – Graduate of a Non-accredited Dental Program  

 
 
SECTION B – PERSONAL INFORMATION  (All applicants must complete this section) This section is public information and will be displayed on 
the INTERNET http://www.nebraska.gov/LISSearch/search.cgi  Items 1-2 are displayed on the internet. 

NOTE:  To expedite notification of any pending requirements, the notification will sent to your e-mail address or mailing address you provide.  
If you change your address, you must advise this office. 

1 Legal Name First: 
 

Middle/MI: Last: 

Maiden Name Name: Other Names you are known as (AKA): 
 

2 Mailing 
Address 

Street/PO/Route: 
 
City: 
 

State or Country: Zip: 
 

3 Date of Birth: Month/Day/Year: 
 

Place of Birth: City/State or Country:  City/State or Country: 

4 Check the 
Appropriate 
Box(s):   

  Social Security Number (SSN);  
  Alien Registration Number (“A#”); or  
  Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) number: 

 
If you have both a SSN and an A# or I-94 number, you 
must report both. 

SSN#: 

A#: 

I-94 #: 

Social Security Numbers obtained are not public information but may be shared by the Department for administrative purposes if 
necessary and only under appropriate circumstances to ensure against any unauthorized access to this information. 

5 Phone #: 
(optional) 

 Fax #: 
(optional) 

 

6 E-Mail Address: 
(optional) 

 

 
SECTION C –LICENSURE INFORMATION  (All applicants must complete this section)  Direct source verification/certification of any dental license that 
you hold or have held is required.  You will need to request that each state or jurisdiction sends a verification/certification of your license directly to our 
office. 
1 Have you ever been licensed as a dentist in another state or jurisdiction? 

                                                                                                                                                           
YES NO 

List all other states, jurisdictions, or territories of the U.S. where you have been or are currently licensed, including license number, issue date, 
and expiration date. 

State License # Issue Date Expiration Date 

    
    
    

Revised 08/2016 
 
 
 
 

NDEN Yes__ No___   NSP CBC Yes__ No___ 

AADE Yes__ No___   FBI REC Yes__ No___ 

NPDB Yes__ No___   BOARD Yes__ No___ 

APPLICATION FOR A LICENSE TO PRACTICE DENTISTRY 
FACULTY LICENSE 

(Please print or type application) 

Fee (includes the LAP Fee): 
$165.00 

#_________  
 
 
Date:__________  
 

http://www.nebraska.gov/LISSearch/search.cgi
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SECTION D – CONVICTION AND LICENSURE INFORMATION  (All applicants must complete this section)   
Failure to disclose any such conviction or disciplinary action, regardless of when the action occurred, could result in disciplinary action, 
including, but not limited to, payment of a civil penalty.

 If you have any criminal charges or license disciplinary actions pending that results in conviction or license discipline, you are required to 
report such actions to the Investigations Unit within 30 days http://dhhs.ne.gov/Investigations or by telephone at 402-471-0175. 

Answer each of the following questions by placing a () in the appropriate box (yes or no) and completing the information requested.  All ‘yes’ responses 
MUST be explained in detail and you must submit the requested documentation and you may attach a separate page if needed. 

The following questions relate to any credential that you hold or have held in health services, health-related services or environmental services in another 
jurisdiction. 
1 Have you ever had any disciplinary or adverse action imposed against a professional license or permit in any state or 

jurisdiction? 
YES NO 

2 Have you ever voluntarily surrendered or voluntarily limited in any way a license or permit issued to you by a 
licensing or disciplinary authority? 

YES NO 

3 Have you ever been requested to appear before any licensing agency? YES NO 

4 Have you ever been notified of any charges, complaints or other actions filed against you by any licensing or 
disciplinary authority?

YES NO 

5 Are you aware of any pending disciplinary actions or of any on-going investigations of a complaint against your 
license or permit in any jurisdiction?       

YES NO 

6 Have you ever been asked to and/or permitted to withdraw an application for licensure or permit with any Board or 
jurisdiction?

YES NO 

7 Has any state or jurisdiction refused to issue, refused to renew or denied you a license or permit to practice? YES NO 

8 Are you currently, or have you ever been, addicted to, dependent upon or chronically impaired by alcohol, narcotics, 
barbiturates, or other drugs which may cause physical and/or psychological dependence? 

YES NO 

9 Within the past 5 years, have you received any therapy/treatment or been admitted to any hospital or other in-patient 
care facility for reasons relating to your use/abuse of alcohol, narcotics, barbiturates, or other drugs? 

YES NO 

10 Do you currently, or have you ever had, any physical, mental, or emotional condition which impaired, or does impair 
your ability to practice your health care profession safely and competently? 

YES NO 

11 Within the past 5 years, has any licensing agency or credentialing organization initiated any inquiry into your 
physical, mental or emotional health? 

YES NO 

12 Have you ever been restricted, suspended, terminated, requested to voluntarily resign, place on probation, 
counseled, received a warning or been subject to any remedial or disciplinary action during dental school or 
postgraduate training? 

YES NO 

13 Have you ever had hospital or institutional privileges denied, reduced, restricted, suspended, revoked, terminated or 
placed on probation? 

YES NO 

14 Have you ever been requested to voluntarily resign or suspend hospital or institutional privileges while under 
investigation from a hospital, clinic, institution, or other dental related employment? 

YES NO 

15 Have you ever been notified that any action against your hospital or institutional privileges is pending or proposed? YES NO 

16 Have you ever been allowed to withdraw your staff privileges from a hospital or institution? YES NO 

17 Have you ever been subject to staff disciplinary action or non-renewal of an employment contract? YES NO 

18 Have you ever been convicted of a felony?
Failure to disclose any such convictions regardless of when the conviction occurred could result in 
disciplinary action, including but not limited to a minimum of $500 civil fine.     

YES NO 

19 Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor?
Failure to disclose any such convictions regardless of when the conviction occurred could result in 
disciplinary action, including but not limited to a minimum of $500 civil fine. 

YES NO 

20 Have you ever been notified of any charges, complaints or other actions filed against you by any criminal prosecution 
authority? 

YES NO 

21 Have you ever been denied a Federal Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) Registration or state controlled 
substances registration? 

YES NO 

22 Have you ever been called before any licensing agency or lawful authority concerned with DEA controlled 
substances? 

YES NO 

23 Have you ever surrendered your state or federal controlled substances registration? YES NO 

24 Have you ever had your state or federal controlled substances registration restricted or disciplined in any way? YES NO 

25 Have you ever been notified of any professional liability claim that resulted in an adverse judgment, settlement, or 
award, including settlements made prior to suit in which the patient releases any professional liability claim against 
the applicant? 

YES NO 

26 Are you aware of any professional liability claims currently pending against you? YES NO 

PLEASE NOTE:  There is a separate application for anesthesia permits are available on our website at the following address: 

Separate anesthesia permits are required at each location you will be administering anesthesia. 

Revised 8/2016 

http://dhhs.ne.gov/pages/Investigations.aspx
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SECTION E - EDUCATION (All applicants must complete this section) A certified transcript showing graduation from your college/school of dentistry or 
a translated (if applicable) verification of graduation from a non-accredited dental college must be sent directly to our office.  
College/School of Dentistry 
Attended: 

Name: 
 

School Address: Street/PO/Route: 
 
City: 
 

State: 
 

Zip: 
 

Date of Graduation: Date: 
 

Degree: 

Graduates from a non-accredited dental college/school are required to provide proof of completing at least two years of postgraduate education at an 
accredited dental education institution.  Proof should be sent directly from the accredited dental education institution directly to our office. 

Name and location of Institution Name of Internship/Residency/Fellowship Dates Attended 

   
   
   
   

 

 

SECTION F - EXAMINATION AND CONTRACT INFORMATION (All applicants must complete this section)  
 I have taken the examination given by the Joint Commission on National Board Dental Examinations and requested that an official copy of 

my score report to be sent to your office directly. 
 I have completed and submitted the Nebraska jurisprudence examination. 
 I have requested a Faculty Certification Form to be submitted directly to the Department from the dean of an accredited dental education 

institution within the State of Nebraska stating that you have a contract to be employed as a full-time faculty member. 
 

 
SECTION G – Controlled Substances Registration:  (check one of the following) 
 

1  I have enclosed a photocopy of my current Federal Controlled Substances Registration.                                    
Federal Controlled Substances Registration #: Expiration Date: 

 
2              I am currently applying for a Federal Controlled Substances Registration, and will send a photocopy of such when I receive the 

registration. 
3  I do not have nor am I applying for a Federal Controlled Substances Registration and I will not be prescribing, administering or 

dispensing controlled substances in Nebraska.  I understand that at such time that I do intend to prescribe, administer or dispense 
controlled substances in Nebraska, I will first need to have a Federal Controlled Substances Registration issued to me.  At that time, 
I am to supply a photocopy of the registration to the State of Nebraska. 

 
SECTION H – PRACTICE PRIOR TO CREDENTIAL   

An individual who practices prior to issuance of a credential is subject to assessment of an Administrative Penalty of $10 per day up to $1,000, or such 
other action as provided in the statutes and regulations governing the credential. 
1 I have practiced dentistry in Nebraska before submitting the 

application? 
YES NO 

2 If yes, what are the actual number of days you practiced in 
Nebraska and what is the business name, location and telephone 
number of the practice:   

 
# of days:  _______________ 
 
 
Name of Business: 
 
City: 
 
Telephone #: 
 

 
Revised 8/2016 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 
 

Dental Faculty Application 
Page 4 

 
SECTION I - ATTESTATION    

 
Lawful Presence in the United States Attestation:   

For the purpose of complying with Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-129, I attest as follows (please check ONLY ONE of the boxes below): 
 I am a citizen of the United States; or 
 I am an alien lawfully admitted into the United States who is eligible for a credential under the Uniform Credentialing Act; or 
 I am a non-immigrant lawfully present in the United States who is eligible for a credential under the Uniform Credentialing Act. 

 
Alien or Non-immigrant Status:  If you are a qualified alien lawfully admitted into the United States OR a non-immigrant lawfully 
present in the United States, you must submit evidence of lawful presence which may include a copy of: 
1. A “Green Card” otherwise known as a Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551), both front and back of the card; or 
2. An unexpired foreign passport with an unexpired Temporary I-551 stamp bearing the same name as the passport; or 
3. A document showing an Alien Registration Number (“A#”) - an Employment Authorization Card/Document is NOT acceptable; or 
4. A Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record). 
I hereby attest that my response and the information provided on this form and any related application for public benefits are true, 
complete and accurate and I understand that this information may be used to verify my lawful presence in the United States.  
 

Criminal Background Check Notification:  Pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-131, an applicant for an initial license to practice a 
profession which is authorized to prescribe controlled substances shall be subject to a criminal background check.  I understand that I 
am able to receive any national criminal history record that may pertain to me directly from the FBI, pursuant to 28 CFR Sections 16.30-
16.34, and that I could then freely disclose any such information to whomever I choose.  By signing this application, it is my intent to 
authorize the dissemination of any national criminal history record that may pertain to me to the Department of Health and Human 
Services (DHHS) with whom I am applying for licensure.  I understand that I am entitled to challenge the accuracy and completeness of 
any information contained in any such report, and that you will provide me a copy of the criminal history background report, if any, you 
receive on me if I appear at the DHHS in person and present proper identification.  Information on how to challenge your federal report 
can be found at FBI.gov.  To challenge your Nebraska state record, contact the Nebraska State Patrol-Criminal Identification Division.  I 
may obtain a prompt determination as to the validity of my challenge before you make a final decision about my application for 
licensure. 
 

Application Attestation:  I further attest that:   
 

1. I have read the application or have had the application read to me;   
2. All statements on the application are true and complete;  
3. I am of good character; and 
4. I have not committed any act that would be grounds for denial under Neb. Rev. Stat. §§38-178 and/or 38-179.  If you have 

committed an act(s), you must provide an explanation of all such act(s).  
 

 
Print Name:  ______________________________________________________________ 
 
Signature:     ______________________________________________________________           Date:  _____________________ 
 

Revised 8/2016 
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