
Provisional Psychology 
Application Information 

Provisional Psychologist License Requirements: 
This license applies only to persons earning experience in Nebraska towards the Psychology license.  You must have: 

• A doctoral degree in psychology that is accredited by the American Psychological Association (APA) or evidence to
demonstrate equivalency to APA.

• Completed a 1-year APA accredited internship or equivalent.
• A designated supervisor who is a Nebraska licensed psychologist.

For more information, visit our website at:  https://dhhs.ne.gov/Licensure/Pages/Psychology.aspx 

License Fee Waiver:  If you meet one of the following waiver options, your license fee is waived:

1. Young Worker:   You are between the ages of 19 and 25 (under the age of 26).

2. Low-Income Individual:  You are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program such as the medical assistance 
program established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), or 
the federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program, OR your household adjusted gross income is below 
130% of the federal income poverty guideline.
• If you live in Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, no further documentation is 

required to be submitted.
• If you live in a state other than Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, submit a copy of a 

document showing current enrollment.
• If your household adjusted gross income is at 130% of the Federal Income Poverty Guideline or below, click this link to see 

the current income guidelines https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/documents/LowIncomeFeeWaiverTable.pdf.  To be eligible for 
this waiver, you must submit a copy of your most recent tax return.

3. Military Family:  You are an active duty service member in the armed services of the United States, a military spouse, honorably 
discharged veteran of the armed services of the United States, spouse of such honorably discharged veteran, and un-remarried 
surviving spouses of deceased service members of the armed services of the United States.  To be eligible for this waiver, 
you must submit a copy of your ID card, discharge paperwork, or similar document that shows you are a military family 
member as described above.

MILITARY:  To view licensing services available to members of the military and their spouses, visit our website at 
https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx  

To apply you submit: 
Checklist of Required Documents:  

1.    US Citizenship/Lawful Presence (must also be at least 19 years old):

U.S. Citizen, a PHOTOCOPY of one of the following:  
  Birth Certificate (Hospital issued keepsake birth certificates cannot be accepted). 
  U.S. Passport (unexpired or expired). 
  Certificate of Naturalization. 
  Other documents that show U.S. Citizenship. 

A Driver’s License or SS Card is NOT acceptable. 

NOT a U.S. Citizen, a PHOTOCOPY of one of the following: 
  Green Card, otherwise known as a Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551), both front and back of the card; 
  Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) AND an unexpired foreign passport with a valid unexpired US visa; or 
  Employment Authorization Card AND 

 An approved deferred action status (DACA); 
 A pending application for asylum in the United States; 
 A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the United States; or 
 A pending application for adjustment of status to that of an alien lawfully admitted for permanent 
     Residence in the United States or conditional permanent resident status in the United States. 

NOTE:  Documents (other than those for U.S. Citizenship) are verified by our office through the Department of Homeland 
Security. This process may take up to 30 days. 

https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/psychology.aspx
https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/documents/LowIncomeFeeWaiverTable.pdf
https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx
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2.   Criminal Background Check: You need to submit fingerprints and a processing fee to the Nebraska State Patrol.  
 See attached instructions. 
 
 
3.  Transcript:  You must have your school or electronic transcript service submit directly to our office an official college or 

university transcript.  If sending by e-mail, send to dhhs.licensure2117@nebraska.gov.  We do not accept copies of transcripts sent 
electronically to the applicant.   
 
Doctoral Program:  To apply for a license, an application must submit:  An official transcript, verifying completion of a 
doctoral degree from a program of graduate study in professional psychology accredited by the American Psychological 
Association (APA), directly from the issuing institution, or the Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards’ 
credentialing data bank, or the National Register.  
 
If the program is NOT accredited by the APA, the applicant must submit the following: 

 
(A)  Documentation, including syllabi or course descriptions, verifying that the applicant completed the following 

coursework: 
• Scientific and professional ethics; 
• Research design and methodology; 
• Statistics and psychometics; 
• Biological bases of behavior; 
• Cognitive and affective bases of behavior; 
• Social bases of behavior; 
• Individual behavior; 
• Assessment and evaluation; and 
• Treatment and intervention. 

 
(B)  Documentation that the program complies with the following: 

• It was clearly identified and labeled as a psychology program and its intent was to education and train 
psychologists; 

• Has a permanent and stable standing, including organizational structure, leadership and funding, within the 
academic setting; 

• Has clear authority and primary accountability for the academic program with an identifiable psychology 
faculty and has a psychologist who is responsible for the training program; 

• Was integrated and has an organized sequence of study, including core course work and profession-wide 
competencies;  

• Has an identifiable body of students who are matriculated in the degree program; and 
• Has degree granting authority and was regionally accredited. 

 
(C) Documentation that the program required students to successfully complete the following years of study and 

residency: 
• A minimum of 3 full-time academic years of graduate study, or equivalent, and an internship prior to 

receiving the doctoral degree; 
• Two of the 3 academic years, or equivalent, must be at the program from which the doctoral degree is 

granted; and 
• One year must be a full-time residency, or the equivalent, at the degree granting program.  If the program 

is an on-line program, at least 600 hours must be live face-to-face in person interaction with faculty and 
students. 
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Internship:  Documentation of completion of an internship that was accredited by the APA or if the internship is not 
accredited by the APA, the applicant must submit: 
• Verification that the internship was accredited by the Association of Psychology Postdoctoral and Internship Centers

(APIC); OR
• Verification and documentation of the following:

• The official school, college or university transcript must show completion of practica prior to entering the
internship;

• A letter from the internship director or a copy of the internship brochure that verifies the purpose of the
internship was to train psychologists for the independent provision of direct psychology services;

• The internship was at least 12 months in duration and consisted of at least 1,500 hours in not more than
24 months. School psychology internships may be 10 months in duration;

• The internship was directed by a licensed psychologist;
• The internship was sequentially organized with progressively increased levels of responsibility and skills;
• The internship required 4 hours of supervision per week, 2 of the 4 hours were individual face-to-face.  For

part time internships, the supervision requirements must be proportional to these standards;
• The internship had 2 or more supervising licensed psychologists on-site; and
• The internship included positions for 2 or more psychology interns.

Information Relating to Military Education, Training, or Service: 
If you have completed education, training, or service that you believe is substantially similar to the education or training required for 
this credential while you were a member of the armed forces of the United States, active or reserve, the National Guard of any 
state, the military reserves of any state, or the naval militia of any state, you may submit such evidence with your application for 
review.   

4.   Other Licensing Information:  If you hold or have held a credential to provide health related services in a state other
than Nebraska, submit verification of the license(s) (even if that license is no longer current).
  Disciplinary Action:  If your license was disciplined, you must submit a copy of all disciplinary action documents.

5.   Conviction Information:  If you have EVER received a ticket from law enforcement or animal control, check the court
system to see if the ticket is on your record as a misdemeanor or felony conviction.  Speeding tickets are not misdemeanors or
felonies.  You are required to list ALL convictions (regardless of when they occurred) on the application; you are NOT required to list
infractions, diversions or dismissals.  Misdemeanor and felony convictions can either be processed through traffic or criminal court,
so when you check with the county court/district court, you should ask for both traffic and criminal court misdemeanor/felony
convictions.

If you have convictions, you must submit:
(i) A copy of the court record related to all misdemeanor and felony convictions, that includes the statement of charges and final
disposition, if the conviction(s) occurred in a state other than Nebraska;
(ii) An explanation of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions that the applicant has
taken to address the behaviors or actions related to the conviction; and
(iii) A letter from the applicant’s probation officer addressing the terms and current status of the probation, if the applicant is currently
on probation.

If you had an alcohol and drug evaluation and/or completed treatment, to assist the Board and Department in review of any 
drug and/or alcohol conviction(s), the treatment provider must submit all evaluations/discharge summaries directly to the 
Department.   

The following provides SOME examples of convictions; this is NOT a complete list 

• MIP/ Tobacco Use by Minor
• DUI / DWI / Open Container
• Controlled Substance
• Shoplifting / Theft / Burglary
• Unauthorized use of a Financial Transaction
• Disturbing the Peace
• Assault / Prostitution
• Disorderly Conduct / Disorderly House
• Fail to Appear in Court

• Driving under Suspension / Revocation
• License Vehicle without Liability Insurance
• False Information or Reporting
• Reckless Driving / Leave the Scene of an Accident
• Operator not Carrying License
• Unlawful Display of Plates/Renewal tabs
• Park Rule Violation / Curfew Violation
• Dog at Large / Fail to Vaccinate Animal
• Littering / Fireworks / Bad Check

NOTE: If you have any criminal charges or license disciplinary actions pending that result in a conviction or 
license discipline, you are required to report such action to the Investigative Unit within 30 days of the conviction 
or disciplinary action.  Reporting forms can be obtained at the following website:  
https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Investigations.aspx  or by phone 402-471-0175. 

https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Investigations.aspx
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6.   Fee:  $50 unless you qualified for a fee waiver (see chart on this application).
Pay by check/money order (your cancelled check is your proof of receipt); debit or credit card is not accepted.

NON-ENGLISH DOCUMENTS:  Any documents written in a language other than English must include a complete translation into the 
English language.  The translation must be an original document and contain the notarized signature of the translator.  An individual 
may not translate his or her own documents. 

Additional Information 

Supervisor:  The supervisor must:
1. Hold a current unrestricted Nebraska license as a psychologist;
2. Co-sign all clinical documentation; and
3. Meet with you for at least 1 continuous hour per week on a regularly scheduled basis. These meetings may include face-to-

face consultation or interactive video, but must ensure confidentiality of the conversation.  In the case of geographical or
confirmed physical hardship, the Board may consider variance in the frequency of supervision sessions providing that a
minimum of 4 hours per month of face-to-face supervision is maintained.

Supervision:  The supervisor and applicant must comply with the supervisory requirements set out in 172 NAC 155-002. 
Supervision is a professional relationship in which a licensed psychologist assumes full legal and professional responsibility for the 
work of the supervisee. The purpose of supervision is to provide training to assist the supervisee to achieve full licensure 
Termination of Supervision:  If a supervisor of a provisional licensee terminates supervision, s/he must immediately notify the 
Department in writing of the date of termination. The Department will record said termination date in the record. 
Change of or Additional Supervisor(s):  If a change in or additional supervisor(s) occurs, the provisional licensee must file an 
application with the Department which reflects the change in supervisor reflects. You can find this application at:  
https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/psychology.aspx  

Hours:  Completion of at least 1 year of supervised postdoctoral experience.
• Holds or has held a provisional license in Nebraska; and
• Has completed postdoctoral experience as follows:

o Met the standards of supervision as set out in regulations;
o Included 1,500 or more hours in total duration, including 1,000 or more hours of direct service hours earned in not more

than 48 months; and
o Compatible with the knowledge and skills acquired during formal doctoral or postdoctoral education in accordance with

professional requirements and relevant to the intended area of practice.

Re-issue: The provisional license may be re-issued one time, upon approval by the Board and submission of a new application.

Examination:  Once you have been issued a provisional license, you are eligible to register for the EPPP and State 
Jurisprudence examinations.  To register for these examinations, obtain testing dates and other testing information, please review 
the examination information found at: https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Psychology.aspx  

Application Review:  All applications are reviewed in date order received.

• If your application is missing information, you will be contacted by e-mail within approximately 10 days; the e-mail will list the
information that is required to compete your application.   You have 90 days to complete your application; if not completed within
this 90 days, your application will be closed and all documents destroyed.  A new application will then be required.

• If your application is complete, you will receive a license in the mail.

Records Retention Schedule:  When your license is issued, your application and documents will be kept by the Department for 5 
years; then all documents will be destroyed.  We encourage you to keep a copy of your application for your records. 

Contact Information:  Licensure Unit, 301 Centennial Mall South, P.O. Box 94986, Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986 
FAX:  402-742-1106 / telephone # (402) 471-2117 / E-mail  dhhs.licensure2117@nebraska.gov  

https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/psychology.aspx
https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/psychology.aspx
mailto:dhhs.licensure2117@nebraska.gov


INSTRUCTIONS FOR CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECKS 

Criminal background checks are NOT expedited for any reason 

Fingerprints are required to be eligible for a Provisional Psychology license and 
a Psychology license in Nebraska.   

The Nebraska State Patrol will not process your request for a criminal background check 
until you have paid the required fee to the State Patrol and the Licensure Unit has received 

your application. 

Please read and follow these instructions carefully to avoid delays in processing. 

Even if you have recently obtained a criminal background check for another state or another license, you MUST obtain a new criminal 
background check for the license you are currently applying for in Nebraska. 

Completing the Fingerprint Card: 

1. Fingerprint Cards:  Fingerprint cards are available at any State Patrol office or law enforcement agency in NEBRASKA.  If you 
live in another state, contact your local law enforcement agency.  You may also contact the Licensure Unit at 402-471-2117 and 
cards can be mailed to you.

2. DO NOT FOLD THE FINGERPRINT CARDS.

3. Information to be completed on the Fingerprint Card:

a. Print your full name, address with zip code, *Social Security Number, date and place of birth, and other information as 
requested. DO NOT sign the fingerprint cards until the law enforcement officer has verified your signature with the form 
of identification that you provided. DO NOT write in the field labeled ORI.

*Social Security Number: If you do not have a United States Social Security Number, you must provide in the 
“Miscellaneous No: MNU” section a Government issued identification number, a “consulate” number or a Passport Number. 
Please indicate the type of number provided.

b. In the box labeled “Reason Fingerprinted” PRINT ‘Psychology 38-131’.  Each license applied for requires an individual 
background check so if applying for the provisional license, you will be required to be re-fingerprinted when you apply for the 
full psychology license.

Photo ID:  

Take one form of photo ID with you when getting your fingerprints. Acceptable forms of ID include a driver’s license, visa, passport or 
other document showing that you are legal in the U.S. 

FEE:  $45.25 

There are 2 ways to pay for fingerprint processing: 

1. Credit Card/E-Check:  Pay $45.25 by credit card at www.ne.gov/go/nsp. This is an internet pay site through PayPort.
Credit/debit card OR checking account and routing information will be required. A small transaction fee will be added to your
payment.  For some payments, selection of eCheck will give you a discount on your transaction fee.

The website will ask you to select the type of payment you are making. Under ‘transaction type’ you need to choose ‘EMS’. You will
then need to enter the applicant’s name, date of birth and the last 4 digits of social security number. If a company is paying for an
applicant; the applicant’s information needs to be entered on this page. The second page of the website will ask for information
about the payer, which may or may not be the applicant.

2. Check or Money Order:  Payment of $45.25 must be mailed directly to: Nebraska State Patrol, ATTN: CID, 3800 NW 12th ST,
STE A, Lincoln NE 68521.  In the MEMO section of the check, print the name of the applicant and ‘PSY fingerprinting’ (example:
Jordan Jones – PSY fingerprinting).

The Nebraska State Patrol does not charge an additional fee for the service of taking your fingerprints. However, other law enforcement 
agencies in Nebraska or in other states may charge a fee.  



Fingerprinting Process:  

There are 2 ways to capture your fingerprints: 

• Live Scan:  Live Scan is available at all Nebraska State Patrol locations listed below and the fingerprints are captured
electronically.  The Nebraska State Patrol does not accept Live Scan prints from other states at this time.  If you are out of
state and have Live Scan prints, you will need to request that your fingerprints be printed out onto cards.

• Ink and Paper Finger Prints:  Applicants outside of Nebraska or at an office other than the below listed State Patrol offices
have traditional ink and paper fingerprinting.

Offices of the Nebraska State Patrol and the Days/Hours that Fingerprinting is Conducted 
Troop A 
4411 S 108th ST  
Omaha NE 68137  
Phone: 402-331-3333 

Monday- Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. 
(appointment required) 

Troop B 
1401 Eisenhower AVE 
Norfolk NE 68701  
Phone: 402-370-3456  

Monday – Thursday 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. 
(appointment required) 

Troop C  
3431 Old Potash Highway 
Grand Island NE 68801  
Phone: 308-385-6000  

Tuesdays 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. 
Wednesdays 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. 
Thursdays 9:00 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. 
(appointment required) 

Troop D   
300 West South River Rd 
North Platte NE 69103  
Phone: 308-535-6604 

Monday - Thursday 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. 
(appointment required) 

Troop E 
4500 Avenue I 
Scottsbluff NE 69361 
Phone: 308-632-1211  

Monday – Thursday 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. 
(appointment required) 

Troop H 
4600 Innovation Drive 
Lincoln NE 68521  
Phone: 402-479-4971 

Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. 
(appointment required)  

Where do you send the fingerprint cards?  

You must send all fingerprint cards to the following address: Criminal Identification Division (CID) 
4600 Innovation Drive   
Lincoln NE 68521 



 
 
Criminal Background Check Notification: Pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-131 (provided below), an applicant for an initial license 
where a criminal background check is required by an interstate licensure compact shall be subject to a criminal background check. 
Applicants are able to receive any national criminal history record that may pertain to them directly from the FBI, pursuant to 28 CFR 
Sections 16.30-16.34, and may then freely disclose any such information to whomever they choose. Applicants must authorize the 
dissemination of any national criminal history record that may pertain to them to the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) 
when applying for licensure. Applicants are entitled to challenge the accuracy and completeness of any information contained in any 
such report and will be provided a copy of the criminal history background report, if any, received if they appear at the DHHS in person 
and present proper identification. Information on how to challenge an applicant’s federal report can be found at FBI.gov. To challenge 
an applicant’s Nebraska state record, contact the Nebraska State Patrol-Criminal Identification Division. Applicants may obtain a prompt 
determination as to the validity of their challenge before the DHHS makes a final decision about their application for licensure.  
 
Neb. Rev. Stat. §38-131: Criminal background check; when required. (1) An applicant for an initial license to practice as a registered 
nurse, a licensed practical nurse, a physical therapist, a physical therapy assistant, a psychologist, an advanced emergency medical 
technician, an emergency medical technician, or a paramedic or to practice a profession which is authorized to prescribe controlled 
substances shall be subject to a criminal background check. A criminal background check may also be required for initial licensure or 
reinstatement of a license governed by the Uniform Credentialing Act if a criminal background check is required by an interstate 
licensure compact. Except as provided in subsection (3) of this section, the applicant shall submit with the application a full set of 
fingerprints which shall be forwarded to the Nebraska State Patrol to be submitted to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for a national 
criminal history record information check. The applicant shall authorize release of the results of the national criminal history record 
information check to the department. The applicant shall pay the actual cost of the fingerprinting and criminal background check. 
(2) This section shall not apply to a dentist who is an applicant for a dental locum tenens under section 38-1122, to a physician or 
osteopathic physician who is an applicant for a physician locum tenens under section 38-2036, or to a veterinarian who is an applicant 
for a veterinarian locum tenens under section 38-3335. 
(3) An applicant for a temporary educational permit as defined in section 38-2019 shall have ninety days from the issuance of the permit 
to comply with subsection (1) of this section and shall have his or her permit suspended after such ninety-day period if the criminal 
background check is not complete or revoked if the criminal background check reveals that the applicant was not qualified for the 
permit.  Effective Date: July 19, 2018  

 
 

PRIVACY ACT STATEMENT 
 
Authority:  The FBI’s acquisition, preservation, and exchange of fingerprints and associated information is generally authorized under 
28 U.S.C. 534.  Depending on the nature of your application, supplemental authorities include Federal statutes, State statutes pursuant 
to Pub. L. 92-544, Presidential Executive Orders, and federal regulations.  Providing your fingerprints and associated information is 
voluntary; however, failure to do so may affect completion or approval of your application.   
 
Principal Purpose:  Certain determinations, such as employment, licensing, and security clearances, may be predicated on fingerprint-
based background checks.  Your fingerprints and associated information/biometrics may be provided to the employing, investigating, or 
otherwise responsible agency, and/or the FBI for the purpose of comparing your fingerprints to other fingerprints in the FBI’s Next 
Generation Identification (NGI) system or its successor systems (including civil, criminal, and latent fingerprint repositories) or other 
available records of the employing, investigating, or otherwise responsible agency.  The FBI may retain your fingerprints and associated 
information/biometrics in NGI after the completion of this application and, while retained, your fingerprints may continue to be compared 
against other fingerprints submitted to or retained by NGI.   
 
Routine Uses:  During the processing of this application and for as long thereafter as your fingerprints and associated 
information/biometrics are retained in NGI, your information may be disclosed pursuant to your consent, and may be disclosed without 
your consent as permitted by the Privacy Act of 1974 and all applicable Routine Uses as may be published at any time in the Federal 
Register, including the Routine Uses for the NGI system and the FBI’s Blanket Routine Uses.  Routine uses include, but are not limited 
to, disclosures to:  employing, governmental or authorized non-governmental agencies responsible for employment, contracting, 
licensing, security clearances, and other suitability determinations; local, state, tribal, or federal law enforcement agencies; criminal 
justice agencies; and agencies responsible for national security or public safety.  
  
 

Applicant Notification and Record Challenge 
 
Your fingerprints will be used to check the criminal history records of the FBI.  You have the opportunity to complete or challenge the 
accuracy of the information contained in the FBI identification record.  The procedure for obtaining a change, correction, or updating an 
FBI identification record are set forth in Title 28, CFR, 16.34.  You can find additional information on the FBI website at 
https://www.fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/background-checks.   

https://www.fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/background-checks
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Licensure Unit 
P.O. Box 94986, Lincoln, Nebraska  68509-4986 
Dhhs.licensure2117@nebraska.gov  
402-471-2117 
  
Mail this application to the address listed above.                                               You must complete all sections of this application 
 
 
FEE:  $50 

  

A.  Fee Waiver:  If you meet one of the following fee waivers, your initial license fee is waived.   
Check only one waiver: 

□  Young Worker:   I am under 26 years old. 

□  Low-income Individual:   

□ I am enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, including, but not limited to, the  
medical assistance program established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance 
Program, or the federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families program, OR  

□ My household adjusted gross income is below 130% of the federal income poverty guideline.   

□  Military Family:  I am an active duty service member in the armed services of the United States, a military spouse, honorably  
discharged veteran of the armed services of the United States, spouse of such honorably discharged veteran, and un-remarried 
surviving spouses of deceased service members of the armed services of the United States.  

 
 

B.  Fee Required if YOU DO NOT qualify for one of the above fee waivers you must pay the $50 

 
Pay by check or money order to:  Licensure Unit 
Your cancelled check is your proof of payment.  Payment is processed upon receipt.  Debit or credit card is not accepted. 

 
NOTE:   
Provisional licenses expire 2 years from the date of issuance or upon receipt of a license to practice, whichever occurs first.  
 
 

 

SECTION A:  INFORMATION 
1 You must print your Legal Name below 

First: 
 
 

Middle: Last Name: 

List any other names, you are or have ever been known as (AKA), 
including maiden name and your last name on your birth certificate 

 

2 Address: 
 

Street/PO/Route: 
 
 
City: 
 
 

State or Country: Zip: 
 

3 Social Security Number (SSN):  
 

Neb. Rev. Stat. §§38-123 and 38-130 requires you to provide your social security number to DHHS.  Although your number is not 
public information, DHHS may share your social security number for child support enforcement or other administrative purposes and 
provide it to the Department of Revenue or the Department of Labor. 
 

4 If you ARE NOT a U.S. Citizen, list your 
Alien Registration # or I-94 #: □  A#:    □   I-94 #  

5 Date of Birth (Month/Day/Year): 
 
 

Place of Birth (City/State or COUNTRY): 

 

APPLICATION  
PROVISIONAL PSYCHOLOGY LICENSE  
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6 Phone #: (optional)* Additional Phone #: (optional)* 

E-Mail Address:

7 Have you ever been denied the right to 
take a license examination in any State? Yes  □   No   □    If yes, explain:

SECTION B:  SUPERVISOR'S PERSONAL INFORMATION
SUPERVISOR MUST BE LOCATED IN NEBRASKA 
If the primary supervisor is a psychologist, s/he can only supervise up to a combined total of 4 provisional licensed mental health 
practitioners and/or provisional licensed psychologists. 

1 Supervisor's Name: First: Middle: Last: 

License #: Business Telephone #: 
OPTIONAL 

2 Supervisor's Name: First: Middle: Last: 

License #: Business Telephone #: 
OPTIONAL 

NOTE:  YOUR TRANSCRIPT MUST be sent to the Department directly from the issuing institution. 

SECTION C:  DEGREE RECEIVED     You must have received (conferred) a doctoral degree from a program of graduate
study in professional psychology from an institution of higher education.  The degree must be obtained from a program of graduate 
study in psychology that meets the standards of accreditation adopted by the American Psychological Association (APA).  Any 
applicant from a doctoral program in psychology that does not meet such standards shall present a certificate of retraining from a 
program of respecialization that does meet such standards. 

1 Last Name on 
Transcript: 

2 Institution 
Name: 

3 Institution 
Address: 

Street/PO/Route: 

City: State: Zip: 

4 Graduation 
Information: 

Date (month/day/year): Degree: Major: 

Is the program of graduate study in psychology accredited by the American 
Psychological Association (APA)?  Yes     No   

If the program is not APA accredited, name the 
accrediting body: 

Name: 

If the program is NOT accredited by APA, you must submit documentation of meeting the requirements set out in the 
license information section 

Information Relating to Military Education, Training, or Service:  If you have completed education, training, or service that 
you believe is substantially similar to the education or training required for this credential while you were a member of the military, you 
may submit such evidence with your application for review. Military is defined as the armed forces of the United States, active or 
reserve, the National Guard of any state, the military reserves of any state, or the naval militia of any state. 
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SECTION D:  INTERNSHIP EXPERIENCE 
If your internship was NOT APA accredited, you must also submit ATTACHMENT 1 to verify this information.  
An applicant is required to have completed a 1-year internship meeting the standards of accreditation adopted by the American 
Psychological Association 
1 Name of Facility where 

Internship completed: 
Name of the internship 
program: 

2 Address: Street/PO/Route: 

City: State: Zip: 

3 Internship Dates: From (m/d/y): To (m/d/y): 

4 Supervisor Name: First: Middle/MI: Last: 

5 Supervisor Credentials: State/Jurisdiction Licensed: Type of License: License Number: 

6 Was the internship APA approved?   Yes       No 

If the internship is NOT accredited by APA, you must submit evidence that the internship meets the standards of 
accreditation adopted by APA as outlined in the instructions and complete and submit Attachment 1 

7 Below, provide a brief statement of the services you provided during your internship: 

SECTION E:  LICENSE AND CONVICTION INFORMATION 
Failure to list any conviction(s) or disciplinary action(s), regardless of when the action occurred, could result in disciplinary action. 

LICENSE INFORMATION:  The following questions relate to a license that you currently hold or have held to provide health
related services (such as nursing, EMT, counselor, etc.) in a state other than Nebraska. 

2 Do you hold or have you held a license in any 
other state(s)? 

If yes, what state(s)? What type of license? 

Yes □     No  □

If YES, has your license ever been denied, 
refused renewal, limited, suspended, revoked 
or had other disciplinary measures taken 
against it? 

Type of Action Date of Action Name of State Taking Action 

Yes  □    No   □
If you have disciplinary charges pending or if your credential has been revoked, suspended, limited, is on probation or disciplined in 
any way, please contact the state(s) taking the action and request a copy of the disciplinary action be sent to the Nebraska Licensure 
Unit. 
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CONVICTION INFORMATION:  You must list ALL misdemeanor or felony convictions (regardless of when they occurred or
whether you previously listed them on a prior application); you are NOT required to list infractions, diversions or 
dismissals.  Misdemeanor and felony convictions can either be processed through traffic or criminal court, so when you check with the 
county court/district court, you should ask for both traffic and criminal court misdemeanor and felony convictions.  

1 Have you EVER been 
convicted of a 
misdemeanor or felony? 

Name of Conviction  Date of Action Name of Court Taking 
Action 

Yes □     No  □

The following provides SOME examples of convictions; this is NOT a complete list 

• MIP/ Tobacco Use by Minor
• DUI / DWI
• Controlled Substance
• Open Container
• Shoplifting / Theft / Burglary
• Unauthorized use of a Financial Transaction
• Disturbing the Peace
• Assault / Prostitution
• Disorderly Conduct / Disorderly House
• Reckless Driving

• Driving under Suspension / Revocation
• License Vehicle without Liability Insurance
• Fail to Appear in Court
• False Information or Reporting
• Leave the Scene of an Accident
• Operator not Carrying License
• Unlawful Display of Plates/Renewal tabs
• Park Rule Violation / Curfew Violation
• Dog at Large / Fail to Vaccinate Animal
• Littering / Fireworks / Bad Check

NOTE:  If you have any criminal charges or credential disciplinary actions pending that result in a conviction or credential discipline, 
you are required to report such action to the Investigative Unit within 30 days of the conviction or disciplinary action.  
Reporting forms can be obtained at:  https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Investigations.aspx  or by phone 402-471-0175. 

SECTION F:  PRACTICE PRIOR TO LICENSE 
If you practice in Nebraska without a Nebraska license, you are subject to assessment of an Administrative Penalty of $10 per day up 
to $1,000, or other action as provided in the statutes and regulations. 

□ No.
I have NOT practiced psychology in Nebraska without out a Nebraska license before submitting this application?  

□ Yes.
I have practiced psychology in Nebraska without a Nebraska license before submitting this application?  

If yes, what are the actual number of days you practiced in 
Nebraska without a license and what is the business name, 
location and telephone number of the practice:   

Number of days: 

Name of Business: 

City: 

Telephone #: 

https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Investigations/aspx
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SECTION G:  ATTESTATION  
 
For the purpose of meeting Neb. Rev. Stat. §§4-108 through 4-114 and 38-129 (check ONE of the boxes below):   
 
I attest that: 

□ I am a citizen of the United States.  

□ I am NOT a citizen of the United States. I am a qualified alien under the federal Immigration and Nationality Act, or a non-
immigrant lawfully present in the United States, with documentation such as a permanent resident card, I-94 document, asylum, etc.  
□ I am NOT a citizen of the United States. I have an unexpired Employment Authorization Document (EAD) and documentation 
listed under the Federal REAL ID act, such as DACA, pending asylum, pending refugee, etc.  
□  I am NOT a citizen of the United States, a nonimmigrant, nor a qualified alien under the Federal   
Immigration and Nationality Act. 

 
 

I further attest that:        

1. I have read the application or have had the application read to me; and  
2. I am of good character and all statements on this application are true and complete. 
 
 
Print Name:  _____________________________________ 
 
Signature:     _____________________________________           Date:  _____________________ 
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Licensure Unit 
301 Centennial Mall South - P.O. Box 94986 
Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986 
402-471-2117  dhhs.licensure2117@nebraska.gov 

 
THE FOLLOWING MUST BE COMPLETED AND SIGNED BY THE SUPERVISOR(s)   
SECTION H:  PLAN OF SUPERVISION:   
 

Supervision is a professional relationship in which a licensed psychologist assumes full legal and professional responsibility for the 
work of the supervisee. The purpose of supervision is to provide training to assist the supervisee to achieve full licensure.   
 
Supervision is a professional relationship in which a licensed psychologist has oversight responsibility for the psychological work of 
an individual not licensed as a psychologist. 
       
The supervisory relationship shall be agreed to in writing prior to its commencing and shall provide for a level of contact  
appropriate to the supervisee's experience and training.  All clients shall be advised of this supervisory relationship. 
 
1 Frequency of 

Supervision: 
 
 

2 Type of Supervision:  
 

3 Duration of Supervisory 
Contact: 

 

4 Description of how supervision will take place: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

5 Who will provide supervisory backup when you are out of town or unavailable for weekly appointments? 
Name:  

 
License #:  

Address: Street/PO/Route 
 
City: State: Zip: 

 
 
Attestation: 
 
 
I,        am the supervisor referred to in this application and that the statements  
  (Name of Supervisor) 
 
regarding the plan of supervision are true and complete. 
 

 
         
(Signature of Supervisor) 
 
______________________________ date 
 

mailto:dhhs.licensure2117@nebraska.gov
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Licensure Unit 
301 Centennial Mall South - P.O. Box 94986 
Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986 
402-471-2117   
dhhs.licensure2117@nebraska.gov  
 

 

 
This form must be completed by the Internship Director and submitted to the Department  

directly from the Internship Director. 
 

 
I,          verify that       has completed a 

(Director’s Name)      (Applicant’s Name) 
 

 
□   full-time  

 
□   part-time 

 
internship under my direction for                           hours of supervision per week, during the 
following time period:  

 
Date Began(month/day/year): 

 
Date Ended (month/day/year): 

The internship must be at least a full calendar year in duration (365 days)  
(i.e.:  start date is 8/25/2014 and end date is 8/24-25/2015) 
 
and earned                                total hours of experience. 
 
Name of Internship Program:  

 
Name of On-site Supervisor:  

 
Name of Facility where 
Internship was completed: 

 

Address: Street/PO: 
 
City: 
 

State: 
 

Zip: 
 

 
1 Did the applicant participate in at least 4 hours of supervision per week?  If no, please provide an 

explanation: 
 
 

�   Yes �   No 

2 Were at least 2 of the 4 hours provided as individual face-to-face supervision?  If no, please provide an 
explanation: 
 
 

�   Yes �   No 

3 Was this supervision provided by at least 2 or more licensed psychologists?  If no, please provide an 
explanation: 
 
 

�   Yes �   No 

4 Nature of services provided by applicant: 
 
 
 

5 Describe the interaction which occurred between interns and applicant: 
 
 
 

 

VERIFICATION OF INTERNSHIP IN 
PSYCHOLOGY 

 

Complete this form only if your Internship was 
NOT APA Accredited  

 

mailto:dhhs.licensure2117@nebraska.gov
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6 Describe the range of supervised experience by the applicant in: 
Assessment: 
 
 
 
Intervention: 
 
 
 
Research into the applications of psychology: 
 
 
 
 

7 Staff names, degrees, state of licensure/certification and license/certification number: 
Name Degree State of Licensure License Number 

 
 

   

 
 

   

 
 

   

 
 

   

 
 

   

 
 

   

 
 

   

8 Describe the patient population of the facility: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
Other Comments 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
         
Signature of Director 

 
           
License Number    (OPTIONAL) Telephone Number 
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