MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DENTISTRY EMERGENCY MEETING

May 28, 2024

ROLL CALL

The meeting of the Board of Dentistry was called to order by Dean Cope, DDS, Chairperson, at 12:02 p.m. on May 28, 2024, in conference room 6A at the State Office Building, located at 301 Centennial Mall S, Lincoln, Nebraska, 68509. The meeting was conducted by WebEx. The following members answered the roll call:

Dean Cope, DDS – Chairperson
Melanie Steckelberg, DDS, Vice-Chairperson
Michael J. O'Hara, JD, PhD – Secretary
Yoshiharu Ameku, DDS
Gene Giles, DDS
Lisa Kucera, RDH
Terrence Lanphier, DDS
Lynlee Medhi
Takanari Miyamoto, DDS

Absent: Hannah Randell, RDH

A quorum was present, and the meeting convened.

Also present to participate in the meeting: Vonda Apking, Program Manager; Heather Ord, Health Licensing Coordinator; James Smith, Assistant Attorney General; and Jeff Newman, Investigator with the Investigation Unit.

Cope announced that there is a copy of all the public documents being reviewed at this meeting available in the meeting room pursuant to the Open Meetings Act.

In accordance with Neb. Rev. Stat. § 84-1411 of the Nebraska Open Meetings Act, copies of the agenda were e-mailed to the Board members and other interested parties, posted on the DHHS web site at https://dhhs.ne.gov/licensure/Pages/Agendas-and-Minutes.aspx and posted on the Bulletin Board at the entrance to the Nebraska State Office Building on May 17, 2024.

ADOPTION OF AGENDA

O'Hara moved, seconded by Kucera, to approve adoption of the agenda with the Chair having the authority to rearrange agenda items as needed. Voting aye: Ameku, Cope, Giles, Kucera, Lanphier, Medhi, Miyamoto, O'Hara, and Steckelberg. Voting nay: None. Absent: Randell. Abstain: None. Motion carried.

CONFIDENTIAL INFORMATION - CLOSED SESSION

O'Hara moved, seconded by Miyamoto, to go into closed session at 12:07 p.m. for the purpose of discussion of confidential information, and for the prevention of needless injury to the reputation of the individuals. Voting aye: Ameku, Cope, Giles, Kucera, Lanphier, Medhi, Miyamoto, O'Hara, and Steckelberg. Voting nay: None. Absent: Randell. Abstain: None. Motion carried.

The Board returned to Open Session at 12:29 p.m.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

No public comments at this time.

MEETING SCHEDULE

The next regular meeting is scheduled for July 12, 2024.

ADJOURNMENT

The Board adjourned the meeting at 12:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by,

(signature on file with the Department)

Michael O'Hara, JD, PhD, Secretary Board of Dentistry