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Department of Health and Human Services 
Division of Public Health - Licensure Unit 
P.O. Box 94986 - Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986 

Telephone #: 402-471-2299 Please print or type application. 
        DHHS.RehabOffice@Nebraska.Gov 

Reinstatement application fee 

All licenses expire December 31, of every even year. Prorated fee: If your license is reinstated within 180 
days of the expiration date of December 31 of even-numbered years, the fee is prorated and is $76.20. 
Make your check payable to the Licensure Unit. 

Year Jan Feb Mar April May June July Aug Sept Oct Nov Dec 
Even $200 $200 $200 $200 $200 $200 $76.25 $76.25 $76.25 $76.25 $76.25 $76.25 
Odd $200 $200 $200 $200 $200 $200 $200 $200 $200 $200 $200 $200 

SECTION A - Personal Information: (All applicants must complete this section). This section is public information
 and will be displayed on the INTERNET https://www.dhhs.ne.gov/lookup. 
NOTE: All mailings from this office will be sent to the address you indicate below – If you change your address, 
you must advise this office. 
1 Legal 

Name: 
First: Middle/MI: Last: 

Maiden 
Name 

Name: Other names you are known as (AKA) 

2 Present 
Address 

Street/Box/Route: 

City: State: Zip: 

3 License number: 

SECTION B - Additional information requested. This will NOT be displayed on the internet.

4 Check the 
Appropriate 
Box(s): 

Social Security Number (SSN); 
Alien Registration Number (“A#”); or 

Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) number 

SSN# 
A# 
I-94#

If you have both a SSN and an A# or I-94 number, you must report both. Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-123 mandates disclosure 
of your social security number to DHHS. Although your number is not public information, DHHS may disclose it 
for child support enforcement purposes and to the Nebraska Department of Revenue. 

5 ** Phone #: ** Fax # 
(optional) 

** E-Mail 
Address: 
(Required) 

Revised:  09/15/2023 
Attachment A 

APPLICATION FOR REINSTATEMENT TO PRACTICE AS A 
HEARING INSTRUMENT SPECIALIST 

(Revoked, Expired, Placed on Inactive Status, Lapsed, or Voluntary Surrender without Disciplinary Action) 



□ □ 

SECTION C – Conviction and Licensure Information (all applicants must complete this section) Failure to disclose
any such conviction or disciplinary action, regardless of when the action occurred, could result in disciplinary 
action, including, but not limited to payment of a civil penalty. 
Please answer each of the following questions with regard to the time period since your license was renewed. 
Answer each of the following questions by placing a check mark in the appropriate column (yes or no) and 
completing the information requested.  

All “yes’ responses MUST be explained in detail and you must submit the requested documentation. 
 
# Question Yes No Type of Crime or Licensure 

Action Date of Action Name of Court/Entity 
Taking action 

1 
Have you ever been 
convicted of a 
misdemeanor or 
felony? 

If you answered YES to the question above, you must request the following documents be sent directly to this office: 
• A list of any misdemeanor or felony convictions;
• A copy of the Court Record, which includes charges and proof of completion:
• Explanation from the applicant of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of

actions you have taken to address the behaviors/actions related to the convictions;
• All addiction/mental health evaluations and proof of treatment, if the conviction involved a drug and/or alcohol related

offense and if treatment was obtained and/or required;
• A letter from the probation officer addressing probationary conditions and current status, if you are currently on

probation;

 
 
 

Yes No 
2 Are you or have you 

been credentialed in 
any state or 
jurisdiction? 
(Current, inactive or 
Expired credentials 
must be listed) 

If yes, what 
state(s)/jurisdiction(s) are you 
credentialed in? 

What type of credential do you hold? 

3 Has any credential 
ever been denied, 
refused renewal, 
limited, suspended, 
revoked, or had 
other disciplinary 
measures taken 
against it? 

Type of Credential Action Date of Action Name of Entity 
Taking Action 

If you answered YES to any of the questions above, you must request the following documents be sent directly to this 
office: 

• Certification of your credential in another state(s)/jurisdiction(s)
• Official Documents from the State Board in which the disciplinary action was taken.

The following questions relate to a credential that you hold or have held in health services, health related services or 
environmental services in Nebraska or another jurisdiction. 



CONTINUING COMPETENCY REQUIREMENTS:  You must have completed 24 hours of approved continuing 
education within the preceding 24 months prior to applying for Reinstatement. The Nebraska Board of Hearing 
Instrument Specialists will only accept continuing education credits which meet the criteria for continuing 
education programs as outlined in Section 008 of Title 172 Chapter 75 – Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Hearing Instrument Specialists. 

CONTINUING COMPETENCY WAIVER: If you have not completed the continuing competency requirement and wish 
to apply for a waiver of the continuing competency requirement of twenty (24) hours of continuing education, 
please submit the documentation required for the waiver you check below. 

 ____   I AM REQUESTING A WAIVER of continuing education hours. Check applicable reason(s) for waiver below: 

I have served in the regular armed forces of the United States during part of the twenty-four (24) months preceding the 
licensure renewal date and request both my continuing education requirements and renewal fee be waived. (You 
MUST provide official documentation of armed forces service, such as active-duty orders or a letter from your 
immediate superior officer.) 

I was first licensed within the twenty-four (24) months immediately preceding the license renewal 
date. Date of issuance of license:    

I have suffered a serious or disabling illness or physical disability during the credentialing period immediately preceding 
the renewal date, which prevented completion of the continuing competency requirements. (Attach a statement from 
treating physician(s) stating that you were injured or ill, the duration of the illness or injury and of the recovery 
period, and that you were unable to attend continuing education programs during that period.) 

I was not able to complete my continuing education requirement due to circumstances beyond my control. (You 
must submit documentation to support this waiver request.) 

SECTION E – CONTINUING COMPETENCY – HEARING INSTRUMENT SPECIALIST 

Section D -Practice Prior to Reinstatement   An individual who practices prior to reinstatement of a credential is 
subject to assessment of an Administrative Penalty of $10 per day up to $1,000, or such other action as provided in 
the statues and regulations governing the credential. 

1) Have you practiced as a temporary Hearing Instrument Specialist in Nebraska since your credential expired?
____  Yes        ____ No

2) If yes, what was the actual number of days you practiced in Nebraska? _______

3) What is the business name, location, and telephone number of the practice?   ________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________



 

SECTION F – ATTESTATION 

Lawful Presence in the United States Attestation: 
For the purpose of complying with Neb. Rev. Stat. §§38-129, I attest as follows: 

Please check the appropriate box(es) below: 

I am a citizen of the United States 
I am an alien lawfully admitted into the United States who is eligible for a credential under the Uniform 
Credentialing Act 
I am a non-immigrant whose visa for entry, or application for visa for entry, is related to such employment in the 
United States 

Alien or Non-immigrant Status: If you are NOT a citizen of the United States, you must submit evidence of lawful 
presence which may include a copy of: 

(1) A Green Card, otherwise known as An Alien Registration Receipt Card (Form I-551), both front and back of card
(2) An unexpired foreign passport with an unexpired Temporary I-551 stamp bearing the same name as the passport.
(3) A document showing an Alien Registration Number (A#).  An Employment Card/Document is not acceptable; or
(4) A Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record);

Application Attestation: I further attest that: 

1. I have read the application or have had the application read to me;
2. All statements on the application are true and complete;
3. I am of good character; and
4. I have not committed any act that would be grounds for denial under 38-178 and/or 38-179. If you have committed an

act(s), you must provide an explanation of all such act(s).
5. I have completed 24 hours of acceptable continuing education within the preceding 24 months pursuant to172 NAC

75-008 or requested a continued competency waiver.

Print Name: 

Signature: Date: 

NOTE: 

If an applicant has practiced while his/her credential was expired, inactive, or voluntarily surrendered, the Department may, with 
the recommendation of the Board, take one or more of the following actions: 

1. Assess an administrative penalty, in which case a separate notice of opportunity for hearing will be sent to the
applicant;

2. Deny the application to reinstate the credential;
3. Reinstate the credential to active status and impose limitation(s) or other disciplinary actions on the credential;

and/or
4. Reinstate the credential.

If an applicant has committed any other violation of the statutes and regulations governing the credential, the Department may: 

1. Deny the application for reinstatement of the credential;
2. Reinstate the credential to active status and impose limitation(s) or other disciplinary actions on the credential;

and/or
3. Reinstate the credential.

The Department will act within 150 days on all completed applications. The Department’s decision may be appealed to the 
Director by any party to the decision. The appeal must be in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. 
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