
Dear Applicant: 

Our office is in receipt of your request to reinstate your Optometrist license, License # ___________.  Our records 
indicate that your license expired on __________. 

To reinstate your license, you must submit the following documentation: 

1. A complete application for reinstatement (form enclosed).

2. The renewal and reinstatement fees.

The breakdown of the specific renewal fees now due are as follows: 

License Renewal Fee $   146.00 
Reinstatement Fee $     35.00 
Total fee due $   181.00 

3. You must request a certificate of licensure from each state be sent to the department no matter the status of your

license in the states in which you have held or hold a license.

Please be advised that should you reinstate your license at this time, the expiration date will be August 1, 2020.   At 
least 30 days prior to that date you will be sent notification of the need to submit a completed renewal application, 
the renewal fee payment and evidence of the required continued competency, on or before the expiration date. 

If you have any questions regarding the procedure for reinstatement, please contact the Medical Licensing program 
area at (402) 471-2118.  

Sincerely, 

Licensure Unit 
PO Box 94986 
301 Centennial Mall South 
Lincoln, NE  68509 
Phone: (402) 471-2118 Phone: (402) 742-8355 

DHHS.MedicalOffice@nebraska.gov

Attachments 

mailto:DHHS.MedicalOffice@nebraska.gov


Department of Health and Human Services  
Division of Public Health - Licensure Unit 
P.O. Box 94986 - Lincoln, Nebraska  68509-4986 
E-mail:  dhhs.medicaloffice@nebraska.gov 
Telephone #:  402-471-2118

APPLICATION FOR REINSTATEMENT OF A LICENSE TO PRACTICE 
(Revoked, Expired, Placed on Inactive Status, or Lapsed) 

I hereby apply for reinstatement of my license to practice as an Optometrist, License # _____________ in the State of Nebraska and 
submit the required fee of $(146.00 renewal fee and 35.00 reinstatement fee). 

Name: 
Address: 

SECTION A – PERSONAL INFORMATION  (All applicants must complete this section) (This information is not displayed on the 
internet) 

1 Phone #: E-Mail Address: 

2 Check the 
Appropriate 
Box(s): -94 (Arrival-Departure Record) number: 

SSN# 

A# 

I-94 # 

If you have both a SSN and an A# or I-94 number, you must report both. 

Social Security Numbers obtained are not public information but may be shared by the Department for administrative 
purposes if necessary and only under appropriate circumstances to ensure against any unauthorized access to this 
information. 

Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-123 mandates disclosure of your social security number to DHHS.  Although your number is not public information, 
DHHs may disclose it for child support enforcement purposes and to the Nebraska Department of Revenue. 

SECTION B – CONVICTION AND LICENSURE INFORMATION  (All applicants must complete this section)   
Failure to disclose any such conviction or disciplinary action, regardless of when the action occurred, could result in 
disciplinary action, including, but not limited to, payment of a civil penalty. 

NOTE:  If you have any criminal charges or license disciplinary actions pending that results in conviction or license discipline, 
you are required to report such actions to the Investigative Unit  within 30 days https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/investigations.aspx or 
by telephone at 402-471-0175. 

Answer each of the following questions by placing a () in the appropriate box (yes or no) and completing the information requested. 
All ‘yes’ responses MUST be explained in detail and you must submit the requested documentation. 

Conviction Information: 

# Question Yes No Type of Crime or Licensure Action Date of Action 
Name of Court/Entity 

Taking action 

1 
Have you  
been convicted  
of a misdemeanor  
or felony since your 
license was active? 

If you answered YES, you must submit the following documents: 

a) The court record, which includes charges and disposition;
b) Arrest records;
c) A letter from the applicant of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions the

applicant has taken to address the behaviors/actions related to the convictions;
d) All addiction/mental health evaluations and proof of any treatment obtained; and
e) A letter from the probation officer addressing probationary conditions and current status if the applicant is currently on probation;

Licensure Information: 

The following questions relate to a credential that you hold or have held in health services, health-related services or environmental 
services in another jurisdiction. You must request a certificate of licensure from each state be sent to the department no matter the 
status of your license in the states in which you have held or hold a license. 

Date of Status: 

DOB: 

Place of Birth:

mailto:dhhs.medicaloffice@nebraska.gov
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  Yes No    

2 
 

Are you licensed in any 
state? 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

If yes, what State(s) are you 
licensed in? 
 

What type of license do you hold? 

 
 

 

 
 

 

If yes, has your license ever 
been denied, refused 
renewal, limited, 
suspended, revoked or had 
other disciplinary measures 
taken against it? 

 
 
 

 
 
 

Type of Licensure Action 
 

Date of Action 
 

Name of Entity taking 
Action 

 
 

  

 
 

  

 

If you have had any disciplinary actions taken against your credential, you must submit a copy of the disciplinary action(s), including 
charges and disposition. 

 
SECTION C - CONTINUING COMPETENCY:    

 

CONTINUING COMPETENCY REQUIREMENTS 
 

 
You must have earned 44 hours of continuing competency within the previous two-year period immediately preceding the date of this 
application. 

 
All applicants for reinstatement must answer the following question by placing a () in the 
appropriate box (yes or no): 
 

Have you met the continuing competency requirements as outlined above?   

 
Yes 

 

 
No 

 
 

 
 

 

WAIVER OF CONTINUING COMPETENCY:  If you have not completed the continuing competency requirement, and 
wish to apply for a waiver of the continuing competency requirement, check the appropriate reason below: 
 

 Military:  I have served in the regular armed forces of the United States during part of the 24 months immediately 
preceding the biennial licensure renewal date.  (Attach official documentation stating dates of service)  If you meet 
this exemption, you are not required to pay the renewal fee. 

 Initial License:  I was first licensed within the 26 months immediately preceding my date of application for active 
status. 

 

SECTION D – QUESTIONS:   
 

QUESTIONS 
 

All applicants for reinstatement must answer the following questions by placing a () in the appropriate box (yes or no).  The 

questions pertain to the time period since the license was last active, unless otherwise specified.  For any yes answers, explain the 
circumstances and outcome.  The applicant will be notified of any additional documentation which is required by the 
Board/Department: 

SECTION I Yes No 

1.  Has any credential you hold in the other jurisdiction(s) been denied, refused renewal, or 
disciplined by another jurisdiction(s) since the license was last active that has not been previously 
reported?  (If NOT credentialed in another jurisdiction answer “NO”.)  If “YES”, please provide a list 
of any disciplinary actions taken against your credential and a copy of the disciplinary action(s), 
including charges and dispositions. 

 
 

 

 
 

 

2.  Have you ever voluntarily surrendered or voluntarily limited in any way a license or permit 
issued to you by a licensing or disciplinary authority? 

 
 

 
 

3.  Have you ever been requested to appear before any licensing agency?                                       
 
 

 
 

4.  Have you ever been notified of any charges, complaints or other actions filed against you by 
any licensing or disciplinary authority?                                                                                                

 
 

 
 

5.  Are you aware of any pending disciplinary actions or of any on-going investigations of a 
complaint against your license or permit in any jurisdiction?                                                               

 
 

 
 

6.  Have you ever been asked to and/or permitted to withdraw an application for licensure or permit 
with any Board or jurisdiction?                                                                                                  

 
 

 
 

7.  Has any state or jurisdiction refused to issue, refused to renew or denied you a license or 
permit to practice? 

 
 

 
 

SECTION II Yes No 



 

1.  Are you currently, or have you ever been, addicted to, dependent upon or chronically impaired 
by alcohol, narcotics, barbiturates, or other drugs which may cause physical and/or psychological 
dependence? 

 
 

 

 
 

 

2.  Within the past 5 years, have you received any therapy/treatment or been admitted to any 
hospital or other in-patient care facility for reasons relating to your use/abuse of alcohol, narcotics, 
barbiturates, or other drugs? 

 
 

 

 
 

 

3.  Do you currently, or have you ever had, any physical, mental, or emotional condition which 
impaired, or does impair your ability to practice your health care profession safely and 
competently? 

 
 

 

 
 

 

4.  Within the past 5 years, has any licensing agency or credentialing organization initiated any 
inquiry into your physical, mental or emotional health? 

 
 

 
 

SECTION III Yes No 

1.  Have you ever been restricted, suspended, terminated, requested to voluntarily resign, place on 
probation, counseled, received a warning or been subject to any remedial or disciplinary action 
during optometry school or postgraduate training? 

 
 

 

 
 

 

SECTION IV Yes No 

1.  Have you ever been convicted of a felony?  
       

 
 

 
 

2.  Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor?  
 

 
 

 
 

3.  Have you ever been notified of any charges, complaints or other actions filed against you by 
any criminal prosecution authority?                                                                             

 
 

 

 
 

 

SECTION V YES NO 

1.  Have you ever been denied a Federal Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) Registration or 
state controlled substances registration? 

 
 

 

 
 

 

2.  Have you ever been called before any licensing agency or lawful authority concerned with DEA 
controlled substances? 

 
 

 

 
 

 

3.  Have you ever surrendered your state or federal controlled substances registration? 
 

 
 

 

 
 

 

4.  Have you ever had your state or federal controlled substances registration restricted or 
disciplined in any way? 
 

 
 

 

 
 

 

 
 

SECTION VI Yes No 

1.  Have you been notified of any professional liability claim that resulted in an adverse judgment, 
settlement, or award, including settlements made prior to suit in which the patient releases any 
professional liability claim against the applicant? 

 
 

 

 
 

 

2.  Are you aware of any professional liability claims currently pending against you? 
 
 

 
 

SECTION VII Yes No 

1.  Have you committed any immoral or dishonorable acts that would evidence unfitness to practice 
your profession? 

  

2.  Have you practiced : 

  Fraudulently? 

  Beyond your authorized scope? 

  With gross incompetence or gross negligence? 

  In a pattern of incompetent or negligent conduct? 

 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

3.  Have you permitted, aided, or abetted the practice of any profession by a person not 
credentialed to do so? 

  

4.  Have you used untruthful, deceptive, or misleading advertising?   

5.  Have you been convicted of fraudulent or misleading advertising, or of violating the Uniform 
Deceptive Trade Practices Act? 

  

6.  Have you unlawfully distributed intoxication liquors, controlled substances, or drugs?   

7.  Have you violated: 

  The Uniform Credentialing Act? 

  Mandatory Reporting Regulations? 

  The Uniform Controlled Substances Act? 

 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

8.  Have you invaded a field of practice for which you are not credentialed?   

9.  Have you committed any acts of unprofessional conduct relating to Optometry? (Refer to the 
Practice Act and Regulations for Optometry.) 

  

10.  Have you been denied the right to take a Credentialing Examination?   

 



 

SECTION E – ATTESTATION 
 

 
An individual who practices prior to issuance of a credential is subject to assessment of an Administrative Penalty of $10 per day up 
to $1,000, or such other action as provided in the statutes and regulations governing the credential. 
 

1 I have practiced optometry in Nebraska since I last 
held an active credential?   

 
 

 
2 If yes, what are the actual number of days you 

practiced optometry in Nebraska, and what is the 
business name, location and telephone number of the 
practice:   

 
# of days:  _______________ 
 
 
Name of Business: 

 
City: 

 
 

SECTION E – ATTESTATION Cont’d 

 

Attestation: For the purpose of complying with Neb. Rev. Stat. §§4-108 through 4-114 and 38-129 (check ONE of the 
boxes below):  
 
I attest that:  
□      I am a citizen of the United States.  
 
OR  
□      I am a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act.  
 
□      I am a nonimmigrant lawfully present in the United States.  
 
□      Check this box if you are NOT a citizen of the United States, a nonimmigrant, nor a qualified alien  
        under the Federal Immigration and Nationality Act.  
 
NOTE: You may still be eligible for a credential if you provide a photocopy of your unexpired Employment Authorization  
Document (EAD) and evidence of meeting section 202(c)(2)(B)(i) through (ix) of the Federal REAL ID Act of 2005.  
 

Application Attestation: I attest that:  

 
1. I have read the application or have had the application read to me; and  
2. All statements on this application are true and complete.  
 
Print Name: _____________________________________  
 

Signature: _______________________________________  Date: ___________________ 
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