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Application Information 

Nebraska Nursing License 

Endorsement 

 

 

Registered Nurse (RN) or Licensed Practice Nurse (LPN) License by Endorsement. 
 

Use this Endorsement Application if you have been issued a nursing license in another state and you are applying for 
your first Nebraska license.  (If you have an expired or inactive Nebraska license, use the reinstatement application.) 
 
Eligibility - To qualify for a license by endorsement, you must: 

 Be licensed in another state. 

 Have graduated from an approved nursing program. 

 Have passed an approved examination (NCLEX, SBTPE, or the Canadian Nurses Association licensure exam)  

 Have met one of the following continuing competency requirements: 

o Practiced nursing for at least 500 hours within the previous 5 years, 

o Graduated from an approved nursing program within the previous 5 years,  

o Completed a Board-approved refresher course within the previous 5 years. 

 Be a U.S. Citizen, a legal U.S. immigrant, or be able to live and/or work in the U.S. lawfully. 

 If your legal state of residence belongs to the Nurse Licensure Compact, you need either to 1) be in the process 
of moving to Nebraska or a non-Compact state or 2) be ineligible for a multistate license. 

 Have passed an English-language proficiency exam if you are from a non-English speaking jurisdiction and have 
been working in a non-English speaking setting in the past two years. 

 Have transcripts evaluated by an approved Credentials Evaluation Service if you did not graduate from a U.S. or 
Canadian nursing program. 

 
Temporary License.  If you have an active license in another state, you may be issued a temporary license prior to 
completion of all application requirements.  Temporary licenses are valid for 60 days or until the expiration of your other 
state license, whichever occurs first.  Additional considerations are available for spouses of active duty military members 
stationed in Nebraska. 

 
 
License Fee Waiver:  The application fee for an initial license will be waived if you meet one of the following waiver options. 

(You must still pay for the criminal background check.) 
  

1.  Young Worker:   You are between the ages of 18 and 25 (under the age of 26). 
 
2. Low-Income Individual:  You are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program such as the medical 

assistance program established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition 
Assistance Program (SNAP), or the federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program, OR your 
household adjusted gross income is below 130% of the federal income poverty guideline.  The current income 
guidelines can be found at https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/documents/LowIncomeFeeWaiverTable.pdf. 

 If you live in Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, no further 
documentation is required to be submitted. 

 If you live in a state other than Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, 
submit a copy of a document showing current enrollment. 

 If your household adjusted gross income is at 130% of the Federal Income Poverty Guideline submit a copy 
of your most recent tax return (Form 1040). 

 
3. Military Family:  You are an active duty service member in the armed services of the United States, a military 

spouse, honorably discharged veteran of the armed services of the United States, spouse of such honorably 
discharged veteran, or an un-remarried surviving spouse of a deceased service member of the armed services of 
the United States.  To be eligible for this waiver, you must submit a copy of your ID card, separation documents 
(DD 214), or similar document that shows you are a military family member as described above.   

 
 

https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/documents/LowIncomeFeeWaiverTable.pdf
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MILITARY:  To view licensing services available to members of the military and their spouses, visit our website at 
https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx  

 
Information Relating to Military Education, Training, or Service:  If you have completed education, training, or service 
that you believe is substantially similar to the education or training required for this credential while you were a member of 
the armed forces of the United States, active or reserve, the National Guard of any state, the military reserves of any state, 
or the naval militia of any state, you may submit such evidence with your application for review.   
 

 

Nurse Licensure Compact 

 

Nebraska belongs to the Nurse Licensure Compact.  States that belong to a compact issue two types of licenses: 
single-state and multistate.  A multistate license can be used to practice in other states that belong to the Compact as 
long as the nurse maintains residency in the state that issued the license. You must be a Nebraska resident and meet 
additional requirements to have a multistate license.  Go to https://www.ncsbn.org/nurse-licensure-compact.htm for 
information and a list of Compact states. 

 
 

 
REQUIRED DOCUMENTS 
 

Submit these items with your application: 

  Evidence of citizenship or lawful presence 

  Application fee (unless you qualify for a waiver) 

  Documentation of fee waiver eligibility (if applicable) 

  Conviction records (if applicable 

  Discipline records (if applicable) 

Request that these items be sent to our office: 

  Criminal background check 

  License verification(s).  

   English proficiency exam results (if applicable) 

  Transcript evaluation (for foreign graduates) 

 
 
Citizenship/Lawful Presence 
 

U.S. Citizens – Submit a photocopy of one of the following: 
 

 Birth certificate issued by a state, county, municipal authority or outlying possession of the United States 

bearing an official seal.  Hospital-issued birth certificates are not accepted. 

 U.S. Passport (unexpired or expired) 

 Certificate of Naturalization (N-550 or N-570) 

 Certificate of Citizenship (N-560 or N-561) 

 Certification of Report of Birth (DS-1350) 

 Consular Report of Birth Abroad of a Citizen of the United States of America (FS-240); 

 Certification of Birth Abroad (FS-545 or DS-1350); 

 United States Citizen Identification Card (I-197 or I-179) 

 Northern Mariana Card (I-873) 

 
Non-Citizens – Submit photocopies of documents listed for one of the following options: 
 

 Green card, also known as a Permanent Resident Card. (Copy both the front and back of the card.) 
 
 Visa and passport with an I-551 stamp. 

 

 Form I-94 and an unexpired foreign passport with a valid U.S. visa.  
 

 Employment Authorization Document (EAD) (cannot be expired) and at least one other document issued by 
USCIS or other government agency verifying your immigrant or non-immigrant status. Examples of 
acceptable documents include:  Form I-94, letter from USCIS indicating your current status, or a Form I-20 

 

Documents submitted by non-citizens will be verified through the Department of Homeland Security. The process can 
take 3-4 weeks.  

 
 
 
 

https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx
https://www.ncsbn.org/nurse-licensure-compact.htm
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Criminal Background Check – You need to submit fingerprints and a processing fee to the Nebraska State Patrol.  See 
attached instructions. 
 
 
License Verifications 
 

You must purchase a Nurse License Verification for Endorsement at www.nursys.com to verify any nursing license 
you have held in a state that participates in Nursys verifications.  For nursing licenses from states that do not 
participate in Nursys verifications or for non-nursing licenses, contact the issuing state to request that a verification be 
sent to Nebraska. 

 
 
Convictions 
 

The application includes a question about whether you have any misdemeanor or felony convictions.  You must 
answer “yes” if you have ever been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor. You must list all your misdemeanor and 
felony convictions.  It does not matter how long ago the conviction happened or whether or not you reported the 
conviction on a previous application. 
 

 
If you have misdemeanor or felony convictions, you must submit:  

 An explanation of the events leading to each conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of 
actions that you have taken to address the behaviors or actions related to the conviction; and  

 If the conviction(s) occurred in a state other than Nebraska, a copy of the court record including the 
statement of charges and final disposition. 

 If you are currently on probation, a letter from your probation officer addressing the terms and current 
status of the probation. 

 
If you had an alcohol and drug evaluation and/or completed treatment, to assist the Board and Department 
in review of any drug and/or alcohol conviction(s), we encourage you to request that the treatment provider submit 
all evaluations and discharge summaries directly to the Department.  
 

Examples of Common Misdemeanors 
This list is provided to help you identify misdemeanors that are sometimes mistaken for infractions. 

This is not a complete list! 

 

 MIP 
 DUI / DWI 
 Open Container 
 Tobacco Use by Minor 
 Shoplifting / Theft / Burglary 
 Unauthorized use of a Financial Transaction 
 Disturbing the Peace 
 Assault 
 Disorderly Conduct / Disorderly House 

 Reckless Driving 

 Driving under Suspension / Revocation 
 

 
 License Vehicle without Liability Insurance 
 Fail to Appear in Court 
 False Information or Reporting 
 Leave the Scene of an Accident 
 Operator not Carrying License 
 Unlawful Display of Plates/Renewal tabs 
 Park Rule Violation / Curfew Violation 
 Dog at Large / Fail to Vaccinate Animal 
 Littering 
 Fireworks 
 Bad Check 

 
 

NOTE: If you have any criminal charges or license disciplinary actions pending that result in a conviction or 
license discipline, you are required to report such action to the Investigative Unit within 30 days of the conviction or 
disciplinary action.  Reporting forms can be obtained at the following website: 

https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Investigations.aspx or by phone 402-471-0175. 
 
 
 

Discipline Records – If any disciplinary actions have been taken against your license in another state, submit a letter of 
explanation and a copy of the discipline order.   
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.nursys.com/
https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Investigations.aspx
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Transcript Evaluation – if you did not graduate from a U.S. or Canadian nursing program, submit an evaluation of your 

transcripts from one of the approved credentials evaluation services listed at https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Nurse-
Licensing-Foreign-Educated-Nurse-Information.aspx.   

 
 
 

English Language Proficiency Examination - If you are from a non-English-speaking jurisdiction and have been working in 

a non-English speaking setting in the past two years, you must submit evidence that you have obtained at least the minimum 
score on one of the following exams: 
 

 Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL®) paper version with a minimum score of 560;  

 Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL®) computer version with a minimum score of 220;  

 Test of English as a Foreign Language Internet-Based Test (TOEFL® iBT) with a minimum score of 84 and a minimum 
speaking score of 26;  

 International English Language Testing System (IELTS) academic version with an overall score of 6.5 and a minimum 
score of 6.0 on all modules;  

 Test of English for International Communication (TOEIC) with a minimum score of 780;  

 Michigan English Language Assessment Battery (MELAB) with a passing standard of 81 and speaking section score of 
3; 

 Michigan English Test (MET) with a minimum overall score of 55 and a minimum speaking section score of 55; or  

 Pearson Test of English Academic (PTE Academic) 55 overall with no sub scores lower than 50 in each scored part. 

 
 
Non-English Documents: Any documents written in a language other than English must include a complete translation into the 
English language.  The translation must be an original document and contain the notarized or equivalent signature of the translator.  
An individual may not translate his/her own documents. 
 
 
  

Timeframes for Processing Applications.  All applications are reviewed in order of date received.  

Preliminary Review: Approximately 15 days after receipt of application.  You will be notified by email of 

any items missing from your application file. 

Criminal Background Check: Approximately 4-6 weeks after fingerprints are submitted to Nebraska State Patrol 

License Decision: 8-10 weeks from receipt of a complete application 

Closing Incomplete 
Applications: 

If you do not submit all required documents within 90 days after your application is 
received, your application and supporting documents will be destroyed.  

 

Records Retention Schedule:  When your license is issued, your application and documents will be kept by the 

Department for 5 years.  After this date, all documents will be destroyed.  We encourage you to keep a copy of your 
application for your records. 

 

 

Contact Info:    Telephone:  (402) 471-4376     Fax:   (402) 742-2360      Email:  dhhs.nursingoffice@nebraska.gov 

 
Application Materials Should Be Mailed To: 

 
DHHS Licensure Unit, Nursing Section 

301 Centennial Mall South 
PO Box 94986 

Lincoln NE  68509-4986 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Please do not submit these instructions with your application. 
 
 

https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Nurse-Licensing-Foreign-Educated-Nurse-Information.aspx
https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Nurse-Licensing-Foreign-Educated-Nurse-Information.aspx
mailto:dhhs.nursingoffice@nebraska.gov


Instructions for Criminal Background Checks 
 

RN, LPN, and APRN License Applications 

 
 You must submit fingerprints and a $45.25 fee to the Nebraska State Patrol.  Fingerprints can be submitted 

electronically (LiveScan) or by mail. 

 You must obtain a new criminal background check for your current application.  You cannot use a criminal background 
check obtained for a previous application, or another type of license, or a license in another state. 

 If you apply for RN and APRN licenses simultaneously, only one background check is required.  If the applications are 
sent separately, you must submit two sets of fingerprints and pay twice for the background check. 

 Criminal background checks are not expedited for any reason. 

 The Nebraska State Patrol will not process your background check until we receive your license application. 

 
Fee:  $45.25 - This fee is for processing the criminal background check.  (The service you use to take your fingerprints may charge an 

additional fee.) There are two ways to pay:  
 

1. Credit Card, Debit Card, or eCheck:  Go to www.ne.gov/go/nsp.  A transaction fee will be added to your payment. 
 

You will be asked to select a transaction item.  Select Nursing if you are applying for a RN or LPN license.  Select Controlled 
Substance if you are applying for an APRN license or are applying for APRN/RN licenses simultaneously.  Enter the licensure 
applicant’s name, date of birth and the last 4 digits of social security number underneath the transaction item, even if a 
company or another person is paying the fee.  The payer’s information should be entered on the second page. 
 

2. Check or Money Order:  Write “fingerprinting” and the applicant’s name on the memo line.  Mail payment of $45.25 to: 

Nebraska State Patrol, Attn: CID, 4600 Innovation Drive, Lincoln NE 68521. 

 
Photo ID - You must bring a valid photo ID with you when getting your fingerprints. Acceptable forms of ID include an unexpired 

driver’s license, passport, permanent resident card (“Green Card,”) or Employment Authorization Card. 
 
Submitting Fingerprints Using LiveScan - This option is available only if fingerprinting is done in Nebraska.  

You can have LiveScan fingerprints taken at all Nebraska State Patrol offices listed below.  A list of other public LiveScan 
locations in Nebraska can be found at https://statepatrol.nebraska.gov/services/fingerprinting.  You will need to contact the 
agencies on that list to determine if they will electronically submit fingerprints for you to the Nebraska State Patrol. 

 

Nebraska State Patrol Fingerprinting Locations 
 

Consult https://statepatrol.nebraska.gov/services/fingerprinting for the most up-to-date information. 

Troop Location Phone Hours Fingerprinting 
Conducted 

How to Schedule an 
Appointment 

Omaha 4411 S 108th St  
Omaha NE 68137 

(402) 331-3333 Mon - Fri, 8:00 am to 4:00 pm  
 
You can schedule a fingerprint 
appointment at any of these State 
Patrol Office by using the Nebraska 
State Patrol’s online calendar at: 
 

https://www.nebraska.gov/apps-
nsp-appointment-
calendar/schedule/index 
 

Norfolk 1401 W Eisenhower Ave 
Norfolk NE 68701 

(402) 370-3456 Mon – Thur, 8:00 am to 5:00 
pm 

Grand 
Island 

3431 Old Potash Highway 
Grand Island NE 68801 

(308) 385-6000 Mon: 8:30 to 12:30 & 2:00 to 
4:30 
Tue:  9:00 am to 4:00 pm 
Wed: 8:30 am to 4:00 pm 
Thurs: 8:30 am to 4:30 pm 
Fri: 8:30 to 12:30 & 2:00 to 
4:30 

North 
Platte 

300 West South River Rd  
North Platte NE 69103 

(308) 535-6604 Mon – Fri, 8:00 am to 4:00 pm 

Scottsbluff 4500 Avenue I  
Scottsbluff NE 69361 

(308) 632-1211 Mon – Fri, 8:00 am to 4:00 pm 

Lincoln 4600 Innovation Drive 
Lincoln NE 68521 

(402) 479-4971 Mon – Fri, 8:00 am to 4:00 pm 

 

 

http://www.ne.gov/go/nsp
https://statepatrol.nebraska.gov/services/fingerprinting
https://statepatrol.nebraska.gov/services/fingerprinting
https://www.nebraska.gov/apps-nsp-appointment-calendar/schedule/index
https://www.nebraska.gov/apps-nsp-appointment-calendar/schedule/index
https://www.nebraska.gov/apps-nsp-appointment-calendar/schedule/index


Submitting Fingerprints by Mail 
 

 Many law enforcement agencies provide fingerprinting services to the public.  There are also private companies in many states 
that provide fingerprinting services.  

 

 Use standard blue-and-white fingerprint cards (Form #FD-258).  If the fingerprinting service you wish to use does not have FD-
258 cards, you can call the Licensure Unit at (402) 471-4376 and request that cards be mailed to you. 

 

 Complete two (2) cards if the traditional ink method is used to capture your fingerprints.  One (1) card is usually sufficient if 
fingerprints are captured electronically and then printed onto the FD-258 card. 

 

 In the box labeled “Reason Fingerprinted,” print “Nursing 38-131” if you are applying for a RN or LPN license.  Print 

“Controlled Substance 38-131” if applying for an APRN license or applying for APRN/RN licenses simultaneously.  
 

 Do not write in the field labeled ORI. 
 

 Do not sign the cards until an officer has verified your signature. 
 

 Do not fold the fingerprint cards. 
 

 Mail completed cards to: Nebraska State Patrol 
Criminal Identification Division (CID) 
4600 Innovation Drive 
Lincoln NE 68521 

 
Criminal Background Check Notification: Pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-131 (provided below), an applicant for an initial license to practice as a registered 
nurse or a licensed practical nurse or to practice a profession which is authorized to prescribe controlled substances shall be subject to a criminal background 
check. Applicants are able to receive any national criminal history record that may pertain to them directly from the FBI, pursuant to 28 CFR Sections 16.30-16.34, 
and may then freely disclose any such information to whomever they choose. Applicants must authorize the dissemination of any national criminal history record 
that may pertain to them to the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) when applying for licensure. Applicants are entitled to challenge the accuracy 
and completeness of any information contained in any such report and will be provided a copy of the criminal history background report, if any, received if they 
appear at the DHHS in person and present proper identification. Information on how to challenge an applicant’s federal report can be found at FBI.gov. To 
challenge an applicant’s Nebraska state record, contact the Nebraska State Patrol-Criminal Identification Division. Applicants may obtain a prompt determination 
as to the validity of their challenge before the DHHS makes a final decision about their application for licensure.  
 
Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-131 - Criminal background check; when required. (1) An applicant for an initial license to practice as a registered nurse, a licensed 
practical nurse, a physical therapist, a physical therapy assistant, a psychologist, an advanced emergency medical technician, an emergency medical technician, 
or a paramedic or to practice a profession which is authorized to prescribe controlled substances shall be subject to a criminal background check. A criminal 
background check may also be required for initial licensure or reinstatement of a license governed by the Uniform Credentialing Act if a criminal background check 
is required by an interstate licensure compact. Except as provided in subsection (3) of this section, the applicant shall submit with the application a full set of 
fingerprints which shall be forwarded to the Nebraska State Patrol to be submitted to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for a national criminal history record 
information check. The applicant shall authorize release of the results of the national criminal history record information check to the department. The applicant 
shall pay the actual cost of the fingerprinting and criminal background check. (2) This section shall not apply to a dentist who is an applicant for a dental locum 
tenens under section 38-1122, to a physician or osteopathic physician who is an applicant for a physician locum tenens under section 38-2036, or to a veterinarian 
who is an applicant for a veterinarian locum tenens under section 38-3335. (3) An applicant for a temporary educational permit as defined in section 38-2019 shall 
have ninety days from the issuance of the permit to comply with subsection (1) of this section and shall have his or her permit suspended after such ninety-day 
period if the criminal background check is not complete or revoked if the criminal background check reveals that the applicant was not qualified for the permit. 
Source: Laws 2005, LB 306, § 2; Laws 2005, LB 382, § 15; Laws 2006, LB 833, § 1; R.S.Supp 2006, § 71-104.01; Laws 2007, LB247, § 60; Laws 2007, LB463, § 
31; Laws 2007, LB481, § 2; Laws 2011, LB687, § 1; Laws 2015, LB129; Laws 2018, LB731 § 1, Laws 2018, LB1034, § 5. Effective Date: July 19, 2018. 
 

PRIVACY ACT STATEMENT 
 
Authority:  The FBI’s acquisition, preservation, and exchange of fingerprints and associated information is generally authorized under 28 U.S.C. 534.  Depending 
on the nature of your application, supplemental authorities include Federal statutes, State statutes pursuant to Pub. L. 92-544, Presidential Executive Orders, and 
federal regulations.  Providing your fingerprints and associated information is voluntary; however, failure to do so may affect completion or approval of your 
application.   
 
Principal Purpose:  Certain determinations, such as employment, licensing, and security clearances, may be predicated on fingerprint-based background checks.  
Your fingerprints and associated information/biometrics may be provided to the employing, investigating, or otherwise responsible agency, and/or the FBI for the 
purpose of comparing your fingerprints to other fingerprints in the FBI’s Next Generation Identification (NGI) system or its successor systems (including civil, 
criminal, and latent fingerprint repositories) or other available records of the employing, investigating, or otherwise responsible agency.  The FBI may retain your 
fingerprints and associated information/biometrics in NGI after the completion of this application and, while retained, your fingerprints may continue to be 
compared against other fingerprints submitted to or retained by NGI.   
 
Routine Uses:  During the processing of this application and for as long thereafter as your fingerprints and associated information/biometrics are retained in NGI, 
your information may be disclosed pursuant to your consent, and may be disclosed without your consent as permitted by the Privacy Act of 1974 and all applicable 
Routine Uses as may be published at any time in the Federal Register, including the Routine Uses for the NGI system and the FBI’s Blanket Routine Uses.  
Routine uses include, but are not limited to, disclosures to:  employing, governmental or authorized non-governmental agencies responsible for employment, 
contracting, licensing, security clearances, and other suitability determinations; local, state, tribal, or federal law enforcement agencies; criminal justice agencies; 
and agencies responsible for national security or public safety.   
 

Applicant Notification and Record Challenge 
 
Your fingerprints will be used to check the criminal history records of the FBI.  You have the opportunity to complete or challenge the accuracy of the information 
contained in the FBI identification record.  The procedure for obtaining a change, correction, or updating an FBI identification record are set forth in Title 28, CFR, 
16.34.  You can find additional information on the FBI website at https://www.fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/background-checks.   

https://www.fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/background-checks


Application 

Nebraska Nursing License 

Endorsement

   Division of Public Health, Licensure Unit 
   PO Box 94986, Lincoln NE 68509-4986 Rev 2/11/22 

Check the license type you are requesting: 

 RN (Registered Nurse)         □ LPN (Licensed Practical Nurse)

 Check here if you also want a Temporary License.  Date needed: _________________ 

A. Personal Information

Legal 
Name 

First Middle Last 

Maiden List any other names you have 
used or have been known as: 

Mailing 
Address 

Street Address PO Box 

City State or Country Zip 

Date of Birth (Month/Day/Year) Place of 
Birth 

(City/State or Country) 

Phone # (optional) Additional Phone # (optional) 

A valid email address speeds the 
processing of your application. 

Email Address (optional) 

Providing your SSN is mandatory 
Social Security Number 

Neb. Rev. Stat. 38-123 mandates the disclosure of your Social Security Number to DHHS.  Your SSN is not public information, but DHHS may 
disclose it for child support enforcement purposes and to the Department of Revenue, the Department of Labor, and for other administrative 
purposes if necessary and only under appropriate circumstances to ensure against any unauthorized access to the information.  Other information 
supplied is part of the public record. 

If you are not a U.S. Citizen provide your: Alien Number (A#) 

I-94 #

Fee Waiver:  

If you meet one of the following fee waivers, your application fee is waived.  Check only one waiver.  See instructions to find out if 

you need to submit documentation.  

□ Young Worker:   I am under 26 years old. (You will need to pay the application fee if you turn 26 before license is issued.)

□ Low-income Individual:

□ I am enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, including, but not limited to, the medical assistance program 
established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, or the federal 
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families program. (Documentation required IF you are not enrolled in a NE program)

□ My household adjusted gross income is below 130% of the federal income poverty guideline. (Documentation Required)

□ Military Family:  I am an active duty service member in the armed services of the United States, a military spouse, honorably 
discharged veteran of the armed services of the United States, spouse of such honorably discharged veteran, or un-remarried 
surviving spouse of a deceased service member of the armed services of the United States. (Documentation Required)
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Fee Required if YOU DO NOT qualify for one of the above fee waivers: 

Fee is reduced if the license will expire within six months after issuance.  Use charts below to find the month and year when you expect 

license to be issued. Submit the fee listed in the corresponding box.  Keep in mind that application processing can take 8-10 weeks. 

RN Fee Schedule   RN licenses expire October 31st of even-numbered years 

Year Jan Feb Mar Apr May June July Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec 

Even-Numbered $123 $123 $123 $123 $30.75 $30.75 $30.75 $30.75 $30.75 $30.75 $123 $123 

Odd Numbered $123 $123 $123 $123 $123 $123 $123 $123 $123 $123 $123 $123 

LPN Fee Schedule    LPN licenses expire October 31st of odd numbered years 

Year Jan Feb Mar Apr May June July Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec 

Even-Numbered $123 $123 $123 $123 $123 $123 $123 $123 $123 $123 $123 $123 

Odd Numbered $123 $123 $123 $123 $30.75 $30.75 $30.75 $30.75 $30.75 $30.75 $123 $123 

Pay by check or money order made payable to: DHHS Licensure Unit 

Your cancelled check is your proof of payment.  Payment is processed upon receipt.  Debit or credit card payments are not accepted 

B. Licensure Compact

1. Declare your primary state of residence by checking a box below and completing the requested information.  Your 

primary state of residence is the state where you have legal residency status.  Proof of legal residency can include a 

current driver’s license, a current voter registration card showing a home address, a current federal tax return with a primary 

state of residence declaration, Military Form 2018, or current W2 showing a declared state of residence. You will be notified if 

you need to submit verification of primary state of residency. 

 Nebraska is my primary state of residence. 

 I am currently residing in ________________________  and I plan to move and make Nebraska my primary state of 

residence on ______________. 

     * 

 My primary state of residence is _______________________.  I am applying for a single-state license. 

*If your primary state of residence belongs to the Nurse Licensure Compact and you are not moving to Nebraska, why

are you applying for a NE license?  󠄀󠄀 I am moving to a non-Compact state.  󠄀󠄀 I am ineligible for multistate licensure

due to __________________________________________ .

2. To be considered for a multistate license, you must disclose whether or not you participate in an alternative program.  An 

alternative program is a non-disciplinary monitoring program approved by a licensing board. Nurses might participate in 

alternative programs due to substance use disorders, mental/physical health issues, or for remediation.  If you decline to 

answer or leave this question blank, your application will be processed for a single-state license. 

Are you a current participant in an alternative program?   Yes      No      Decline to answer 

3.  Check here if you are an active duty military nurse. 

 Check here if you are the spouse of an active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces who has an active-duty 

assignment in Nebraska. 
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C. Basic Nursing Education:  RN applicants:  Enter information for school you attended to receive your first RN license.
 LPN applicants:  Enter information for school you attended to receive your first LPN license. 

1. Name of School: 2. Graduation Date:

3. Location City: State: Country: 

4. Type of Degree       Certificate    Diploma     Associate Degree     BSN or other Bachelors    Other 

5. If you are not a graduate of a U.S. or Canadian nursing program, indicate which credentials evaluation service will
submit an evaluation of your transcripts.







Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS)

(Educational Records Evaluation Service, Inc. (ERES) 

Josef Silny & Associates, Inc.  

Information Relating to Military Education, Training, or Service:  

If you have completed education, training, or service that you believe is substantially similar to the education or training required for 
this credential while you were a member of the armed forces of the United States, active or reserve, the National Guard of any state, 
the military reserves of any state, or the naval militia of any state, you may submit such evidence with your application for review. 

D. Examination

1. Which licensing exam did you pass?     NCLEX      SBTPE       Canadian Nurses Association Examination 

2. Location of Exam: 3. Date of Exam:

4. Are you from a non-English speaking jurisdiction?     Yes      No 

5. Have you been working in a non-English speaking setting in the past two years?     Yes      No 

6. If you answer “yes” to both Question 5 and Question 6 above, you must submit evidence of passing an English Language

Proficiency Exam.  See instructions for accepted exams and scores.

Name of English Language Proficiency Exam _____________________________   Score __________________________ 

E. Practice Requirements

To obtain a license you must meet one of the following requirements.  Check the one that you meet: 

 I have practiced nursing for a minimum of 500 hours within the previous 5 years. 

 I graduated from an approved nursing program within the previous 5 years. 

 I completed a board-approved refresher course consisting of a minimum of 75 contact hours within the previous 5 years. 

Name of Course Provider __________________________   Date Course Completed _________________________ 
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F. License Information

1. List all nursing licenses and other licenses or credentials you hold or have held to provide health services, 
health-related services, or environmental services in any state or jurisdiction other than Nebraska.  If you need 
more space, list additional licenses on a separate sheet. 

Type of 
License/Credential 

State or 
Jurisdiction 

License Number Date Issued Expiration Date 

2. Has any health care profession credential you hold or have held in another state or 
jurisdiction ever been denied, refused renewal, limited, suspended, revoked, or had 
other disciplinary measures taken against it? 

    Yes        No 

If yes, list all actions below.  If you need more room, list additional actions on a separate sheet. 

License Type State/Jurisdiction Type of Action Date of Action 

3. 
Are there any current investigations or pending disciplinary charges against any health 
care profession credential you hold or have held in another state or jurisdiction? 

    Yes        No 

If yes, explain: 

NOTE: If you have any disciplinary charges pending that result in disciplinary action being taken against your license, you are 
required to report such actions to the Investigative Unit within 30 days of occurrence.  Reporting forms can be obtained from 
https://dhhs.ne.gov/pages/Investigations.aspx or by calling (402) 471-0175.

G. Conviction Information

Read instructions carefully before completing this section.  Failure to disclose all misdemeanor and felony convictions can lead to
disciplinary action.

1. Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony?     Yes      No 

If yes, you must list ALL misdemeanor or felony convictions regardless of when they occurred or whether you listed them on 
a prior application.  If you need more space, list additional convictions on a separate sheet.  See instructions for required 
documentation. 

Type of Crime Date of Conviction Name of Court or Jurisdiction 

1 

2 

3 

4 

https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Investigations.aspx
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2. 
Do you currently have any charges pending which may result 
in a misdemeanor or felony conviction? 

    Yes        No 

If yes, describe type of charge Date of Offense 
Name of County or 

Jurisdiction 

Note:  If you have any pending criminal charges that result in a misdemeanor or felony conviction, you are required to report the 
conviction to the Investigations Unit within 30 days of the conviction.  Reporting forms can be obtained from 
https://dhhs.ne.gov/pages/Investigations or by calling (402) 471-0175. 

H. Practice Prior to Licensure

An individual who practices prior to issuance of a credential is subject to assessment of an Administrative Penalty of $10 per day up
to $1,000, or such other action as provided in the statutes and regulations governing nursing.

Have you practiced nursing in Nebraska without a Nebraska 
license or without a valid, multistate license from another state? 

    Yes        No 

If yes, what are the actual number of days you practiced in Nebraska 
without a license or valid license or valid compact privilege and what 
is the business name, location, and telephone number of the 
practice? 

Number of Days: 

Name of Business: 

City: 

Telephone: 

I. Attestation

For the purpose of complying with Neb. Rev. Stat. §§4-108 through 4-114 and 38-129 check ONE of the boxes below: 

I attest that: 

□ I am a citizen of the United States.

□ I am NOT a citizen of the United States. I am a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act or a

non-immigrant lawfully present in the United States, with documentation such as a permanent resident card, I-94

document, asylum, etc.

□ I am NOT a citizen of the United States. I have an unexpired Employment Authorization Document (EAD) and

documentation listed under the Federal REAL ID act, such as DACA, pending asylum, pending refugee, etc.

□ I am NOT a citizen of the United States, a nonimmigrant, nor a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and

Nationality Act

https://dhhs.ne.gov/pages/Investigations
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Criminal Background Check Notification: All applicants for an initial license to practice as a registered nurse or a licensed 

practical nurse are subject to a criminal background check (Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-131). 

I understand that I am able to receive any national criminal history record that may pertain to me directly from the FBI, pursuant to 
28  CFR Sections 16.30-16.34, and that I could then freely disclose any such information to whomever I choose. By signing this 
application, it is my intent to authorize the dissemination of any national criminal history record that may pertain to me to the 
Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) with whom I am applying for licensure. I understand that I am entitled to 
challenge the accuracy and completeness of any information contained in any such report, and that you will provide me a copy 
of the criminal history background report, if any, you receive on me if I appear at the DHHS in person and present proper 
identification. Information on how to challenge your federal report can be found at FBI.gov. To challenge your Nebraska state 
record, contact the Nebraska State Patrol-Criminal Identification Division. I may obtain a prompt determination as to the validity 
of my challenge before you make a final decision about my application for licensure. 

I further attest that: 

1. I have read the application or have had the application read to me, and
2. All statements on this application are true and complete.

Print Name: ________________________________________ 

Signature*:   _________________________________________    Date: _________________________ 

*Sign your name after printing application.  Electronic signatures are not accepted.

Fingerprints 

1. I have had my fingerprints taken and submitted the prints
to the Nebraska State Patrol.

   Yes      No 

2. I have paid for fingerprint processing to the Nebraska State
Patrol.

    Yes     No 

See instructions for details on required documents. 

Submit these items with your application: 

 Evidence of citizenship or lawful presence

 Application fee (unless you qualify for a waiver)

 Documentation of fee waiver eligibility (if applicable)

 Conviction records (if applicable

 Discipline records (if applicable)

Request that these items be sent to our office: 

 Criminal background check

 License verification(s).

 Transcript evaluation (for foreign graduates)

 English proficiency exam results (if applicable)

Application Materials Should Be Mailed To: 

DHHS Licensure Unit, Nursing Section 
301 Centennial Mall South 

PO Box 94986 
Lincoln NE.  68509-4986 

MILITARY:  To view licensing services available to members of the military and their spouses, visit our website at 

https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx

Contact Information:    Telephone:  (402) 471-4376   Fax:   (402) 742-2360    Email:  dhhs.nursingoffice@nebraska.gov 

https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx
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