
 

 

 

 

 

Chiropractic License Instructions 
 

Please read these instructions carefully prior to completing your application for licensure. Failure to do so could result in delay of your 
application.  If you have questions contact our office by e-mail: DHHS.RehabOffice@nebraska.gov or phone: 402-471-2299. 

 

 Submit a Complete Application with all required documentation.  An incomplete application will be returned to you. 
 

 Licensure Fee. Make check or money order payment to DHHS-Licensure Unit. The fee for initial licensure is $144. If your 

license is issued within 180 days (between February 1st and July 31st of even years) of the expiration date the fee for initial 

licensure is $36. All Chiropractic licenses will expire August 1st of even-numbered years. 

 
LICENSE FEE WAIVER:  Starting January 1, 2020, if you meet one of the following waiver options, your initial license fee is 
waived, 

 

1. Young Worker:  You are between the ages of 18 and 25 (under the age of 26) 
. 
2. Low-Income Individual: You are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program such as the medical assistance 

program established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), 
or the federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program, OR your household adjusted gross income is below 
130% of the federal income poverty guideline. 

• If you live in Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, no further documentation is 
required to be submitted 

• If you live in a state other than Nebraska and are enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, submit a 
copy of a document showing current enrollment. 

• If your household adjusted gross income is at 130% of the Federal Income Poverty Guideline or below, click this link 
to see the current income guidelines, https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/documents/LowIncomeFeeWaiverTable.pdf. To 
be eligible for this waiver, you must submit a copy of your most recent tax return. 

 

3. Military Family: You are an active duty service member in the armed services of the United States, a military spouse, honorably 
discharged veteran of the armed services of the United States, spouse of such honorably discharged veteran, and un-remarried 
surviving spouses of deceased service members of the armed services of the United States. To be eligible for this waiver, you 
must submit a copy of your ID card, discharge paperwork, or similar document that shows you are a military family member as 
described above 

. 
MILITARY:  To view licensing services available to members of the military and their spouses, visit our website at 
https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx 

 

 Proof that you are at least 19 years old. Include with your application a copy of your driver’s license, state identification card, 

birth certificate, or other acceptable government-issued identification. 

 

 Proof of US Citizenship or lawful presence in the United States. 

• U.S. Citizens- a PHOTOCOPY of one of the following: 

▪ Birth Certificate (Hospital issued keepsake birth certificates cannot be accepted; 

▪ U.S. Passport (unexpired or expired); 

▪ Certificate of Naturalization; or 

▪ Other documents that show U.S. Citizenship. 

• NOT a U.S. Citizen, a PHOTOCOPY of one of the following: 

▪ Green Card, otherwise known as a Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551), both front and back of the card; 

▪ Form I-94 (Arrival-Departure Record) AND an unexpired foreign passport with a valid unexpired US visa; or 

▪ Employment Authorization Card AND 

 An approved deferred action status (DACA); 

 A pending application for asylum in the United States; 

 A pending or approved application for temporary protected status in the United States; or 

 A pending application for adjustment of status to that of an alien lawfully admitted for permanent 

Residence in the United States or conditional permanent resident status in the United States. 

mailto:DHHS.RehabOffice@nebraska.gov
https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/documents/lowincomefeewaivertable.pdf
https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/pages/professions-and-occupations.aspx


 NOTE: Documents (other than those for U.S. Citizenship) are verified by our office through the Department of Homeland 

Security.  This process may take 4 – 6 weeks. 

 

License Requirements: 
 

 Examination: Official documentation of scores on the NBCE examination. 
 

 Transcript: Submit an official college/university transcript sent directly from the education institution to the Department. 

• Information Relating to Military Education, Training, or Service: 
If you have completed education, training, or service that you believe is substantially similar to the education required 
for this credential while you were a member of the armed forces of the United States, active or reserve, the National 
Guard of any state, the military reserves of any state, or the naval militia of any state, you may submit such evidence 
with your application for review. 

 
 License in another jurisdiction (state): If you hold or have held a license to practice Chiropractic or any other health related 

profession in another jurisdiction(s), you must have the licensing agency for all jurisdictions complete the Certification of 
Chiropractic License (Attachment A2) and return directly to our office. 

 
 Conviction Information: If you have EVER received a ticket from law enforcement or animal control, check the court system 

to see if the ticket is on your record as a misdemeanor or felony conviction. Speeding tickets are not misdemeanors or 

felonies.  You are required to list ALL convictions (regardless of when they occurred) on the application; you are NOT required 

to list infractions, diversions or dismissals. Misdemeanor and felony convictions can either be processed through traffic or 

criminal court, so when you check with the county court/district court, you should ask for both traffic and criminal court 

misdemeanor/felony convictions. 

 

If you have convictions, you must submit: 

(i) A copy of the court record related to all misdemeanor and felony convictions, that includes the statement of charges and 
final disposition, if the conviction(s) occurred in a state other than Nebraska; 
(ii) An explanation of the events leading to the conviction (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions that the 
applicant has taken to address the behaviors or actions related to the conviction; and 
(iii) A letter from the applicant’s probation officer addressing the terms and current status of the probation, if the applicant is 
currently on probation. 

 

If you had an alcohol and drug evaluation and/or completed treatment, to assist the Board and Department in review of 

any drug and/or alcohol conviction(s), we encourage you to request that the treatment provider submit all evaluations and 
discharge summaries directly to the Department. 

 

The following provides SOME examples of convictions; this is NOT a complete list 

• MIP/ Tobacco Use by Minor 

• DUI / DWI / Open Container 

• Controlled Substance 

• Shoplifting / Theft / Burglary 

• Unauthorized use of a Financial Transaction 

• Disturbing the Peace 

• Assault / Prostitution 

• Disorderly Conduct / Disorderly House 

• Fail to Appear in Court 

• Driving under Suspension / Revocation 

• License Vehicle without Liability Insurance 

• False Information or Reporting 

• Reckless Driving / Leave the Scene of an Accident 

• Operator not Carrying License 

• Unlawful Display of Plates/Renewal tabs 

• Park Rule Violation / Curfew Violation 

• Dog at Large / Fail to Vaccinate Animal 

• Littering / Fireworks / Bad Check 
 

NOTE: If you have any criminal charges or license disciplinary actions pending that result in a conviction or license 
discipline, you are required to report such action to the Investigative Unit within 30 days of the conviction or disciplinary action. 
Reporting forms can be obtained at the following website: https://dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Investigations.aspx or by phone 402-471- 
0175. 

https://dhhs.ne.gov/pages/investigations.aspx


 

 
 

Mail application and supporting documents to: 

DHHS Licensure Unit 
Attention: Chiropractic 
PO Box 94986 
Lincoln, NE  68509-4989 
Contact Information:  Licensure Unit, Phone: 402-471-2299 / FAX:  402-742-1152 / E-Mail: DHHS.RehabOffice@nebraska.gov 

Application Review: All applications are reviewed in date order received. 

• If your application is missing information, you will be contacted by e-mail within approximately 10 days; the e-mail will list 
the information that is required to compete your application.  You have 90 days to complete your application; if not 
completed within this 90 days, your application will be closed and all documents destroyed. A new application will then be 
required. 

• If your application is complete, you will receive by e-mail that your license has been issued. 
 

Records Retention Schedule: When your license is issued, your application and documents will be kept by the Department for 5 
years; then all documents will be destroyed. We encourage you to keep a copy of your application for your records. 

mailto:DHHS.RehabOffice@nebraska.gov


□ 
□ 

□ 

□ 

□ 

Department of Health and Human Services 
Division of Public Health - Licensure Unit 
P.O. Box 94986 - Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4986 
Telephone #:  402-471-2299 

(Please print or type application) 

Check here if you are the spouse of an active duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces stationed in Nebraska 

A. Fee Waiver:
If you meet one of the following fee waivers, your initial license fee is waived. Check only one box:

Young Worker:  I am under 26 years old. 

Low-income Individual: 

I am enrolled in a state or federal public assistance program, including, but not limited to, the medical 

assistance program established pursuant to the Medical Assistance Act, the federal Supplemental Nutrition 

Assistance Program, or the federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families program; OR 

My household adjusted gross income is below 130% of the federal income poverty guideline. 

Military Family: I am an active duty service member in the armed services of the United States, a military spouse, 

honorably discharged veteran of the armed services of the United States, spouse of such honorably discharged 

veteran, and un-remarried surviving spouses of deceased service members of the armed services of the United 

States. 

B. Fee Required if YOU DO NOT qualify for one of the above fee waivers:

Review the following chart to determine the fee required based on the month and year in which your license will be 
issued: 

YEAR Jan Feb Mar Apr May June July Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec 

Even Number Year $144 $36 $36 $36 $36 $36 $36 $144 $144 $144 $144 $144 

Odd Numbered Year $144 $144 $144 $144 $144 $144 $144 $144 $144 $144 $144 $144 

Chiropractic licenses expire August 1st of even-numbered years. Pay by check or money order to: Licensure Unit. Your 

cancelled check is your proof of payment. Payment is processed upon receipt. Debit or credit card is not accepted. 

SECTION A - Personal Information: (All applicants for registration must complete this section.) This section is public 
information and will be displayed on the INTERNET https://www.nebraska.gov/LISSearch/search.cgi 

NOTE: All mailings from this office will be sent to the address you indicate below – If you change your address, 
you must advise this office. 
1 Legal 

Name: 
First: Middle/MI: Last: 

Maiden 
Name 

Name: Other names you are known as (AKA) 

2 Present 
Address 

Street/Box/Route: 

City: State: Zip: 

Additional information requested: (This information is not displayed on the internet) Submit evidence of age, i.e.; 
driver’s license, U.S. birth certificate, marriage license, school transcript, U.S. State ID card, Military ID, or similar 
documentation. A birth certificate or U.S. passport will satisfy the requirement for proof of age and proof of U.S. 
citizenship. 
3 Date of 

Birth: 

Month/Day/Year Place of Birth: City and State or Country 

4 Check the 

Appropriate 

Box(s): 

□ Social Security Number (SSN);

□ Alien Registration Number (“A#”);

SSN# 

A# 

LICENSE FEES: 

Revised:    10/25/2022 

APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE AS A CHIROPRACTOR 

https://www.dhhs.ne.gov/lookup


□ □ 

If you have both a SSN and an A#, you must report both. Neb. Rev. Stat. § 38-123 mandates disclosure of your 
social security number to DHHS. Although your number is not public information, DHHS may disclose it for 
child support enforcement purposes and to the Nebraska Department of Revenue. 

5 Phone #: Fax #: E-Mail:

*phone number and e-mail is optional, but providing this information will speed up communication with you

Have you ever been denied the right to take a license examination in any State? 

Yes No If yes, explain:

The applicant must answer the following questions. If the answer is yes, the applicant must submit an 
explanation for each affirmative answer. Yes No 

Have you ever had any application for any professional license refused or denied by any licensing authority? 

Have you ever been disciplined by an employer that resulted in your inability to work? 

To your knowledge have any unresolved or pending complaints ever been filed against you with any 
chiropractic licensing agency, professional association, licensed hospital or clinic? 

Have you ever been named as a defendant to a civil suit related to the practice of chiropractic that resulted 
in a settlement or judgment? 

Has your license in any health care profession in another state been revoked, suspended, limited or 
disciplined in any manner? 

Have you ever been denied a license or the right to take an examination? 

Have you ever been licensed as a chiropractor in another state? 

SECTION C – Examination 

Have you passed the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners (NBCE) Part IV examination? 
Date test was taken Yes No 

Have you passed the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners (NBCE) SPEC examination? 
Does not apply to new graduates. May be applicable to Sections F, G and H only – please 
carefully read the sections below to determine if you are required to take the SPEC 
examination. 
Date test was taken: 

Yes No 

If no, date test will be taken: 

SECTION D – Education: (All applicants must complete this section and provide an official transcript from an approved 
college of chiropractic.) 

APPROVED 
CHIROPRACTIC 
COLLEGE 

Name: 

Location: 

Date of 
Graduation: 

Military: Did you complete education, training, or service that you believe is 
substantially similar to the education required for this credential while you were a 
member of the armed forces of the United States, active or reserve, the National 
Guard of any state, the military reserves of any state, or the naval militia of any 
state? If yes, include evidence with this Application. 

Yes No 



SECTION E: Passed Licensure Examination no more than three years prior to application: An applicant who applies 
for licensure no more than three years after passing the examination must have met the requirements for licensure by 
passing Parts I, II, III, IV, and physiotherapy of the examination given by the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners 
(NBCE) with a scaled score of at least 375 in each part. 

SECTION F:   Passed Licensure Examination   more than three years prior to application date – Not Currently 
Practicing: 

An applicant who applies more than three years after passing the examination and is not practicing in another jurisdiction 
at the time of application must have met the requirements for licensure by passing Parts I, II, III, IV, and physiotherapy  
of the examination given by the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners (NBCE)with a scaled score of at least 375 in 
each part and must successfully pass the Special Purposes Examination for Chiropractic (SPEC) with a scaled score of 
at least 375 within three years of applying for licensure. 

SECTION G: Licensed in Another Jurisdiction – Not Currently Practicing: An applicant who is applying for licensure 
based on a license in another jurisdiction and is not practicing at the time of application for licensure must have met the 
requirements for licensure by passing Parts I, II, III, IV, and physiotherapy of the examination given by the National Board 
of Chiropractic Examiners (NBCE) with a scaled score of at least 375 in each part and must have completed 36 hours of 
documented continuing education pursuant to 172 NAC 29-006.01, within the 24 months prior to making application; OR 

• Passed Parts I, II and physiotherapy of the examination given by the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners
with a scaled score of at least 375 in each part; and

• Passed the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners' Special Purposes Examination for Chiropractic (SPEC)
with a scaled score of at least 375 within the two years immediately preceding the application; AND

• Completed 36 hours of continuing education pursuant to 172 NAC 29-006.01, within 24 months prior to making
application. (See Attachment A3)

Documentation of continuing education must include: 
a. Signed certificate; and
b. Course brochure or course outline; and/or
c. Other requested documentation pursuant to 172 NAC 29-006.02B

If the applicant presented the continuing education program, documentation must include: 
a. Course outline; and
b. Course brochure; and
c. Statement of instructor’s qualifications to teach the course, unless the qualifications are included

in the brochure.

SECTION H: Licensed in Another Jurisdiction – Currently Practicing: An applicant who is applying for licensure based 
on a license in another jurisdiction and is practicing at the time of application for licensure must have met the requirements 
for licensure by passing Parts I, II, III, IV, and physiotherapy of the examination given by the National Board of Chiropractic 
Examiners (NBCE) with a scaled score of at least 375 in each part; OR 

• Passed Parts I, II and physiotherapy of the examination given by the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners with
a scaled score of at least 375 in each part; and

• Passed the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners' Special Purposes Examination for Chiropractic (SPEC) with
a scaled score of at least 375 within the three years immediately preceding the application.

1 Name of agency issuing license 

Address Street/PO/Route: 

City: State: Zip: 

2 Date Issued: 

3 Name of written examination: 

4 Have you requested to have certification of your Chiropractic license sent to Nebraska? 
(Refer to Attachment A2) Yes No 

Have you been in the active and continuous practice of chiropractic immediately preceding the 
date of application for Nebraska licensure? 

Give location, address, and dates actively engaged in practice of chiropractic. (Continue on reverse side or use an 
additional sheet if space is inadequate.) 



□ □ 

□ □ 

□ □ 

Facility Address Dates 

SECTION I– CONVICTION AND LICENSURE INFORMATION (all applicants must complete this section) Failure to 
disclose any such conviction or disciplinary action, regardless of when the action occurred, could result in disciplinary 
action, including, but not limited to, payment of a civil penalty. 

Answer each of the following questions by placing a check mark in the appropriate box (yes or no) and completing the 
information requested. All ‘yes’ responses MUST be explained in detail and you must submit the requested 
documentation. 

# Question Yes No Type of Crime or Licensure 
Action 

Date of Action Name of Court/Entity 
Taking action 

1 Have you ever been 
convicted in any 
jurisdiction of a 
misdemeanor or 
felony? 

If you answered YES to the question above, you must submit the following documents with your application: 

• Copy of the court record(s), which includes charges and disposition;

• Written explanation of the events leading to the conviction(s) (what, when, where, why) and a summary of actions you
have taken to address the behaviors/actions related to the conviction(s);

• All addiction/mental health evaluations and proof of treatment, if the conviction(s) involved a drug and/or alcohol related
offense and if treatment was obtained and/or required;

• A letter from your probation officer addressing probationary conditions and current status, if you are currently on
probation.

The following questions relate to a credential that you hold or have held in health services, health related services 
or environmental services in Nebraska or another jurisdiction. 

Yes No 

1 

Are you 
credentialed in any 
state? 

If yes, what State(s) are you 
credentialed in? 

What type of credential do you hold? 

2 Has your credential 
ever been denied, 
refused renewal, 
limited, suspended, 
revoked or had 
other disciplinary 
measures taken 
against it? 

Type of Credential Action Date of Action Name of Entity 
taking Action 

If you answered YES to any of the questions above, you must request the following documents be sent directly to this 
office: 

• Certification of your credential in another state

• Official Documents from the State Board in which the disciplinary action was taken



□ □ 

□ 
□

□ 

□

SECTION J – PRACTICE PRIOR TO CREDENTIAL:  An individual who practices prior to issuance of a credential is 
subject to assessment of an Administrative Penalty of $10 per day up to $1,000, or such other action as provided in the 
statutes and regulations governing the credential. 

1 
Have you practiced Chiropractic in Nebraska prior to submitting this 
application?   Yes   No 

2 If yes, what are the actual number of days you practiced in Nebraska 
and what is the business name, location and telephone number of the 
practice? 

# of days: 

Name of business: 

City: 

Telephone #: 

SECTION K - ATTESTATION 

For the purpose of complying with Neb. Rev. Stat. §4-108 through 4-114 and 38-129 (check ONE of the boxes below): 

I attest that: 

I am a citizen of the United States.

I am NOT a citizen of the United States. I am a qualified alien under the Federal Immigration and Nationality 

Act or a non-immigrant lawfully present in the United States, with documentation such as a permanent resident 

card, I-94 document, asylum, etc. 

I am NOT a citizen of the United States. I have an unexpired Employment Authorization Document (EAD) 

and documentation listed under the Federal REAL ID act, such as DACA, pending asylum, pending refugee, 

etc. 

I am NOT a citizen of the United States, a nonimmigrant, nor a qualified alien under the Federal 

Immigration and Nationality Act 

NOTE: You may still be eligible for a certificate if you provide a photocopy of your unexpired Employment 
Authorization Document (EAD) and evidence of meeting section 202(c)(2)(B)(i) through (ix) of the Federal REAL ID 
Act of 2005. 

If you are NOT a citizen of the United States, you must submit proof of lawful presence in the U.S. Your certificate 
will NOT be renewed until such proof is received by our office and verified through the Department of Homeland 
Security (may take 4-6 weeks). 

Signature and Application Attestation: I attest that: 

1. I have read the application or have had the application read to me; and
2. All statements on this application are true and complete.

Print Name: 

Signature: Date: 

MILITARY:  To view licensing services available to members of the military and their spouses, visit our website at 

https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Professions-and-Occupations.aspx 

https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/pages/professions-and-occupations.aspx


FOR USE BY RECIPROCITY APPLICANTS Attachment A2 
 

CERTIFICATION OF CHIROPRACTIC LICENSE 
(Must be completed by initial licensing agency) 

 
Our records certify that was granted License No. to 

(applicant’s name) 
 

practice Chiropractic in the State of on the day of , 20 , 
 

based on written and practical examination. 
 

I further certify that the aforesaid completed the following examinations: 
 

   National Board examinations 
 

   State Board prepared written and/or practical examination 
 

   Scores are recorded below 
 

   Grade records on this individual are no longer available, however, I certify that it is apparent said 
applicant received a score sufficient to meet the licensure requirements of this state at that time. 
The applicant had to obtain a score of or above. 

 

Subject Score Subject Score 

    
    
    
    

 

Has the applicant’s license been: (a) Suspended? Yes □ No □ (b) Revoked? Yes □  No □ 
Or had other disciplinary action: Yes □  No □; if yes to any of the above, please attach explanation. 

 

Date:     
 

Name and Title 
 
 

 

Licensing Agency 
 
 

 

 

(SEAL) 
Address 

 
 

City/State/Zip Code 
 
 

 

Signature (no stamp) 
 
 
 
 
 

Return this completed form to: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services 
Division of Public Health 
Licensure Unit 
PO Box 94986 
Lincoln, NE 68509-4986 



ATTACHMENT A3 

Continuing Competency Requirements for the Following Applicants: 
 

Licensed in Another Jurisdiction and Is Not Currently Practicing: An applicant who is applying for licensure based on 
a license in another jurisdiction and is not practicing at the time of application for licensure must have met the requirements 
for licensure by passing Parts I, II, III, IV, and physiotherapy of the examination given by the National Board of Chiropractic 
Examiners (NBCE) with a scaled score of at least 375 in each part and must have completed 36 hours of documented 
continuing education within the 24 months prior to making application; OR 

 

• Passed Parts I, II and physiotherapy of the examination given by the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners with 
a scaled score of at least 375 in each part; and 

• Passed the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners' Special Purposes Examination for Chiropractic (SPEC) with 
a scaled score of at least 375 within the two years immediately preceding the application; and 

• Completed 36 hours of continuing education pursuant to 172 NAC 29-006.02, within the 24 months prior to 
making application. (Attachment A3) 

 

The 36 hours must include eight mandatory hours which are: 
 

1. Four hours related to technical skills in one or a combination of the following 
categories: 
a. Continuing education designed to enhance the practitioner’s technical and clinical skill related to x-ray 

physics, quality control, x-ray production, and interpretation of diagnostic imaging; and 
b. Continuing education designed to enhance the practitioner’s skill in utilizing chiropractic adjustive 

techniques. 
AND 

2. Four hours related to practice issues in one or a combination of the following 
categories: 
a. Continuing education pertaining to HIV/AIDS, infectious diseases and 

related conditions as they relate to chiropractic; 
b. Continuing education designed to enhance the practitioner’s awareness of gender sensitivity and 

sexual harassment issues. These programs are commonly referred to as boundary training; 
c. Continuing education related to the chiropractic scope of practice in the State of Nebraska. The 

programs must include adopted practice guidelines and practice law specific to Nebraska only; 
d. Continuing education designed to enhance the practitioner’s skill related to 

ordering laboratory tests and interpreting information from laboratory tests; 
e. Continuing education designed to enhance the practitioner’s skill in performing physical, neurological, 

and orthopedic examination procedures as they relate to chiropractic practice; 
f. Continuing education related to prevention of fraud, system set-ups, coding, quality control, and 

standards of practice; 
g. Continuing education pertaining to the provision of rehabilitative care as it relates to chiropractic 

practice; 
h. Continuing education related to practice ethics as recognized by state or national associations; and 
i. Continuing education related to the use of unlicensed personnel. 

 

Documentation of the 36 hours of continuing education must include: 
1. Signed certificate; and 
2. Course brochure or course outline; and/or 

 

If you presented the program, documentation must include: 
1. Course outline; and 

2. Course brochure; and 
3. Statement of instructor’s qualifications to teach the course, unless the qualifications are included in the 

brochure. 
 

The remainder of the hours must be in other acceptable continuing education. The continuing education activity must relate 
to the practice of chiropractic. The Board does not pre-approve continuing education programs. 

 

Licensees may complete a maximum of 6 hours of continuing education by self-study each 24 month renewal period. The 
self-study program must have a testing mechanism scored by the provider of the self study activity. The mandatory 
continuing education hours may not be obtained by completing formal self study activities. 
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