NEBRASKA Application Information
SepsIn S rREn Nail Technology Instructor by RECIPROCITY

DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES L I Censed | n An Oth er State

Information for Military Spouses:

Temporary License: If you have an active Nail Technology Instructor license in another state and you are a military spouse, you
may be issued a temporary license pending completion of the permanent license requirements. A temporary license specifically
for military spouses is available under Neb. Rev. Stat. 38-129.01 and is issued for a period not to exceed 1-year. Please review
the following documents required to obtain a temporary license and those listed for a permanent license to determine which
process is right for you.

To apply for this temporary license, you need to be a resident of Nebraska and submit the following:

e The attached application

e A copy of your military dependent identification card identifying you as the spouse of an active duty member of the United
States Armed Forces

e A copy of your spouse’s military orders reflecting an active-duty assignment in Nebraska

e A copy of your Nail Technology Instructor license from another state or jurisdiction

e A copy of the statutes, rules, and regulations governing your license which indicate standards that are similar to
Nebraska’s Nail Technology Instructor licensing requirements.

e  $25 temporary license fee and Permanent license fee (unless you qualify for a fee waiver).

Permanent Nail Technology Instructor License in Nebraska - Requirements and Process:

1. You must be at least 17 years old and Lawfully Present in the United States.

2. You must be licensed as an instructor in another state/jurisdiction. Your license must have been based on an examination;
however, if an examination was not required, then you must take the National-Interstate Council of State Boards of
Cosmetology (NIC) instructor examination.

3. Hold a current Nebraska Nail Technology license.

4. You must have completed at least 300 hours of nail technology instructor. If you did not complete a 300 hour training
program, 100 hours counts for each month of full-time practice as a nail technology instructor within the 5 years immediately
prior to this application towards training.

LICENSE FEE WAIVER: Starting January 1, 2020, if you meet one of the following waiver options, your initial license is
waived:

1. Young Worker: You are between the ages of 17 and 25 (under the age of 26).

2. Low-Income Individual: You are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program such as the medical assistance
program established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP),
or the federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program, OR your household adjusted gross income is below
130% of the federal income poverty guideline.

e Ifyou live in Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, no further documentation is required
to be submitted.

e Ifyou live in a state other than Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, submit a copy of a
document showing current enrollment.

¢ If your household adjusted gross income is at 130% of the Federal Income Poverty Guideline or below, click this link to
see the current income guidelines https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/documents/LowincomeFeeWaiverTable.pdf. To be
eligible for this waiver, you must submit a copy of your most recent tax return.

3. Military Family: You are an active duty service member in the armed services of the United States, a military spouse, honorably
discharged veteran of the armed services of the United States, spouse of such honorably discharged veteran, and un-remarried
surviving spouses of deceased service members of the armed services of the United States. To be eligible for this waiver, you
must submit a copy of your ID card, discharge paperwork, or similar document that shows you are a military family member as
described above.

MILITARY: To view licensing services available to members of the military and their spouses, visit our website at
https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx
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To apply for a License:

| STEP 1: Get copies of the following documents:

NON-ENGLISH DOCUMENTS. Any documents written in a language other than English must translated into the English language.
You must submit a copy of the original document and the translated document. The translation must be an original document and
contain the notarized or equivalent signature of the translator. An individual may not translate his/her own documents.

1. [ uUs citizenship/Lawful Presence (must be at least 17 years old):

U.S. Citizen, a PHOTOCOPY of one of the following:

[ Birth Certificate (Hospital issued keepsake birth certificates cannot be accepted).
O us. Passport (unexpired or expired).

L] certificate of Naturalization.

[ Other documents that show U.S. Citizenship.

A Driver’s License is NOT acceptable.

NOT a U.S. Citizen, a PHOTOCOPY of one of the following:
] Green Card, otherwise known as a Permanent Resident Card (Form 1-551), both front and back of the card;

[J Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) AND an unexpired foreign passport with a valid unexpired US visa; or
1 Employment Authorization Card AND
1 An approved deferred action status (DACA);
1 A pending application for asylum in the United States;
1 A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the United States; or
1 A pending application for adjustment of status to that of an alien lawfully admitted for permanent
Residence in the United States or conditional permanent resident status in the United States.

NOTE: Documents (other than those for U.S. Citizenship) are verified by our office through the Department of Homeland
Security. This process may take up to 30 days.

2. [ oOther State License Information: You must contact the states in which you are licensed or have held a license and
request the State Office to complete Attachment 1 or a similar document. (DO NOT send a copy of your license).

3. [ Education: a PHOTOCOPY of:
L] Your Nail Technology Instructor’s school diploma.

Information Relating to Military Education, Training, or Service:

If you have completed education, training, or service that you believe is substantially similar to the education or training
required for this credential while you were a member of the armed forces of the United States, active or reserve, the
National Guard of any state, the military reserves of any state, or the naval militia of any state, you may submit such
evidence with your application for review.

4. [ conviction Information: If you have EVER received a ticket from law enforcement or animal control, check the court
system to see if the ticket is on your record as a misdemeanor or felony conviction. Speeding tickets are not misdemeanors
or felonies. You are required to list ALL convictions (regardless of when they occurred) on the application; you are NOT
required to list infractions, diversions or dismissals. Misdemeanor and felony convictions can either be processed through
traffic or criminal court, so when you check with the county court/district court, you should ask for both traffic and criminal
court misdemeanor/felony convictions.

If you have convictions, you must submit:

(i) A copy of the court record related to all misdemeanor and felony convictions, that includes the statement of charges and
final disposition, if the conviction(s) occurred in a state other than Nebraska;

(ii) An explanation of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions that the
applicant has taken to address the behaviors or actions related to the conviction; and

(iii) A letter from the applicant’s probation officer addressing the terms and current status of the probation, if the applicant is
currently on probation.

If you had an alcohol and drug evaluation and/or completed treatment, to assist the Board and Department in review of
any drug and/or alcohol conviction(s), the treatment provider must submit all evaluations/discharge summaries directly to the
Department.
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The following provides SOME examples of convictions; this is NOT a complete list
e MIP/ Tobacco Use by Minor ¢ Driving under Suspension / Revocation
e DUI/ DWI/ Open Container ¢ License Vehicle without Liability Insurance
e Controlled Substance ¢ False Information or Reporting
e Shoplifting / Theft / Burglary e Reckless Driving / Leave the Scene of an Accident
e Unauthorized use of a Financial Transaction e Operator not Carrying License
¢ Disturbing the Peace e Unlawful Display of Plates/Renewal tabs
e Assault / Prostitution ¢ Park Rule Violation / Curfew Violation
¢ Disorderly Conduct / Disorderly House e Dog at Large / Fail to Vaccinate Animal
e Fail to Appear in Court e Littering / Fireworks / Bad Check

NOTE: If you have any criminal charges or license disciplinary actions pending that result in a conviction or license

discipline, you are required to report such action to the Investigative Unit within 30 days of the conviction or disciplinary

action. Reporting forms can be obtained at the following website: https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Investigations.aspx or by phone

402-471-0175.

| STEP 2: Complete all Sections of the Application

| STEP 3: Get a Certification from the State where you currently hold a license- Attachment 1

STEP 4: Submit your application to the Licensure Unit

] Completed Application
] Citizenship or Lawful Presence Document
[] Education Documents

[ conviction Records (if you have convictions)

[] License Certifications (for each state that you hold a license)

L] The License Fee (unless you qualified for a fee waiver). See the license
application for a listing of fees for Cosmetologists and Estheticians. Pay by
check/money order (your cancelled check is your proof of receipt);
debit or credit card is not accepted.

Application Review: All applications are reviewed in date order received.

e If your application is missing information, you will be contacted by e-mail within approximately 10 days; the e-mail will list

the information that is required to compete your application.

within this 90 days, your application will be closed and all documents destroyed. A new application will then be required.

e If your application is complete, you will receive by e-mail your license #.

Records Retention Schedule: When your license is issued, your application and documents will be kept by the Department for 5

years; then all documents will be destroyed. We encourage you to keep a copy of your application for your records.

You have 90 days to complete your application; if not completed

Contact Information: Licensure Unit, Phone: 402-471-2399 / FAX: 402-742-1106 / E-Mail: dhhs.licensure2117@nebraska.gov
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Good Life. Great Mission.

RECIPROCITY

Nail Technology Instructor Application
(Licensed in another State)

DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

Licensure Unit
P.O. Box 94986, Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986
Phone: 402-471-2399 / FAX: 402-742-1106 / E-Mail: dhhs.licensure2117@nebraska.gov

Mail this application to the address listed above. You must complete all sections of this application

| LICENSE FEES:

A. Fee Waiver: If you meet one of the following fee waivers, your initial license fee is waived.
Check only one waiver:

I:l Young Worker: | am under 26 years old.

I:l Low-income Individual:

I:l I am enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, including, but not limited to, the

medical assistance program established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition
Assistance Program, or the federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families program, OR

I:l My household adjusted gross income is below 130% of the federal income poverty guideline.

I:' Military Family: | am an active duty service member in the armed services of the United States, a military spouse, honorably

discharged veteran of the armed services of the United States, spouse of such honorably discharged veteran, and un-remarried
surviving spouses of deceased service members of the armed services of the United States.

B. Fee Required if YOU DO NOT gqualify for one of the above fee waivers you must pay the fee listed in the
chart below. Review the charts to determine the fee required based on the month and year in which your license will be
issued

Pay by check or money order to: Licensure Unit
Your cancelled check is your proof of payment. Payment is processed upon receipt. Debit or credit card is not accepted.

YEAR Jan Feb Mar Apr May June | July Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Even Number Year $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50

Odd Numbered Year $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $50 $25 $25 $25 $25 $25 $25

NOTE: Licenses expire12-31 of odd-numbered years ($50 is the renewal fee)

SECTION A: INFORMATION
1 | You must print your Legal Name below
First: Middle: Last Name:

List any other names, you are or have ever been known as (AKA),
including maiden name and your last name on your birth certificate

2 | Address: Street/PO/Route:
City: State or Country: Zip:
3 | Social Security Nebraska Nail Technology
Number (SSN): License #

Neb. Rev. Stat. §§38-123 and 38-130 requires you to provide your social security number to DHHS. Although your number is not
public information, DHHS may share your social security number for child support enforcement or other administrative purposes
and provide it to the Department of Revenue or the Department of Labor.

4 | If you ARE NOT a U.S. Citizen, list
your Alien Registration # or [-94 #: D A D 1-94 #
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5 | Date of Birth (Month/Day/Year): Place of Birth (City/State or COUNTRY):

6 | Phone #: (optional)* Additional Phone #: (optional)*

E-Mail Address:

* phone number and e-mail is optional, but providing this information will speed up communication with you

7 | Have you ever been denied the right to

take a license examination in any Yes |:| No |:| If yes, explain:
State?

8 | Military Spouse: Are you the spouse
of an active duty member of the United | Yes |:| No |:|

States Armed Forces who has an : :
active-duty assignment in in Nebraska? _If checked yes and you are app_lylng_ fora temporary license, you must
include all documentation identified in the instructions.

SECTION B: CONVICTION AND LICENSE INFORMATION
Failure to list any conviction(s) or disciplinary action(s), regardless of when the action occurred, could result in disciplinary
action.

CONVICTION INFORMATION: You must list ALL misdemeanor or felony convictions (regardless of when they occurred).

1 | Have you EVER been Name of Conviction Date of Action Name of Court Taking
convicted of a Action

misdemeanor or felony?

Yes[ ] No[]

The following provides SOME examples of convictions; this is NOT a complete list

MIP/ Tobacco Use by Minor

DUI / DWI

Controlled Substance

Open Container

Shoplifting / Theft / Burglary

Unauthorized use of a Financial Transaction
Disturbing the Peace

Assault / Prostitution

Disorderly Conduct / Disorderly House
Reckless Driving

Driving under Suspension / Revocation
License Vehicle without Liability Insurance
Fail to Appear in Court

False Information or Reporting

Leave the Scene of an Accident

Operator not Carrying License

Unlawful Display of Plates/Renewal tabs
Park Rule Violation / Curfew Violation

Dog at Large / Fail to Vaccinate Animal
Littering / Fireworks / Bad Check
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LICENSE INFORMATION: The following questions relate to a license that you currently hold or have held (such as nursing, nail
technology, massage, etc.) in a state other than Nebraska.

1 Do you hold or have you held a license in If yes, what What type of license?
any other state(s)? state(s)?

Yes|:| No |:|

W HIES, Bt ey I|_ce_nse Sz BEE e, Type of Action Date of Action | Name of State Taking Action
refused renewal, limited, suspended,
revoked or had other disciplinary measures
taken against it?

Yes|:| No |:|

SECTION C: EDUCATION

1 | Name of Nail Technology School:

2 | City and State where the school is
located:

Information Relating to Military Education, Training, or Service:

If you have completed education, training, or service that you believe is substantially similar to the education or training required
for this credential while you were a member of the armed forces of the United States, active or reserve, the National Guard of
any state, the military reserves of any state, or the naval militia of any state, you may submit such evidence with your application

for review.

SECTION D: INSTRUCTOR EXPERIENCE

If your nail technology instructor programs is less than 300 hours, complete the following:

List below the Name of the School, Location, Telephone Number, and Dates of Full Time Instructor Practice that you worked within
the Last 5 Years Prior to sending this Application:

Name of School City State | Telephone # Date Began Date Ended
Month/Day/Year Month/Day/Year

SECTION E: PRACTICE PRIOR TO LICENSE
If you practice in Nebraska without a Nebraska Instructor’s license, you are subject to assessment of an Administrative Penalty
of $10 per day up to $1,000, or other action as provided in the statutes and regulations.

Have you practiced as a nail technology instructor in Nebraska without a Nebraska license?

[ INo [] Yes

If yes, what are the actual number of days you practiced | Number of days:
in Nebraska without a Nebraska license and what is the
business name, location and telephone number of the

practice: Name of Business:

City:

Telephone #:
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SECTION F: ATTESTATION

For the purpose of meeting Neb. Rev. Stat. §§4-108 through 4-114 and 38-129 (check ONE of the boxes below): | attest that:

|:| | am a citizen of the United States.

|:| | am NOT a citizen of the United States. | am a qualified alien under the federal Immigration and Nationality Act, or

a non-immigrant lawfully present in the United States, with documentation such as a permanent resident card, 1-94
document, asylum, etc.

|:| I am NOT a citizen of the United States. | have an unexpired Employment Authorization Document (EAD) and
documentation listed under the Federal REAL ID act, such as DACA, pending asylum, pending refugee, etc.

|:| I am NOT a citizen of the United States, a nonimmigrant, nor a qualified alien under the Federal
Immigration and Nationality Act

| further attest that:

1. | have read the application or have had the application read to me; and
2. 1am of good character and all statements on this application are true and complete.

Print Name:

Signature: Date:

MILITARY: To view licensing services available to members of the military and their spouses, visit our website at
https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx
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NEBRASKA

Good Life. Great Mission.
DEPT. OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

Licensure Unit, P.O. Box 94986

Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986

Telephone: 402-471-2399

Fax: 402-742-1106

E-mail: dhhs.licensure2117@nebraska.gov

Attachment 1

This form must be completed by the State
Licensing Board in all States that you are licensed

NAIL TECHNOLOGY INSTRUCTOR
CERTIFICATION OF LICENSE

Print or Type
LICENSE INFORMATION
1 | Name of
Licensee:
2 | License #:
3 | License Type:
4 | Date Issued:
5 | Date Expires:
6 | Disciplinary [] Yes [ No
Action: If YES, provide copies of the Disciplinary Action
7 | Examination
Score:
8 | Date of
Examination:
NAIL TECHNOLOGY INSTRUCTOR EDUCATION
Name of School:
Address
City/State/Zip:
Graduation Date:
Total Hours Earned:
STATE AGENCY INFORMATION
1 | Name of State:
2 | Address:
City State Zip Code
3 | OPTIONAL
Telephone
Number:
4 | Name and Title of Name Title
Person Completing
Form
Signature
STATE SEAL
Date
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