
Apprentice Information 
Funeral Directing and Embalming  

 
 
 
 
APPRENCTICE REQUIREMENTS:  Before beginning the apprenticeship, you must apply for an apprentice License.  You must show 
that you have completed at least 20 semester hours of college credit.  You may complete the 12-month apprenticeship in either a split 
apprenticeship (6-months prior to mortuary school and 6-months after mortuary school) or a full apprenticeship (12-months after mortuary 
school). 
 
 
If you are considering a split apprenticeship: 
You may complete 6 months of apprenticeship prior to attending a mortuary science program and then complete the final 6 months after 
completion of a mortuary science program.  To apply for the 1st 6-month apprentice License, you must have completed at least 20 
semester hours of college credit.  The License will be valid for 6-months, must be completed over a continuous 6-month period from the 
date of issuance, and cannot be extended by the board.  
 
To apply for the final 6-month apprenticeship, you must have: 
(a) Successfully completed a full course of study in an accredited school of mortuary science. 
(b) Successfully passed the national standardized exam. 
The license will be valid for 6-months, must be completed over a continuous 6-month period from the date of issuance, and cannot be 
extended by the board.  
 
If you are considering a full 12-month apprenticeship, to apply you must have: 
(a) Successfully completed of a full course of study in an accredited school of mortuary science. 
(b) Successfully passed the national standardized exam. 
The license will be valid for 12-months, must be completed over a continuous 12-month period from the date of issuance, and cannot be 
extended by the board.  
 
 
REMINDER:  You must submit a completed application and fee for a license as a funeral director and embalmer when you 
have completed  your final 6 months/12 months apprenticeship. 
 
 
 
License Fee Waiver:  If you meet one of the following waiver options, your initial license fee is waived: 
   
1.  Young Worker:   You are between the ages of 19 and 25 (under the age of 26).   
 
2. Low-Income Individual:  You are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program such as the medical assistance 

program established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program 
(SNAP), or the federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program, OR your household adjusted gross 
income is below 130% of the federal income poverty guideline.   
• If you live in Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, no further documentation is required 

to be submitted. 
• If you live in a state other than Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, submit a copy of a 

document showing current enrollment. 
• If your household adjusted gross income is at 130% of the Federal Income Poverty Guideline or below, click this link to 

see the current income guidelines https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Documents/LowIncomeFeeWaiverTable.pdf .  To be 
eligible for this waiver, you must submit a copy of your most recent tax return. 

 
3. Military Family:  You are an active duty service member in the armed services of the United States, a military spouse, 

honorably discharged veteran of the armed services of the United States, spouse of such honorably discharged veteran, and un-
remarried surviving spouses of deceased service members of the armed services of the United States.  To be eligible for this 
waiver, you must submit a copy of your ID card, discharge paperwork, or similar document that shows you are a military family 
member as described above.   

 
 
MILITARY:  To view licensing services available to members of the military and their spouses, visit our website at 
https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx 

 
 

https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Documents/LowIncomeFeeWaiverTable.pdf
https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx
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Checklist of Required Information:  Use the following checklist to help organize your application.   
 
 

NON-ENGLISH DOCUMENTS:  Documents written in a language other than English must include a complete English translation.  The 
translation must be an original document with the translator’s notarized signature.  You cannot translate your own documents. 
 
 
 

1.  US Citizenship/Lawful Presence (and must be at least 19 years old):   
 

A Driver’s License is NOT acceptable 
 
• US Citizenship  

• Birth Certificate (Hospital issued keepsake birth certificates is not acceptable) 
• U.S. Passport (unexpired or expired) 
• Certificate of Naturalization 
• Other documents that show U.S. Citizenship 

 
• NOT a U.S. Citizen 

• I-551:  Permanent Resident Card (Green Card) 
• Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) 
• Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) and Unexpired Foreign Passport 
• I-766:  Employment Authorization Card 
• Machine Readable Immigrant Visa 
• I-20:  Certificate of Eligibility for Nonimmigrant (F-1) Student Status 
• DS2019:  Certificate of Eligibility for Exchange Visitor (J-1) Status 
• Temporary I-551 Stamp on Passport or I-94 
• I-327:  Reentry Permit 
• I-571:  Refugee Travel Document 
• Other  

 
NOTE:  Documents (other than those for U.S. Citizenship) are verified by our office through the Department of Homeland Security. 
This process may take up to 30 days. 

 
 

2. Education:   
   Pre-mortuary Education:  An OFFICIAL school/college/university transcript.   
   Mortuary School:  If applying for a 12 month apprenticeship or final 6 month apprenticeship, an OFFICIAL mortuary school 

transcript. 
 

Information Relating to Military Education, Training, or Service: 
If you have completed education, training, or service that you believe is substantially similar to the education or training required for 
this credential while you were a member of the armed forces of the United States, active or reserve, the National Guard of any state, 
the military reserves of any state, or the naval militia of any state, you may submit such evidence with your application for review.   

 

3.   Examination:  If applying for a 12 month apprenticeship or final 6 month apprenticeship, a certified copy of your National Board 
Examination Scores must be sent directly from the International Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards;  

 
4.    Conviction Information:  If you have EVER received a ticket from law enforcement or animal control, check the court 

system to see if the ticket is on your record as a misdemeanor or felony conviction.  Speeding tickets are not misdemeanors or 
felonies.  You are required to list ALL convictions (regardless of when they occurred) on the application; you are NOT required to list 
infractions, diversions or dismissals.  Misdemeanor and felony convictions can either be processed through traffic or criminal court, 
so when you check with the county court/district court, you should ask for both traffic and criminal court misdemeanor/felony 
convictions.  

  
 If you have convictions, you must submit:  

(i) A copy of the court record related to all misdemeanor and felony convictions, that includes the statement of charges and final 
disposition, if the conviction(s) occurred in a state other than Nebraska;  
(ii) An explanation of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions that the applicant has 
taken to address the behaviors or actions related to the conviction; and  
(iii) A letter from the applicant’s probation officer addressing the terms and current status of the probation, if the applicant is currently 
on probation. 
 
If you had an alcohol and drug evaluation and/or completed treatment, to assist the Board and Department in review of any 
drug and/or alcohol conviction(s), the treatment provider must submit all evaluations/discharge summaries directly to the 
Department.  
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The following provides SOME examples of convictions; this is NOT a complete list 
 

 

• MIP/ Tobacco Use by Minor 
• DUI / DWI / Open Container 
• Controlled Substance 
• Shoplifting / Theft / Burglary 
• Unauthorized use of a Financial Transaction 
• Disturbing the Peace  
• Assault / Prostitution 
• Disorderly Conduct / Disorderly House 
• Fail to Appear in Court 

• Driving under Suspension / Revocation  
• License Vehicle without Liability Insurance  
• False Information or Reporting 
• Reckless Driving / Leave the Scene of an Accident 
• Operator not Carrying License 
• Unlawful Display of Plates/Renewal tabs  
• Park Rule Violation / Curfew Violation 
• Dog at Large / Fail to Vaccinate Animal 
• Littering / Fireworks / Bad Check 

 
 

 
NOTE: If you have any criminal charges or license disciplinary actions pending that result in a conviction or license 
discipline, you are required to report such action to the Investigative Unit within 30 days of the conviction or disciplinary action.  
Reporting forms can be obtained at the following website:  https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Investigations.aspx or by phone 402-471-
0175. 

 
5.   Other State License Information:  If you hold or have held a health related license in any state (other than Nebraska), 

you must contact that state and request a verification of your license or send a copy of your license from their electronic look-up site 
(do not send a copy of your license).  
  Disciplinary Action:  If you had any disciplinary action(s) taken against your credential, submit a copy of the discipline 

 
 
 
Application Review:  All applications are reviewed in date order received.   
 

• If your application is missing information, you will be contacted by e-mail; the e-mail will list the information that is required 
to compete your application.   You have 90 days to complete your application; if not completed within this 90 days, your 
application will be closed and all documents destroyed.  A new application will then be required. 
 

• If your application is complete, you will receive by e-mail notification of issuance of your apprentice license. 
 

Records Retention Schedule:  When your license is issued, your application and documents will be kept by the Department for 5 
years; then all documents will be destroyed.  We encourage you to keep a copy of your application for your records. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Contact Information:  Licensure Unit, 301 Centennial Mall South, P.O. Box 94986, Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986  
FAX:  402-742-1106 / telephone # (402) 471-2117 / E-mail  dhhs.licensure2117@nebraska.gov  

https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Investigations.aspx
mailto:dhhs.licensure2117@nebraska.gov
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Licensure Unit 

P.O. Box 94986 
Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986 

Telephone: 402-471-2117  
FAX:  402-742-1106 

E-Mail: dhhs.licensure2117@nebraska.gov

APPLICATION FOR A FUNERAL DIRECTING AND EMBALMING APPRENTICE LICENSE 

Enter your LEGAL NAME below 

First Name: Middle Name: 

Last Name: Suffix: 

List any other names you are or have been known as (AKA), 
including maiden and your last name on your birth certificate.). 

APPLICANT DEMOGRAPHICS  

Mailing Address 

Country: Zip Code: 

Address Line 1: City: 

Address Line 2: State: 

Address Line 3: County: 

Do you have a social security number? 
Yes  □   No  □

Social Security Number (SSN): 

Neb. Rev. Stat. §§38-123 and 38-130 requires you to provide your social security number to DHHS.  Although your number 
is not public information, DHHS may share your social security number for child support enforcement or other administrative 
purposes and provide it to the Department of Revenue or the Department of Labor. 
Are you a US Citizen? 

Yes  □   No  □
If you are not a U.S. Citizen, list your A# or I-94#: □ A#

□ I-94 #
 Date of Birth: 

Place of Birth (City/State or Country): 

E-Mail Address:

Primary Phone Number: 

□ Check box if # Outside U.S.
□ Mobile

□ Work
Ext: 

Secondary Phone Number: □ Mobile

□ Work
Ext: 

mailto:dhhs.licensure2117@nebraska.gov
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APPLICATION FEES    
 
 
 

Fee Waivers    
 

 
LICENSE FEE WAIVER:  If the applicant meets one of the following options, the initial license fee is waived.   
 

□  Young Worker:   Under 26 years old. 

□  Low-Income Individual:   

□  Enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, including, but not limited to, the medical assistance program 
established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program, or the federal 
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families program.  
 
State in which assistance is received: _____________________   
NOTE:  If you are enrolled in a state other than Nebraska, provide a copy of the state or federal documents verifying your 
enrollment.  

 
OR 

□  Household adjusted gross income is below 130% of the federal income poverty guideline, provide a copy  
 of your most recent tax return 
 

□ Military Family:  Active duty service member in the armed services of the United States, a military spouse, honorably discharged 
veteran of the armed services of the United States, spouse of such honorably discharged veteran, and un-remarried surviving spouses 
of deceased service members of the armed services of the United States.  

 
 
 
 

B.  Fee Required if YOU DO NOT qualify for one of the above fee waivers you must pay the fee listed in the chart 
below.   
 

Pay by check or money order to:  Licensure Unit 
Your cancelled check is your proof of payment.  Payment is processed upon receipt.  Debit or credit card is not accepted. 
  
 
 
 
                     
LICENSE CATEGORY  (check the process by which you will be serving your apprenticeship) 

□ 
 

Full 12 month  
You must have completed at least 20 of the required 40 hours of pre-mortuary education, submit an official pre-
mortuary transcript, an official transcript showing completion of mortuary school, and official documentation of 
successful completion of the National Examination. 

FEE: 
 $25 

 

 
OR SPLIT APPRENTICESHIP 
 

□ 
 

First 6 month  
You must complete training prior to attending mortuary school.  You cannot earn more than 6 months nor less than 6 
months of training if you are completing a split-apprenticeship.  You must have completed at least 20 of the required 40 
hours of pre-mortuary education and submit an official pre-mortuary transcript.  

FEE: 
 $25 

□ 
 

Final 6 month  
You must submit an official transcript showing completion of mortuary school and official documentation of successful 
completion of the National Examination. 

NO 
FEE 
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FUNERAL DIRECTING AND EMBALMING SUPERVISOR 
 
 

Name of Supervisor: 
 
 

License #: 

Name of Back-up Supervisor (if applicable): 
 
 

License #: 

 
 
NAME AND LOCATION WHERE APPRENTICESHIP WILL BE COMPLETED 
 
 

1 Establishment Name:                       
 
                                                                                                    

License #: 

2 Establishment Address: Street/PO/Route: 
 
 
City: 
 
 

State: Zip: 

3 Date Apprentice is proposed to begin: 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 

SUPERVISOR ATTESTATION (this section must be signed by the supervisor) 
The supervisor and back-up supervisor must sign this section of the application 
 

 
SUPERVISOR(S): 
I state that I will be the supervisor(s) for the applicant and I am of good character. 
   
 
 

Signature of Supervisor:                   
 

Signature of Back-up Supervisor:                  
       (if applicable) 
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PRE-MORTUARY EDUCATION  

To obtain your license as a funeral director and embalmer (FDE), all courses must have been completed separately from coursework 
you complete in a mortuary science college that is used towards a mortuary science degree. Within these 40 semester hours of pre-
mortuary education, you must complete the specified semester hours in the areas identified below. While the specific listed courses 
below are NOT required for the apprentice license, they are required for licensure as a funeral director and embalmer.  This will provide 
you with an overview of course work met to-date and any coursework that you may need to complete to obtain your FDE license. 

To assist this review process, if the title does not clearly reflect the content, please attach a course description.  

A transcript verifying completion of this coursework must be submitted.  

NOTE:  Quarter hours are calculated into semester hours as follows:  # of quarter hours divided by 1.5 = # of semester hours 

English 
A minimum of 6 semester 
hours 

Course Code and Course Title: College/University: Credit Hours: 

Examples of English courses may include, but are not limited to:  
• Public speaking • Composition • English

Business 
A minimum of 12 
semester hours 

Course Code and Course Title: College/University: Credit Hours: 

Examples of business courses may include, but are not limited to:  
• accounting • computer science
• business administration • economics
• business communication • finance
• business law/ethics • human resources

• information systems / technology            
• management
• marketing
• statistics  /  algebra            

Chemistry 
A minimum of 4 semester 
hours 

Course Code and Course Title: College/University: Credit Hours: 

Examples of chemistry courses may include, but are not limited to:  
• organic chemistry
• biochemistry

• inorganic chemistry
• physical chemistry

• general chemistry
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Biology relating to the 
Human Body  
A minimum of 12 
semester hours  

Course Code and Course Title: College/University: Credit Hours: 
 

 
  

 

 
  

 

 
  

 

Examples of biology relating to the human body courses may include, but are not limited to:   
• General biology • Genetics • Microbiology 
• Physiology • Kinesiology • Anatomy 
• Immunology • Virology •  
 
 

Psychology or 
Counseling 
A minimum of 6 semester 
hours 

Course Code and Course Title: College/University: Credit Hours: 
 

 
  

 

 
  

 

Examples of psychology or counseling courses may include, but are not limited to:   
• Psychology • Sociology (if counseling related) • Counseling 
• Social work • Gender and multicultural Issues • Marriage and Family therapy 
 
 
Information Relating to Military Education, Training, or Service:  If you have completed education, training, or service that you 
believe is substantially similar to the education or training required for this credential while you were a member of the armed forces of 
the United States, active or reserve, the National Guard of any state, the military reserves of any state, or the naval militia of any state, 
you may submit such evidence with your application for review. 
 
 

CONVICTIONS 
 

 

Are you currently on court-ordered probation? Yes  □    No  □ 
 
(If you marked yes, submit a letter from your probation officer addressing the terms and current status of your probation) 
 

Have you EVER been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony?    Yes  □    No  □ 
 
If yes, enter ALL misdemeanor or felony convictions (regardless of when they occurred); you are NOT required to list 
infractions, diversions or dismissals.  Misdemeanor and felony convictions can either be processed through traffic or 
criminal court, so when you check with the county court/district court, you should ask for both traffic and criminal court 
misdemeanor and felony convictions. 
 
Name of Conviction   Date of Conviction Name of Court Taking Action 
 
 

  
 
 

  
 
 

  
 
 

  
 
 

  
 
 

  
 
Provide a letter of explanation for each conviction that you entered above. 
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If your convictions were in a state other than Nebraska, attach copies of the court documents for each conviction. 

The following provides SOME examples of convictions; this is NOT a complete list 

• MIP/ Tobacco Use by Minor
• DUI / DWI
• Controlled Substance
• Open Container
• Shoplifting / Theft / Burglary
• Unauthorized use of a Financial Transaction
• Disturbing the Peace
• Assault / Prostitution
• Disorderly Conduct / Disorderly House
• Reckless Driving

• Driving under Suspension / Revocation
• License Vehicle without Liability Insurance
• Fail to Appear in Court
• False Information or Reporting
• Leave the Scene of an Accident
• Operator not Carrying License
• Unlawful Display of Plates/Renewal tabs
• Park Rule Violation / Curfew Violation
• Dog at Large / Fail to Vaccinate Animal
• Littering / Fireworks / Bad Check

NOTE: If you have any criminal charges or license disciplinary actions pending that result in a conviction or license discipline, 
you are required to report such action to the Investigative Unit within 30 days of the conviction or disciplinary action.  Reporting 
forms can be obtained at the following website https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Investigations.aspx or by phone 402-471-0175. 

OTHER LICENSES   

These questions relate to a license that you currently hold or have held, to provide health related services in a state other 
than Nebraska.  

Have you ever been denied the right to take a license examination in any State?      Yes  □    No  □
Explain:   

Have you ever been denied the issuance of a license in any state?  Yes  □    No  □
If yes, what state(s)? What type of license? 

Explain: 

Disciplinary Action:  If you have had any disciplinary action(s) taken against your credential, you must submit a copy of 
the disciplinary action(s), including charges and findings. 

Do you hold or have held licenses to provide health-related services, health services, professional services, or 
environmental services in another state(s)? 

Yes □    
No  □

Type of License: State Licensed: 

Type of License: State Licensed: 

Type of License: State Licensed: 

If YES, has your license ever been denied, 
refused renewal, limited, suspended, 
revoked or had other disciplinary measures 
taken against it? 

Type of Action Date of Action Name of State 
Taking Action 

Yes □     No  □ 

Other Licensing Information:  If you currently hold or have held a credential to provide health related services in a state 
or jurisdiction other than Nebraska, you must submit verification of the license(s) even if that license is no longer current.  

https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Investigations.aspx
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PRACTICE PRIOR TO BEING LICEDNSED BY NEBRASKA  
Applicants who practice prior to issuance of a license are subject to assessment of an Administrative Penalty of $10 per day up to 
$1,000, or such other action as provided in the statutes and regulations governing the license. 
 

 

Have you practiced funeral directing and embalming in Nebraska without a Nebraska license?  □ Yes  □ No 
 
 

If yes, what are the actual number of days practiced in 
Nebraska without a Nebraska license and what is the 
business name, location and telephone number of the 
practice:   

Number of days: 
 
 
Name of Business: 
 
 
City: 
 
 
Telephone #: 
 
 

 

 
ATTESTATION 
 

 
For the purpose of meeting Neb. Rev. Stat. §§4-108 through 4-114 and 38-129 (check ONE of the boxes below):  
I attest that: 

□  I am a citizen of the United States.  

□  I am NOT a citizen of the United States. I am a qualified alien under the federal Immigration and Nationality Act, or a 
non-immigrant lawfully present in the United States, with documentation such as a permanent resident card, I-94 
document, asylum, etc.  

□  I am NOT a citizen of the United States. I have an unexpired Employment Authorization Document (EAD) and 
documentation listed under the Federal REAL ID act, such as DACA, pending asylum, pending refugee, etc.  

□   I am NOT a citizen of the United States, a nonimmigrant, nor a qualified alien under the Federal   
Immigration and Nationality Act. 
 
 
I further attest that:   I have read the application or have had the application read to me; and I am of good character and all 
statements on this application are true and complete. 
 
Print Name:  _____________________________________ 
 
Signature:     _____________________________________           Date: _____________________ 
 

         
 
     
MILITARY:  To view licensing services available to members of the military and their spouses, visit our website at 
https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx  

https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx
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