NEBRASKA Alcohol and Drug Counseling Reinstatement Information

Good Life. Great Mission.

If your license was disciplined, please contact the Licensure Unit
DHHS.Licensure2117@nebraska.gov for the appropriate application

DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

To reinstate your license, you must:
1. Complete the attached application for reinstatement.
2. Have a valid Social Security #.
3. Be lawfully present in the U.S.
4. Have already completed at least 40 hours of continuing education within the previous 24 months of submitting this
application (or meet one of the CE waiver options noted on the the application).

e At least 20 hours of continuing education per biennial renewal period must be alcohol and drug specific. (All 40
hours may be alcohol and drug specific.)

e Alicensee may earn up to 20 hours of continuing education per biennial renewal period in activities that may not be alcohol
and drug specific. To count for renewal, these hours must be approved by one of the following organizations: 1) American
Counselors Association (ACA) or National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC); 2) American Medical Association (AMA);
Nebraska Medical Association (NMA); 3) American Nurses Credentialing Center's Commission on Accreditation; 4)
American Psychological Association (APA); 5) National Association of Social Workers (NASW); 6) American Association of
Marriage and Family Therapists (AAMFT); or 7) Nebraska Nurses Association (NNA).

5. Pay the renewal and reinstatement fees. (see page 1 of the application).

If you reinstate your license at this time, the expiration date will be September 15t of the even-numbered year.

If you are NOT a U.S. Citizen, you must submit:

1. Green Card, otherwise known as a Permanent Resident Card (Form 1-551), both front and back of the card.
2. Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) AND an unexpired foreign passport with a valid unexpired US visa.
3. Employment Authorization Document (EAD) (unexpired) AND at one of the following documents under the Federal
REAL ID Act:
e An approved deferred action status (DACA);
e A pending application for asylum in the United States;
e A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the United States;
e A pending application for adjustment of status to that of an alien lawfully admitted for permanent residence; or in
the United States or conditional permanent resident status in the United States.
4. Other document that shows current immigration status

NOTE: Documents (other than those for U.S. Citizenship) are verified by our office through the Department of Homeland
Security. This process may take 4-6 weeks.

Practice After Expiration Date:

If you practiced after the expiration date of your license and prior to reinstatement, you are subject to an Administrative
Penalty of $10 per day up to $1,000, or other action as provided in the statutes and regulations governing your profession
(such as probation, limitation, censure, etc).

Additionally, if you committed any other violation of the statutes or regulations governing the practice, the Department may
deny the application for reinstatement of the license or reinstate the license to active status and impose limitation(s) or other
disciplinary actions on the license.

Questions:
If you have any questions regarding the procedure for reinstatement, please contact the Licensure Unit, at (402) 471-2117 or
DHHS.licensure2117@nebraska.gov

If your license is reinstated, you will receive an e-mail or mail notice so you can print your wallet card from our website:
TO PRINT YOUR WALLET CARD GO TO: http://www.nebraska.gov/LISSearch/search.cgi
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NEBRASKA

Good Life. Great Mission.

DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

Licensure Unit Reinstatement Application
Alcohol and Drug Counselor

Enter License #:

2022

Licensure Unit

P.O. Box 94986

Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986

(402) 471-2112 Email: dhhs.licensure2117@nebraska.gov

Enter LEGAL NAME below
First Name: Middle Name:
Last Name: Suffix:
DEMOGRAPHICS
List any other names the applicant has ever been known as
(AKA), including maiden and your last name on the birth
certificate.).
License #:
Mailing Address
Country: Zip Code:
Address Line 1: City:
Address Line 2: State:
Address Line 3: County:
Is the Physical address the same? Yes |:| No |:|
Physical Address (complete if different than Mailing Address)
Country: Zip Code:
Address Line 1: City:
Address Line 2: State:
Address Line 3: County:
Does the applicant have a social security number?
ppli v i urity nu Yes |:| No|:|

Social Security Number (SSN):

provide it to the Department of Revenue or the Department of Labor.

Neb. Rev. Stat. §§38-123 and 38-130 requires the applicant to provide their social security number to DHHS. Although this number is
not public information, DHHS may share the social security number for child support enforcement or other administrative purposes and




Reinstatement Application — Page 2

Is th licant a US Citizen?
s the applicant a itizen Yes I:I NOI:I

If not a U.S. Citizen, list the A# or |-94#:
itiz i [IA#

Date of Birth:

Place of Birth (City/State or Country):

E-Mail Address:

Primary Phone Number: :I Mobile
I:l Check box if # Outside U.S.
Work Ext:
Secondary Phone Number: Mobile
I:l Check box if # Outside U.S.
Work Ext:

| CONVICTIONS
[

Is the applicant currently on court-ordered probation?  Yes I:l No

(If yes, submit a letter from the probation officer addressing the terms and current status of probation)

Was the applicant convicted of a misdemeanor or felony in any state/jurisdiction since the license was last active.
Yes |:| No|:|

If yes, list below misdemeanor or felony convictions.

Name of Conviction Date of Conviction Name of Court Taking Action

Provide a letter of explanation for each conviction that you entered above.

If the applicant’s convictions were in a state other than Nebraska, attach copies of the court documents for each
conviction.

Drug or Alcohol Related Convictions. If the applicant has drug or alcohol related conviction(s), to aid in the application
review, the applicant may submit evaluation and discharge summaries where drug or alcohol treatment was obtained or
required. Evaluations and discharge summaries may be submitted by the provider directly to the department.

NOTE: If the applicant has any criminal charges or license disciplinary actions pending that result in a conviction or
license discipline, they are required to report such action to the Investigative Unit within 30 days of the conviction or
disciplinary action. Reporting forms can be obtained at the following website
https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Investigations.aspx or by phone 402-471-0175.



https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Investigations.aspx

Reinstatement Application — Page 3

| OTHER LICENSES

Yes|:|No|:| Did the applicant obtain a license to provide health-related services, health services, professional services,
or environmental services in a state other than Nebraska since the Nebraska license was last active?

Type of License: State Licensed:
If YES, has the license ever been denied, Type of Action Date of Action Name of State Taking
refused renewal, limited, suspended, Action

revoked or had other disciplinary measures
taken against it?

Yes|:| No|:|

Disciplinary Action: If the applicant has had any disciplinary action(s) taken against their credential, request a copy of the
disciplinary action(s), including charges and findings be sent directly from the State Licensing Agency.

| CONTINUING COMPETENCY/EDUCATION |
[

To reinstate the license, the applicant must have already completed the required continuing competency/education within the
previous 24 months before submitting this application.

Continuing Competency/Education:

Has the applicant met the continuing education requirements? Yes|:| NoI:I

| WAIVER OF CONTINUING COMPETENCY/EDUCATION |
|

If the continuing education was not completed, the applicant may qualify for a waiver; select the waiver being requested in
the section below.

Initial License: First licensed within the previous 24 months before submitting this application for reinstatement.

Military: Actively engaged in military service and served for 30 consecutive days on full-time active duty or approved
—1| leave within the previous 24 months before submitting this application for reinstatement. Military service is defined as
full-time duty in the active military of the United States, a National Guard call to active service for more than 30
consecutive days, or active service as a commissioned officer of the Public Health Service or the National Oceanic
and Atmospheric Administration.

Submit a copy of the military orders to the DHHS Licensure Unit. There is no fee or continuing education requirement
for military status.

I:I Circumstances Beyond My Control: Did not complete the continuing competency education requirements due to
circumstances beyond the applicant’s control.

Waivers of continuing education may be considered for circumstances lasting longer than 30 consecutive days that
DHHS determines are beyond the applicant’s control.

Provide the following information:
1. List the reason(s) the applicant was not able to complete the required continuing competency/education.

2. Did this last longer than 30 consecutive days? Yes |_|No
3. lIsthe apﬁant requesting a waiver of the total hours of continuing education or a partial waiver?

I:ITotaI Partial

If a partial waiver, how many hours are being requested? # of Hours:




Reinstatement Application — Page 4

| PRACTICE WIHOUT AN ACTIVE LICENSE
|

An Administrative Penalty of $10 per day up to $1,000 may be assessed, or other action as provided in the statutes and
regulations, for practice without an active license.

Did the applicant practice this profession in Nebraska without an active license?
PP P P Yes |:| No |:|

If yes, what are the actual number of days Number of days:
practiced in Nebraska without an active Nebraska
license and what is the business name, location Name of Business:
and telephone number of the practice:

City:

Telephone #:

ATTESTATION

For the purpose of meeting Neb. Rev. Stat. §§4-108 through 4-114 and 38-129 (check ONE of the boxes below):

The applicant attests that they are:
A citizen of the United States.

OR

|:| NOT a citizen of the United States. They are a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act or a

non-immigrant lawfully present in the United States, with documentation such as a permanent resident card, 1-94
document, asylum, etc.

I:I NOT a citizen of the United States. They have an unexpired Employment Authorization Document (EAD) and
documentation listed under the Federal REAL ID act, such as DACA, pending asylum, pending refugee, etc.

NOT a citizen of the United States, a nonimmigrant, nor a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality
Act.

The applicant further attests that they:

1. Have read the application or have had the application read to them; and
2. Are of good character and all statements on this application are true and complete.

Print Name:

Signature: Date:

| APPLICATION FEE
[

The reinstatement fee is shown below:
If applying within 6 months of the expiration date (9/1 even numbered years), the fee is $78.75.

FEE: The fee due is listed by month and year.

YEAR Jan Feb Mar Apr May June July Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec

Even Numbered Year | $210 | $175 $78.75 | $78.75 | $78.75 | $78.75 | $78.75 | $78.75 | $210 $210 $210 $210

Odd Numbered Year $210 | $210 $210 $210 $210 $210 $210 $210 $210 $210 $210 $210

Pay by check or money order to: Licensure Unit
Debit or credit card is not accepted.
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