
Dialysis Patient Care Technician 

FAQ’s 

 

Q. What are the requirements to be a Registered Dialysis Patient Care Technician in Nebraska? 

A. To be active on the State of Nebraska Dialysis Patient Care Technician (DPCT) 

Registry you must meet the following requirements: 

 You must be 19 years of age or older 

 Meet citizenship/Lawful Presence requirements 

 Have a High School diploma or GED 

 Be enrolled in or have successfully completed approved DPCT training in work 

setting under the direction of a registered nurse. 

 Successfully complete an approved National Certification Examination within 18 

months of hire. 

(Posted 1/3/2019) 

Q. Can I register if I am 18 years old? 

A. No. The Uniform Credentialing Act states you must be at least 19 years old to 

practice as a Dialysis Patient Care Technician. 

 (Posted 1/3/2019) 

Q. How do I become a Registered Dialysis Patient Care Technician in Nebraska? 

A. Complete the application. Submit all required documents. Include the $95 application 

fee. Mail it to Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS). The 

application process may take up to 30 days once a complete application is received.  

(Posted 1/3/2019) 

Q. Can I perform the duties of a Dialysis Patient Care Technician before I am active on the 

Registry? 

A. No. You need to be ACTIVE on the Dialysis Patient Care Technician Registry prior to 

performing any duties or activities as a Dialysis Patient Care Technician. If you practice 

as a DPCT and you are not ACTIVE on the Registry you may be fined. 

(Posted 1/3/2019) 

Q: I was recently hired and have not completed my worksite training. At what point do I submit 
my application to the registry? 
 

A. We suggest you submit your application as soon as you are hired as a Dialysis 
Patient Care Technician. You must be active on the registry in order to complete a 
portion of your worksite training. Any training involving performing duties or activities 
as a Dialysis Patient Care Technician requires you to be active on the registry. 



 
(Posted 1/3/2019) 
 

Q. I have completed the DCPT worksite training. I have not yet received my national 
certification. May I perform dialysis patient care technician activities while waiting to receive my 
national certification? 
 

A. Yes, if your application has been approved and you are active on the registry. You 

need to submit an application and wait to be issued a registration number prior to 

preforming duties of a DPCT. You then must submit to DHHS your national 

certification within 18 months of your hire date to remain active.  

(Posted 1/3/2019) 

Q. I’ve submitted my application. When will I become active on the Dialysis Patient Care 

Technician Registry? 

A. It may take 30 days to become active once we receive your complete application. If 

there are forms missing or further information is needed this will delay the process. 

 (Posted 1/3/2019) 

Q. I have a criminal conviction. Am I eligible to apply for a dialysis technician credential? 

A. Yes, you may apply and must submit the complete court case for review.  

(Posted 1/3/2019) 

Q. If I have a criminal conviction what additional information do I need to submit with my 

application? 

A. You must submit: 

 A copy of the entire court record related to all misdemeanor and felony 

convictions 

 Your explanation of the events leading to the conviction. Include a summary of 

actions you have taken to address the behaviors/actions related to the conviction 

 If you are currently on probation, a letter from your probation officer addressing 

the terms and current status of your probation. 

***NOTE: The registry evaluates drug and/or alcohol conviction(s). Submit all 

evaluation/discharge summaries where drug and/or alcohol treatment was obtained. 

Evaluations/discharge summaries must be submitted by the provider directly to the 

registry. 

(Posted 1/3/2019) 

 
Q. I am a Dialysis Technician in another state. How can I become credentialed as a Nebraska 
Dialysis Patient Care Technician? 
 



A. You need to submit an application and all requested documents. In addition you must 
contact the other state and request a verification of your credentials. Do not send a 
copy of your license/certification/registration.  

(Posted 1/3/2019) 

Q. I am a contract/traveling/float DPCT that resides out of state but occasionally work in 

Nebraska on assignments. Am I required to register? 

A. Yes. If you’re going to practice in Nebraska you must be active on the Nebraska 

Registry. 

(Posted 1/3/2019) 

Q. Can my employer verify my credential on your website? 

A.  Yes. Online verification can be obtained at: Dialysis Patient Care Technician 

Registry 

(Posted 1/3/2019) 

Q. Can you send me or my employer a copy (re-print) of my credential? 

A. The registry does not mail Dialysis Patient Care Technician (DPCT) credentials.   

Credentials are available to print online at: Dialysis Patient Care Technician Registry 

(Posted 1/3/2019) 

Q. Where can I obtain a copy of the State of Nebraska Dialysis Patient Care Technician Act? 

A. Following is a link to the statute:  

http://dhhs.ne.gov//Licensure/Documents/DialysisPtCareTechRegistrationAct.pdf 

(Posted 1/3/2019) 

Q. How do I report a change of address? 

A. Here is the link to our online address change form.   https://nebraska.mylicense.com/ 

(Posted 1/3/2019) 

Q. How do I submit a name change? 

A. If you have a name change please download this form and follow the directions on 

the form. (Must be submitted with proof of name change)  

Name change Form 

(Posted 1/3/2019) 
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