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Department of Health and Human Services 
Division of Public Health - Licensure Unit 
P.O. Box 94986 - Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986 

Telephone #: 402-471-2299 Please print or type application 

Reinstatement application fee 
All licenses expire December 31, of every even year. Prorated fee: If your license is reinstated within 180 days 
of the expiration date of December 31 of even-numbered years, the fee is prorated and is $64. Make your 
check payable to Licensure Unit. 

Year Jan Feb Mar Apr May June July Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec 

Even $151 $151 $151 $151 $151 $151 $64 $64 $64 $64 $64 $64 

Odd $151 $151 $151 $151 $151 $151 $151 $151 $151 $151 $151 $151 

SECTION A - Personal Information: (All applicants must complete this section). This section is public information 

and will be displayed on the INTERNET https://www.dhhs.ne.gov/lookup. 

NOTE: All mailings from this office will be sent to the address you indicate below – If you change your address, 

you must advise this office. 
1 Legal 

Name: 
First: Middle/MI: Last: 

Maiden 
Name 

Name: Other names you are known as (AKA) 

2 Present 
Address 

Street/Box/Route: 

City: State: Zip: 

3 State Certification Number: 

SECTION B - Additional information requested. This will NOT be displayed on the internet. 

4 Check the 

Appropriate 

Box(s): 

Social Security Number (SSN); 

Alien Registration Number (“A#”); or 

Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) number 

SSN# 

A# 

I-94#

If you have both a SSN and an A# or I-94 number, you must report both. 

Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-123 mandates disclosure of your social security number to DHHS. Although your number is not 

public information, DHHS may disclose it for child support enforcement purposes and to the Nebraska Department of 

Revenue. 

5 ** Phone #: ** Fax # 
(optional) 

** E-Mail 
Address: 

Revised:  03/05/2021 
Attachment A 

APPLICATION FOR REINSTATEMENT TO PRACTICE AS A REGISTERED ENVIRONMENTAL 

HEALTH SPECIALIST 
(Revoked, Expired, Placed on Inactive Status, Lapsed, or Voluntary Surrender without Disciplinary Action) 

https://www.dhhs.ne.gov/lookup


□ 

SECTION C – Conviction and Licensure Information (all applicants must complete this section). Failure to 

disclose any such conviction or disciplinary action could result in disciplinary action, regardless of when the action 

occurred, including, but not limited to, payment of a civil penalty. 

Please answer each of the following q 
renewed. Answer each of the following q 
completing the information requested. All 
documentation 

uestio 
uestio 

‘yes’ r 

ns with regard to the time period since your certificate was last 
ns by placing a check mark in the appropriate box (yes or no) and 
esponses MUST be explained in detail and you must submit the requested 

# Question Yes No 
Type of Crime or Licensure 

Action 
Date of Action 

Name of Court/Entity 
Taking action 

1 
Have you ever been 
convicted of a 
misdemeanor or 
felony in any 
jurisdiction(s)? 

If you answered YES to the question above, you must request the following documents be sent directly to this office: 

• A list of any misdemeanor or felony convictions;

• A copy of the Court Record, which includes charges and proof of completion:

• Explanation from the applicant of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of
actions you have taken to address the behaviors/actions related to the convictions;

• All addiction/mental health evaluations and proof of treatment, if the conviction involved a drug and/or alcohol related
offense and if treatment was obtained and/or required;

• A letter from the probation officer addressing probationary conditions and current status, if you are currently on
probation;

The following questions relate to a credential that you hold or have held in health services, health related service 

 or environmental services in Nebraska or another jurisdiction.
Yes No 

2 Are you or have you 
been credentialed in 
any state or 
jurisdiction? 
(Current, inactive or 

Expired credentials 

must be listed) 

If yes, what jurisdiction(s) are 
you credentialed in? 

What type of credential do you hold? 

3 Has any credential 
ever been denied, 
refused renewal, 
limited, suspended, 
revoked or had other 
disciplinary 
measures taken 
against it? 

Type of Credential Action Date of Action Name of Entity 
taking Action 

If you answered YES to any of the questions above, you must request the following documents be sent directly to this 
office: 

• Certification of your credential in another jurisdiction(s)

• Official Documents from the State Board in which the disciplinary action was taken



___ 

SECTION D – Practice Prior to Reinstatement: An individual who practices p ri or to reinstatement of a credential is 
subject to assessment of an Administrative Penalty of $10 per day up to $1,000, o 
statutes and regulations governing the credential. 

r such other action as provided in the 

1 
Have you practiced as a Registered Environmental Specialist in Nebraska 
since your certificate was expired, on inactive status or following voluntary 
surrender? 

Yes No 

2 If yes, what are the actual number of days you practiced in Nebraska and 
what is the business name, location and telephone number of the 
practice? 

# of days: 

Name of business: 

City: 

CONTINUING COMPETENCY REQUIREMENTS: You must have completed 24 hours of approved continuing 
education within the preceding 24 months for Reinstatement of your certificate. The Nebraska Board of Registration for 
Environmental Health Specialists will only accept continuing education credits which meet the criteria for continuing 
education programs as outlined in Section 005 of Title 172 Chapter 168 – Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Environmental Health Specialists 

CONTINUING COMPETENCY WAIVER: If you have not completed the continuing competency requirement and wish to apply 
for a waiver of the continuing competency requirement of twenty (24) hours of continuing education, please submit the 
documentation required for the waiver you check below. 

_____I AM REQUESTING A WAIVER of continuing education hours. Check applicable reason(s) for waiver below: 

I have served in the regular armed forces of the United States during part of the twenty-four (24) months preceding 
the licensure renewal date and request both my continuing education requirements and renewal fee be waived. 
(You MUST provide official documentation of armed forces service, such as active duty orders or a letter from your 
immediate superior officer.) 

I was first registered within the twenty-four (24) months immediately preceding the registration renewal 
date. Date of issuance of registration:

I have suffered a serious or disabling illness or physical disability during the credentialing period immediately 
preceding the renewal date, which prevented completion of the continuing competency requirements. (Attach a 
statement from treating physician(s) stating that you were injured or ill, the duration of the illness or injury and of the 
recovery period, and that you were unable to attend continuing education programs during that period.) 

I was not able to complete my continuing education requirement due to circumstances beyond my control. (You 
must submit documentation to support this waiver request.) 

SECTION E - CONTINUING COMPETENCY – REGISTERED ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH SPECIALISTS 



– ATTESTATION

Lawful Presence in the United States Attestation: For the purpose of complying with Neb. Rev. Stat. §§38-129 

I attest as follows: 

Please check the appropriate box(s) below: 

I am a citizen of the United States 

I am an alien lawfully admitted into the United State who is eligible for a credential under the Uniform 
Credentialing Act 

I am a non-immigrant lawfully present in the United States who is eligible for a credential under the Uniform 
Credentialing Act 

Alien or Non-immigrant Status: If you are NOT a citizen of the United States, you must submit evidence of lawful 
presence which may include a copy of: 

(1) A Green Card, otherwise known as An Alien Registration Receipt Card (Form I-551), both front and back of card
(2) An unexpired foreign passport with an unexpired Temporary I-551 stamp bearing the same name as the passport
(3) A document showing an Alien Registration Number (A#).  An Employment Card/Document is not acceptable; or

(4) A Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record);

Application Attestation: I further attest that: 

1. I have read the application or have had the application read to me;
2. All statements on the application are true and complete;
3. I am of good character; and
4. I have not committed any act that would be grounds for denial under 38-178 and/or 38-179. If you have committed an

act(s), you must provide an explanation of all such act(s).
5. I have completed 24 hours of acceptable continuing education within the preceding 24 months pursuant to

172 NAC 168-005 or requested a continued competency waiver.

Print Name: 

Signature: Date:  

NOTE: 

If an applicant has practiced while his/her credential was expired, inactive, or voluntarily surrendered, the Department may, with 
the recommendation of the Board, take one or more of the following actions: 

1. Assess an administrative penalty, in which case a separate notice of opportunity for hearing will be sent to the
applicant;

2. Deny the application to reinstate the credential;
3. Reinstate the credential to active status and impose limitation(s) or other disciplinary actions on the credential;

and/or
4. Reinstate the credential.

If an applicant has committed any other violation of the statutes and regulations governing the credential, the Department may: 

1. Deny the application for reinstatement of the credential;
2. Reinstate the credential to active status and impose limitation(s) or other disciplinary actions on the credential;

and/or
3. Reinstate the credential.

The Department will act within 150 days on all completed applications. The Department’s decision may be appealed to the 
Director by any party to the decision. The appeal must be in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. 
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